We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The WORST But Far from the Best!”
Review of Montego Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Wildwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montego Bay
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not The WORST But Far from the Best!”
Reviewed March 7, 2009

My Family and I have stayed at the Montego Bay a few times. We LOVED the Breafast, and Dinner Package they offered, and the Food was the Best! The Room was a nice size, but very Dirty. The View was GREAT. The " Indoor Waterpark" Is a JOKE! It's not a Waterpark, it's an Extremely COLD Indoor Pool with a Slide. There is a Kiddie Pool, and a " Hot Tub ", that leaves little to be desired! It's like getting into a Bath! The Hot Tub water should be how warm they keep the Pool, and the Hot Tub NEEDS to be Hoter! We are Not Drinkers so we did not take any part in the Tiki Bar. The One Night we went down to the " WaterPark " ( POOL ) It was Closed and I went to the Front Desk, it took over an hour to get it reopened, so we Lost out on the " Open Time " The Staff especially the Front Desk Staff, is VERY RUDE! WATCH OUT FOR THE Added Rates for additional Children!!!!!!!! The Elevators DO SUCK! They are Way to slow especially when you have a bunch of people that are checking out at the same time.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pr0uddad0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    114
    60
    61
    93
See reviews for
233
38
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2009

After reading some of the reviews here we were a little cautious going. Our fears were put to rest as soon as we arrived. At first we had reserved a room with waterpark view but my wife changed her mind and wanted ocean view instead. The desk clerk had no problem with that and even let my wife check both rooms to see which one she liked.
We chose the ocean view and were surprised with an incredible room with beatiful ocean view! The room was very big with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. Everything was very clean.
We all enjoyed the pool and water slide. The Tiki bar, tv's and music were a great touch.

I must add that this was a great place to come in the winter especially for the off season price.

Hope this helps and by the way, we never waited more than a few minutes for the elavator!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atco
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2009

PLEASE do not waste your money. My husband and I travel a lot with our kids for little "getaways" and thought this would be fun. I was so wrong. It was dirty, dirty, dirty. Did I mention it was dirty??? The rooms were very large, but my kid's socks were black on the bottom, the beds were like sheets of plywood, and everything had dirt/dust on it. That goes for the entire hotel, not just the rooms. I assure you that we NEVER complain, but in this case, I just had to!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank seasonmcdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Wildwood hotels

great meadows, nj
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

The best parts of the motel are the rooms & location. We were impressed with the size of the room & balconies. The location can't be beat, especially with an oceanfront room. We were on the 6th floor, and the view was great. The downsides are the elevators (only two small, slow elevators for the entire complex) and the so-called insoor water park. It has one slide, a "splash" pool that was to cold to enjoy, and a hot-tub that not only was not hot enough, but filled with many (at times over a dozen) small kids, most pre-teen. It was impossible to enjoy the hot tub with them all jumping, splashing & playing in there (maybe if the pool was warmer they would have been in there instead)

  • Liked — romms
  • Disliked — elevator & water park
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brandymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Good Location at the end , but right on the Boardwalk. We checked into a very superficially cleaned room. Sheets were dirty and unchanged, counters barely wiped, and the children's socks turned black within an hr of walking on the carpet. It took several hours and requests to get them changed and the room was never cleaned well. Elevator grossed me out. The waterslide and pool is great, but I just could never get the heebie jeebies out of mind. Its a great hotel staffed by multiple layers of people who don't take pride or even care much about their jobs.

  • Liked — Location and the Waterslide
  • Disliked — Cleaniless and the staff
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wbement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2008

I stayed there in April, before the actual "shore season" with my aunt and grandmother; we got a good rate because we stayed during off season. Before that a bunch of the family stayed there during shore season. It's a pretty good motel; one of the better ones I've been too. It's a nice distance from the beach and boardwalk and has a great view of the ocean. Also the staff is very nice and helpful.

The only drawbacks that I found were that the elevators were extremely small and, if you happened to be at the wrong one, very slow (there is one that is much faster, you just have to know where it is ;D). Also, the "water park" is really not that great. There are too many little kids and it smells heavily of chlorine.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank Philly-Babie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Had a family reunion, and had 2 suites - a 2BR and 3BR. Rooms are open, spacious, airy, and large bedrooms/baths are good. Full kitchens, adequately stocked with supplies to cook.

Problems:
-Dirty floors, rugs and especially the furniture (bad stains)
-beds are like sleeping on box springs
-Bring your own towels and pillows if you can; theirs are awful
-Dirty pool (cloudy & smelly) and indoor pool has rubber mats that could be a hot-bed for bacteria. Make sure you wear flip-flops or beach shoes

Good facilities, though - restaurant & separate bar. Location could not be better. Great balconies overlooking the ocean. Quick exit to the beach through the lobby and the N.Wildwood beach is much less wide than WW proper - you do not have to walk a mile to the ocean. Staff is a little grouchy sometimes. Good choice for families and large groups. Would stay again knowing what I know now.

  • Liked — Location, large rooms, views, access to beach & boardwalk
  • Disliked — Not too clean, bad beds & towels, pricey
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patzona31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Surf Song Beach Resort
Surf Song Beach Resort
#20 of 41 in North Wildwood
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#5 of 41 in North Wildwood
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#39 of 41 in North Wildwood
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 41 in North Wildwood
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 41 in North Wildwood
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 41 in North Wildwood
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montego Bay

Property: Montego Bay
Address: 1700 Boardwalk, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5402
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
our 128 unit resort range from 1-4 bedrooms 3 bath 165 seat restaurant with fullservice bar open for breakfast lunch and dinner in season. indoor pool and water park open year round. arcade,fitness center,massages,tanning bed,tikie bar located at indoor pool,outdoor barbacque grills,ocean front and ocean view suites, in season kids activities as well as free hot dog parties with dj on the ocean front sundeck ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Montego Bay North Wildwood
Montego Bay Hotel North Wildwood
Montego Bay Wildwood New Jersey
Montego Bay Wildwood Nj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing