We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Buffet”
Review of Red Oak Restaurant

Red Oak Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet
Dundalk, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Breakfast buffet was average for the money,drinks not included.Not a real big selection but they do have your normal breakfast items,no fried eggs only scrambled.if you go to a sit down restaurant it will probably cost you more to eat and you don't get as much as you would at the buffet.next time i visited wildwood i know were we will be eating our breakfast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    61
    45
    19
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Red Oak All-You-Can-Eat Buffet”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stopped in on a whim for dinner one night. The restaurant is very well located just a block and a half or so behind the boardwalk. The price is slightly more than it should be in my opinion, at $12.99 (plus drinks) per person, but you could certainly eat your money's worth. The restaurant is standard diner in appearance, and the service is pretty much nonexistent. All of this of course should be expected in this kind of restaurant.

The food selections are surprisingly varied. Rolls, a well-stocked salad bar and selection of pasta salads, standard diner fare (chicken fingers, wings, fries, etc.) and some other options (crab cakes, stuffed flounder, and more) and then dessert.

My girlfriend had no complaints about the salad, and enjoyed the pasta salad selections. The fries are fine enough. The wings and especially chicken fingers were surprisingly excellent. They had a great seemingly homemade bread crust and good buffalo sauce available. Macaroni and cheese, on the other hand, was tasteless although it looked great. My girlfriend loved her breaded shrimp but didn't much care for the flounder.

We passed on dessert. They had jello, pudding, and a few types of cake. But with so many great options on the boardwalk I'm not sure why you'd have this dessert.

Overall the food was a mixed bag, with some great options and some not. We were satisfied with the food when we left, which probably says enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So Close to the Boardwalk!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Expecting a generic buffet with so-so service, we were pleasantly surprised with this restaurant. We were there after Labor Day, so there were no lines or waiting. The food and service were great, the place was clean, and there were plenty of food choices. All this only a block from the Boardwalk.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Edible but...”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went there with my family about 5 years ago. They had good food then. Now their food was edible but it didn't have much taste. It wasn't bad but it also wasn't good. Very bland and plain. Service was not too good either. Had to wait a while to get more sodas and they were not packed by any means. Won't be going back again. Not worth the money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samik68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than we thought”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We didn't have high expectations, cone on now, it's a $13 buffet on the boardwalk, Chinese buffets where we live cost more than that for dinner. Yes, there was a line at 8pm on a Saturday night on Labor Day weekend but what would you expect? We waited and took two plates, even though the signs say one at a time, we weren't getting BACK in the long line (which awkwardly winds through tables as people are trying to eat). We skipped most of the salad bar but the fried shrimp, ravioli, sausage and peppers and ribs were good. The flounder was dry as a desert, the meatballs weren't really meat and the "crab cake" was maybe "essence" of crab but far from crab. Jello, tapioca, bread pudding and a few cakes offered for desserts were ok too, some fruit, even out of a can would have been nice but oh well. The waitresses here are some of the hardest working women I've ever seen, great service even though they were super busy. By the time were eating desert, the line was gone but we had enough to bother for round 2. Don't have high expectations and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobnjeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Oak Restaurant also viewed

Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to Red Oak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing