We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great wings, fun atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anglesea Pub

Anglesea Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
HILLSBOROUGH, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great wings, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just returned from a trip to the Anglesea Pub. We went on a Tuesday and it was "wing" night. The Guiness BBQ wings are so delicious....highly recommend. We had a few beers, an order of garlic clams and 2 baskets of wings and our total bill was $22.00. You cannot beat that.
After dinner, sat at the bar and had a drink, very friendly people and lots of locals. You can always tell a good spot by how many locals eat there. This place is a winner....will go back when we vacation next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jerseygirl1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    50
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edison, NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historic Pub, Good Basic Food, Low Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Anglesea Pub is the oldest establishment in the Wildwoods, having been founded in 1885 as a bar for the fishermen who lived in North Wildwood. I ate their with my family last week and was very satisfied. I had seafood chowder to start, and roast turkey with stuffing, mashed potatoes, and corn. They roast turkey at the Anglesea every Sunday. Other members of my family had shepherd's pie and fish and chips.

The soup and the entrees were very good. While not gourmet food, everything we ordered tasted good and was clearly homemade. The bar retains its historic architecture, and the service was good. We did not have to wait a long time to get our food. Seating was a bit tight, and I recommend coming early to dinner. The Anglesea Pub is very inexpensive - the full price including tax and tip was under $15 per person.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Read the reviews and since this is the number 1 rated restaurant in the Wildwoods area, had to check it out. Very disappointed to say the least. Granted, we got there at 9:15, but still not impressed. Prices are on the high side, especially since you DO NOT get french fries with your burger. You get essentially store brand chips. At $8-$10 for a burger, you should get french fries. I ordered their specialty, Irish stew. It was supposed to be served over mashed potatoes like any other stew. I did not get mashed potatoes. When I questioned why no mashed potatoes, the response was "we are out of them". I think I should have been told that when I ordered that they were out of mashed potatoes or I should have been brought a substitute. Don't understand the high scores, just average bar food at best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food,service and fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

From the time it opens until it closes this is a great place. Historic place and a must visit in North Wildwood

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paddyspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely to become an annual tradition.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Definitely will be an annual tradition. On our vacation, night out, no kids, we were in search a good beer, some live music, good conversation - and found all of this at the Anglesea Pub. What great people and atmosphere. Will be our first stop next year!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mkrepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anglesea Pub also viewed

North Wildwood, Cape May County
North Wildwood, Cape May County
 
North Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 
North Wildwood, Cape May County
North Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to Anglesea Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing