We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit even Better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sahara Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sahara Motel
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Long Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second Visit even Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My family visited the Sahara Motel for a second time this season to end the summer and had a fabulous stay - the new owners have made even further improvements to the property from our first stay a few months earlier - u can't beat the location of the motel - very hospitable staff and clean/fresh rooms - we can't wait for next summer as we definitely plan to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Owner at Sahara Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank You so much for your fantastic review. It was so nice to see you a second time this season. We look forward to seeing you again next season. Have a great fall and winter and the summer will be here before you know it. We have many upgrades for next season. You will be amazed when you come back. Thanks again, and we are so happy you had an incredible vacation. (Both of them) The Sahara Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    28
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
120
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

For starters, the owners are rude and disrespectful to their guests. We hold a family reunion in September and this year was our 40th Anniversary. Two years ago the motel had great owners "Nicky and Kenny" , but it was recently sold "Adam and Robin". They complained to the adults about immediately leaving the premises after check out. Our family likes to hang around after check out to socialize and eat lunch. They wanted to charge an extra $50 for an infant because it is 4 to a room. Their are other places along the boardwalk that are much better.

Room Tip: Their are much better places along the boardwalk the Sahara.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Midi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Owner at Sahara Motel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
This review is probably one of the most interesting to respond to. Firstly this so called renunion is just a complete mob of people who want to break every rule of the place because they feel they are entitled to. The previous owners allowed them to do anything they wanted including bringing in outside guests that disturb all other guests which can not be tolerated. In ref to the previous owners, I can not speak for them except to say that they are no longer at the Sahara and I can not comment on there business practices. This particlar reviewer came to the property on the wrong date she had a reservation on Saturday and Sunday, as it was a two night min for this weekend. She arrived on Friday and we got her and her family of three children another motel to stay in. In stead of going to the other motel she decided to stay in other rooms Friday night, and cancel her reservation for Sunday night, so she stayed for the entire weekend for the price of one night. When she was approached for Sunday night and or paying for her stay Friday night she agreed to pay a small 50 dollar fee and then left the property without paying. Her ref to paying for an infanct was far from the truth and this family is making that up. She also parked and took up another guests parking spot for the entire 3 days. We clearly stated that she would not have to pay for that child. In her case she paid for nothing and still feels she was entiled to more. Her husband also verbally assaulted the female owner whichy is disgusting and will not be tolerated. He was immediately asked to leave the property. I think that this particular family should find another place for there renunion as they want to stay and not pay, plus have an additional 50 guests swarming the property even to the detriment of all our other guests. We did tell the renunion that they are not welcomed back and that the Sahara Motel has rules and they are in place to secure that all of our guests have an enjoyable time and a fabulous vacation. The Sahara will always insure that is the case, and the Motel is not in business to cater to a single group that feels that they dont have to follow any of the Motels rules which are designed for everyone not just them. We have more then ten complaints about this family throughout there stay from our other guests. Finally, throughout the weekend as always the ownership did everything possible to insure that this group was happy, like giving them extra parking, allowing them to have early checks, keeping extra staff on site to cater to the needs...Nothing and I mean nothing was good enough for them...That being said we are very proud of our establishment, and are very lucky and fortunate for ourgreat loyal customers that made 2013 a great season. It is funny how this person ran home to write this review and make up such lies, when they should look themselves in the mirror and realize that they took advantage of our Motel business and decided to steal our services for 3 days and nights instead of just paying as every other guests should have. Throughout the enitre season we have never seen such gross negligence towards Motel rules and respect for other guests. We can not be more happy that this family will bring all there troubles to another Motel...good luck trying to find someone to take you and your disrespect for the rules....We have discussed this event with many other Motels in the area, as we are close with all of them, and have encouraged them all not to cater to this group....The Sahara Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

First of all I would like to begin by how clean this resort is. All of the workers work so hard. Next I know the owners and they are very kind shout out to Adam and Robyn. Also this motel is placed right next to the board walk and the beach, which is amazing. I stayed for the weekend and will be coming back next summer..thank you again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Soccer12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Owner at Sahara Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank You so much for your fantastic review. I am so happy you had such an incredible time at our resort property. We look forward to seeing you again next season. Thanks again. Sahara Motel.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sahara Motel the first week of August. I must say the new owners were very accommodating. Our room was ready before my check in time. I have stayed at other places in North Wildwood and this motel was very clean. The location to the beach and boardwalk couldn't be better. We literally parked our car and never had to move it until we checked out !! My family and I are all ready looking forward to coming back to The Sahara next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachloverxo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Owner at Sahara Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank You for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation. It is so nice to hear about families like yours having an incredible time. We look forward to seeing you again next season. We are now taking reservations for 2014. See you at the beach soon. Thanks again. The Sahara Motel.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnersville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We just finished ourbweek long stay and I must say coming back to the sahara was a wonderful
decision.The new owners could not be more helpful with any and all our needs.Having not been
To north wildwood the past 4 yrs it was a pleasure to come back.the pool was clean and warm
The flat screen tvs wereva definite improvement.The new owners are planning many new upgrades in the off season so this family can not wait to come back! O by the way the view is amazing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Owner at Sahara Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank You so much for your fantastic review. We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation. We look forward to seeing you back next season. We are taking reservations now for 2014. Contact the Motel direct and we will assist you. Have a great fall and winter and we will see you back at the beach before you know it. Thanks again...Sahara Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I just returned home from staying at the SAHARA OCEANFRONT MOTEL in north wildwood nj. What an amazing time we had. We had my husband and 2 children and my sister and her husband and 2 children. It was great we had adjoining rooms and the view was so nice at every angle. The rooms were also very spacious and very clean. The new owners remembered it was our first time in north wildwood and had a folder of their favorite restaurants and things to do in town. They were right about everything. This motel is truly magical. The staff were so gracious.
Next year we are staying for 2 weeks. Thank you Sahara for being so clean and kind to our family.
See you in 2014 for another great vacation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great as they are facing to beach/boardwalk. Can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Owner at Sahara Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank You for your fantastic review. We are so happy you and your family had such an incredible vacation. It was our pleasure to make sure that everything was perfect for you, and we hope that your first time in North Wildwood is the beginning of a long tradition of future summer vacations for you and your entire family. See you again next season. The Sahara Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenwold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've stayed at the Sahara many, many years since 1976 including the last ten exclusively. While the rooms are indeed outdated the new management staff is a delight and we've been told major renovations are about to take place which will modernize the motel. As always it was clean and whatever I needed (towels, information, etc) was addressed immediately. You can't beat the location as it's literally on the edge of the beach and boardwalk! I would definitely recommend staying here and look forward to my return next July to see all the new renovations the motel will incure!

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Owner at Sahara Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank You for your Fantastic Review. It was a pleasure having you and your family at the Sahara Motel. We look forward to seeing you again next year. It always make us happy to hear about our guests having amazing vacations at our Resort Property. See you again soon. Sahara Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Surf Song Beach Resort
Surf Song Beach Resort
#21 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#39 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#5 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roman Holiday Motel
Roman Holiday Motel
#10 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 41 in North Wildwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Motel

Property: Sahara Motel
Address: 510 E 18th Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Wildwood
#13 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
#18 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sahara Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sahara Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing