We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - Can't Wait to Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Florentine Family Motel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Wow - Can't Wait to Go Back”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I booked a room at the Florentine at the last Minute, the night before. We were only able to stay for one night. WOW - The room was spotless. I couldn't believe how clean it was. This was our first time there and plan to make this our new vacation spot :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentine1901, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Karen, Thanks for recognizing the quality of the Florentine.
Concerning cleanliness and as a side note, we had our state pool inspections a few days ago. The inspector said it was great visiting a place where everything about the pool was excellent. She went through our records and tested the water chemistry and reviewed the water analysis papers that we have done every week by an independent lab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    27
    14
    2
    12
See reviews for
116
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I went down for a week with my son and his friend.The entire staff was very professional and
polite. The rooms spotless. Location " Great " almost everything is in walking distance
. I would recomend the Florentine Family Motel to anyone for a pleasant stay especially families with younger children. The pool was very well maintained and spotless. IT was my first time at a Family Motel, we had a great time I will go back for my next vacation! { almost forgot
the Barbecues were kept spotless}

MJC {sarge}

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentine1901, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Michael C, Thanks for the great comments especially the one about the BBQs. We clean them every day, sometimes twice if it's heavily used. Plus we are very conviently located.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week, Only thing modern in this hotel is the flat screen tv's. Everything thing from the couch to the refirgerator were from the 70's. The rooms were not that clean and one of the chairs broke when I sat on it. The sun roof was nice but was inpossible to sit on because of the French Canadiens. They seem to take over the place, the pool area was ok nothing special. But what really ruined the entire stay was the owners and staff. They have two maintenance men who walk around the pool area all day watching your every move. This place is so strick you werent allowed to drink a beer in a can sitting at a table. The owner will come out and hand you a red solo cup. Yet they allow French Canadiens to sit in the pool and drink. They do not allow food in the pool area. There was a elderly man siiting at one of the tables eating and the owner came out to make him leave the pool area. The elderly man fell in the 1 foot. My son and nephew were kicking the soccer ball to each other, they were not on the motel property and the were still being watched. This place is very strict with guest the charge 20 dollars for guest to swim in the pool and guest who are not paid are not allowed in the pool area. I would not reccommend this place to anyone. It was a terrible experience and would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentine1901, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Armand, Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at the motel. Our oldest refrigerator is 4 years old. The beds in your room are 1 year old, All TVs are 1 or 2 years old, are flat screens and are 27" or 32" . We are constantly replacing and updating our place.
We don't allow glass beer bottles in the pool. it's dangerous & when we saw it we gave him red cups for the beer. Kids & adults are in the pool area with bare feet.
Only registered guests are allowed in the pool which is a standard in the Wildwoods. Otherwise people would have loads more using the pool so that paying guests wouldn't be able to enjoy it.
The elderly man said he was reading the paper as he walked around the pool and not watching when he walked into the baby pool. He said it was his fault. Luckily there wasn't a child in the baby pool.
We have a lot of families with young children, and when we see lots of people/teens in and out of a room we may keep an eye on it so as to protect the young children that are staying here.
We do have some rules, but they are for the safety and enjoyment of the other guests. Also some of the regulations are required by law, such as children under the age of 16 must have a adult within the pool area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I came down for a day trip and decided to make a night of it. When we checked out the Florentine, they had one room left, much to our benefit! The Florentine has to be the cleanest motel we have ever stayed in. Everyone who worked there from late at night to early in the morning were very pleasant , accommodating and helpful. When we left, we both remarked that we had definitely found our new favorite place to stay. I would have given an excellent rating, however the beds were uncomfortable,nothing a fluffy down pillow top wouldn't cure! LOL

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanidear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentine1901, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Jeanidear, Thanks for the review and even though you had a short stay, you noticed the cleanliness of our motel. Motel beds are generally not the same as your bed at home, many like them because we don't purchase the typical "hotel mattress", some would prefer them to be softer many prefer them the way they are. Mattresses become softer when they are old, but we are always replacing them. This year we did 17 beds. Next time you come down, ask for an egg crate to be put on the mattress which will make it a lot softer. So next time you can make it a 5 star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a room that faced the pool. During the day, there was some noise from the pool, but after 8pm it was quiet and quiet the next morning. The staff was very nice, let us park early & leave the car an hour after checkout in their lot. Room was clean and ample. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentine1901, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
R S, thanks for the review. We are a family oriented motel, and sometimes kids make some noise in the pool, but it's after the pool opens in the morning but all quiet at 8:00pm when the ADULTS only swim begins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first time this year and we will definitely be back.

Pros -
Very friendly staff
Clean rooms
Clean property
Pool area very clean and nice

Cons -
Tight parking spaces just like everywhere else in Wildwood
Bed was pretty uncomfortable, not unacceptable though

Room Tip: 114 king bed - good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyT711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentine1901, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Nicky,

Thanks for the review. Very glad you were happy with our motel and will be returning.

As far as the beds, we are constantly replacing them if we notice anything problem with them, and always with good mattesses, not the typical "motel" quality beds. The king in room #114 is a $1,000 bed. It is 7 years old, but considering it's only used 6 months it's like a 3 year old mattress.

For example, we have 15 style #1 rooms. We went through the entire motel this past winter took out any mattress that was questionable. Then we replaced 1 bed in the bedroom of the style #1's with a queen. So now all the style #1 rooms have a queen and a double in their private bedroom.

Sometimes we gat a comment that their bed at home is more comfortable. But they have a sleep number bed, etc., something that a mlotel can't reasonably match.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This summer was our third time staying at the Florentine. We get the rooms they call the "combo." This way my wife and I get our own bedroom and bathroom and our two sons get their own room with two double beds as well as their own bathroom. It's the perfect setup!
I've been going to Wildwood since I was a kid and we've continued the tradition with our own family. I can remember staying in some hotels that had that "musty" odor...like an old suitcase.
The Florentine is as "clean as a whistle" as the expression goes and the bathrooms are spotless. The staff can be seen cleaning up inside and outside all day long.
The location is decent and you don't have to cross any roads to get to the beach.
The swimming pool is crystal clear. I know we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentine1901, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
I thank you for the review. I am a certified pool operator (CPO) that has attended several classes in pool manaagement and constantly keep an eye on the pool chemicals so it stays like drinking water. I have a friend that has a pool busioness down here and he is the CPO for 47 motels. He opens their motel pool and during the season will answer their questions. But, it's not the same as maintaining it yourself and keeping it sanitary for the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 41 in North Wildwood
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf 16 Motel
Surf 16 Motel
#21 of 41 in North Wildwood
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 41 in North Wildwood
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#10 of 41 in North Wildwood
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#35 of 41 in North Wildwood
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbor Light Family Resort
Harbor Light Family Resort
#9 of 41 in North Wildwood
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florentine Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florentine Family Motel

Property: Florentine Family Motel
Address: 19th & Surf Avenues, North Wildwood, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in North Wildwood
#9 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
#11 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florentine Family Motel is owner-operated with a friendly staff. The beach is just a few houses away. Relax in our heated pools under the sun, or peruse the various attractions, thrill rides, and water parks just a couple of blocks away. The elevator makes it easy to get to our 2nd & 3rd floors. We offer daily housekeeping and laundry facilities, along with free Wi-Fi, and a refrigerator and microwave in every room. The kids enjoy our cartoon channels, while the adults can watch one of the HBO channels on our new flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Florentine Family Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florentine Family Hotel North Wildwood
Florentine Family North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing