We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what it used to be”

Arthur's Steakhouse & Pub
Ranked #62 of 111 Restaurants in North Brunswick
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“not what it used to be”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We have eatten at Arthur's many times in the past but not in the last few years. It used to be one of our favorite steakhouses. Have no idea what has transpired, but their once tasty tender huge steaks are no longer what they were. Food was rather tasteless and there was as much fat and grizzle as there was meat. Steaks were stil huge but big does not equal good. Maybe we just got the worse 2 steaks in the place but we are not going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gofishnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    20
    12
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milltown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nothing great”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The steaks were extremely fatty. We waited quite a while for a table and then waited an hour for our food. The waitress was overwhelmed. Wouldn't go back there even though it's close to my house.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good local pub”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I haven't been to Arthur's for several years. There were six people in my group a few nights ago and several of us were in the mood for a hamburger. I remembered Arthur's and suggested we go there. The restaurant has been there for a long time and the interior reflects this. It needs to be updated. It is dark but not dingy. Five out of the six ordered hamburgers in various ways. Each came out as ordered and cooked as we desired. One person ordered the chicken sandwich. She said the chicken was dry but tasty. There was nothing special about the fries but the onion rings were good. The service was good but nothing special. If your in the area and want a tasty hamburger or steak at reasonable prices stop in. I don't think you would be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BronxWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Arthurs-Maybe the King of Pub Food in North Brunswick”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Arthur's is a free standing sports pub establishment serving generous portions of well-prepared pub food. They ahve the usual selection of sandwiches and burgers as well as typical dinner plates. The difference here however is a selection of well-prepared and classically traditional ethnic dishes along with a large selection of daily specials. Among the plates selected by our party included cheese/potato pierogis and potato pancakes as appetizers off the daily special list, some large and high quality DelMonico-cut steaks prepared precisely as ordered, the de rigeur pickle/relish tray that comes to every table and is endlessly refilled at patrons' request, potato crusted salmon and meal sized--read dinner-plate-sized--potato pancake. The desserts were also well done and generous in proportion. The bill, on the other hand, was rather smaller than one might expect from the food. The only problem-a small one--was a somewhat confused and over worked wait staff...but no harm was done. Arthur's is well worth a try when in the neighborhoos.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Known for their steak”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is one of my friend's favorite places to eat. I wasn't that impressed. Food was decent, portion size good. I remember the place being a little too dark and smelling like a tavern.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur's Steakhouse & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Arthur's Steakhouse & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing