We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!!! Sorry I booked this room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
Reviewed July 12, 2009

When I looked at this hotel on a website I was told the place featured a pool, but that wasn't to be. Going to the front desk to ask about this I was told, in broken english, that I was wrong, seemed a little off that such shoddy customer service was coming from the manager himself. Getting into the room I notice the place resembles a construction site with the dirty carpet to match! As stated in other reviews on this site the sliding glass doors don't close, there was a mold stain in the first room I was in, and I had to trade to a second because of the bathroom sink leaking all over the bathroom. But there were holes throughout the walls in both rooms as well as a smell of mildew and grime in the hallways. I would not recommend this hotel even for in-laws! It is terribe and the service could be a lot better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 197 of 197 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2009

We checked in and then went to a formal event in the area. Upon returning to the hotel we were greeted by 5 North Plainfield police cars surrounding the building with a group of people who look like they're in a gang hanging around outside. The police leave, but the crowd of people didn't. We tried to go inside only to find 5 more of these shady characters standing by the door to get let into the hotel. My friends and I were scared by this so we walked around to the other side of the building to enter (in 10 degree weather).

Upon entering our room we immediately moved the dresser in front of the door & locked it in case someone else let the people who were outside into the hotel. We tried to goto sleep but couldn't because there was so much noise, yelling, partying, slamming of doors, cursing, and the like going on. The hotel had no control over their own property. I seriously considered packing up my things at 2am and driving home it was so unpleasant.

Besides the gang members hanging outside, the room wasn't too bad, but the hallway smelled a little bit. My girlfriend was NOT happy I booked a place where so many shady characters hang out and where so many police cars were needed! Avoid it at all costs!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank curbanow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

Does anyone ever write a positive review on trip advisor? This is a nice place, I loved it. Stayed there for weekends 3 times (a month apart) in the winter of 2003-2004. The rooms were always very clean, and all rooms include a microwave and refrigerator. It's a decent value for the area, Continental breakfast was very nice, staff was nice, I honestly can't think of anything even slightly negative to say.

Stayed: January 2004
Thank DirtFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Recently booked a room for a video game tournament that was in the area. This hotel is very unsafe in my opinion. We had to be buzzed into the lobby area which looked like it hadn't been updated since it was built.

The hallways had a funny smell to them and the room did also. While we were deciding to stay or not to stay my brother went to use the bathroom and found that there was dried blood all over the walls and the door!!!!!!!

The glass sliding door to the room was open and would not shut or lock! Very unsafe!

Went down to the front desk and finally got a refund for the room and left this hotel as soon as we could!!!!

We ended up at the Hampton Inn in South Plainfield which was beautiful. Whatever you do....do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlushPell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersey
12
Reviewed June 3, 2006

Room was very dirty, the only thing that was done was that the beds were made. The floors were not vacumed and the bathroom was discustingly dirty. The toilet was wet(pee) and there was hair all over the seat. The sliding glass door was broken, it would not shut all the way nor would it lock....... that in itself was unacceptable due to the fact that the room was facing route 22 and was very unsafe. I would never consider staying or advise anyone to stay at this hotel ever again. Very un happy with the whole situation.... did not stay..... the only thing they did right was to give me a refund on the room.

DON"T STAY HERE

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Тише сторона, по коридору если идти от деск то справа (четный номера по-моему). Наша сторона была на...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IgorLuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Plainfield
4.4 mi away
Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel
Best Western The Garden Executiv...
#3 of 5 in South Plainfield
200 reviews
6.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Edison
Red Roof Inn Edison
#6 of 15 in Edison
256 reviews
4.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites South Plainfield
WoodSpring Suites South Plainfie...
#2 of 5 in South Plainfield
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 5 in South Plainfield
607 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Westfield Inn
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - P...
#4 of 5 in South Plainfield
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Address: 1025 US Highway 22, West End Avenue, North Plainfield, NJ 07060-6614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Plainfield
Price Range: $71 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 miles from New York City, Manhattan. 10 Miles from MetLife Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield Hotel North Plainfield
Howard Johnson North Plainfield
North Plainfield Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing