We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly upscale with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites North Brunswick
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly upscale with very friendly staff”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Boy, was I ever impressed with this place!

I booked into the hotel from Priceline, not knowing what I'd get but hoping - hoping for a good stay. I expected a very basic experience, but when I arrived, the staff greeted me warmly and pointed me toward the food (Tues - Thurs they do a mini-dinner spread) while they sorted the paperwork. Upstairs, my room was spacious and comfortably laid out like a decent apartment. The wifi worked flawlessly, and then the phone rang - it was the front desk, just checking in to make sure everything was okay. I've traveled a lot, but never had a front desk call to make sure I was happy!

The hotel is also right next to a shopping strip with several restaurants (Buffalo Wild Wings, 2 Asian cafes, 2 Indian place, and a steakhouse), a pharmacy, and a bank. But the other side of the property backs up to a wooded area, cutting the noise level and ensuring a great night sleep close to everything you need. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nunya_Biz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita C, General Manager at Staybridge Suites North Brunswick, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a favorable review of our property. I am very glad that you found our accommodations so comfortable and our location so convenient. I will certainly pass along your comments regarding the service you received to the staff. I hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the North Brunswick area.

Sincerely,

Rita Courville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    22
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
13
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business. Checkin was easy. Was greeted in the room by a note from the GM and a bottle of wine with chocolate. Room did not have an ironing board in it which made me iron on a towel draped over the counter. Room was very clean. Not richly appointed but good for 90$ a night. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelzwithkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita C, General Manager at Staybridge Suites North Brunswick, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review of our property. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. Our hotel is a great value plus we have a great location and a great staff. I hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Rita Courville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Needed to stay near my parents' house to prepare for their move. Us: couple in their 40's with a baby. This hotel was perfect. I had read from other reviews that the walls were thin and you could hear hallway noise. If you were a guest on the 5th floor during the first weekend in March (2013) it was our 11 month old son that was the source of all that noise (sorry and I am to the first to admit that he is loud).

Stayed in a one-bedroom suite (wanted a two-bedroom suite but there are only a few so if you want one, book early) on the 5th floor. I am going to guess that there are only 5 - one per floor?

What I liked:

- the living area was completely separate from the bedroom with a wall and a door (if you've ever stayed in a "junior suite"that only had a partition you will appreciate this)
- the full kitchen which was stocked with all the basics - utensils, glasses, dishes, mugs, frying pan, sauce pan (the kind you use for soup); even salt/pepper, sugar/Equal/Sweet N Low, which was a nice touch. There is dishwasher detergent and a mini bottle of dishwashing soap. Full fridge/freezer and 12 cup coffee pot. Paper towels. I brought our own coffee but hubby wanted to try the hotel coffee pack - he hated it and even I didn't like it (he's the coffee snob; I will drink almost anything).
- didn't get to use the pool due to time issues but it was nice that it was there.
- good variety of breakfast items the 2 mornings we were there. pleasant and helpful staff.
- next to a strip mall that has a CVS - good for snacks/basic grocery items/baby stuff.
- bathroom had a real bathtub - if you have a baby/small child you need a bathtub. So many hotels are going to shower-only.
- for dinner, we did take-out at Bertucci's (yum); Longhorn Steakhouse is also next door to the hotel, for the next dinner we went to TGIF's (2? miles north on Route 1, near the Walmart) - also good.
- hotel has "light housekeeping" during M-F (we were there Thurs-Sat) so the trash is taken out and the beds are made. I liked this feature; I didn't feel like we had to be out of the room all day in case we "missed housekeeping".
- the front desk staff as well as the other hotel employees we saw were polite and friendly. The hotel opened in April 2012 and I just love when a hotel is so new. Sounds odd until you stay in a hotel that has aged past it's prime.

Random thoughts:

- our dishwasher was loud and took (2 hours?) to finish; not a negative but something to know.
- my husband (who admits he is obsessed with finding a good parking spot) observed that one car was parked in the "check in only" area for over 24 hours (there are 3 or 4 spots to the left of the hotel). He parked in the strip mall parking lot next door as mentioned by others, if he couldn't find a spot in the front.

My husband (besides coffee and parking spaces) is not picky about hotels; but I am. We thought it was perfect for our needs, and will stay there again when we go back in May to finish up with the sale of my parents' house. It was our first hotel stay with the baby, but there was room in the living area for the play yard (Pack n' play) and after moving the mini coffee tables to the side I didn't have to worry too much about child-proofing. Next time we're going to use the pool!

Room Tip: If you want a 2-bedroom suite, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbun04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita C, General Manager at Staybridge Suites North Brunswick, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review of our property! I am delighted you enjoyed the many features and the convenient location of our hotel and very much appreciate your specific and detailed feedback about of our property. I will pass along your comments to the staff and hope that you will have the opportunity to enjoy our pool and spa when you return later this year. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Rita Courville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Brilliant location right on US1 Highway with restaurants, groceries & cinemas in walking distance. Brilliant suites. Rooms are not that big but well planned & you'll have a cosy feeling. Bed is good & every day they do a touch up so it's as good as a hotel. Receptionists are extremely helpful & they will go out their way to help further. I was extremely satisfied with their service but the only thing they need to improve is their breakfast spread. In one word it's pathetic in US standards & I was in this hotel for 21 days. So at later stage I used to skip breakfast because it's so monotonous.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anir2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita C, General Manager at Staybridge Suites North Brunswick, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review of our property. Our guest suites are very comfortable for someone seeking that home away from home feeling and our area offers many conveniences for long-term guests. We strive to continuously improve our hotel and I appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast offerings. I hope to see you again should your travel plans bring you back to the North Brunswick area.

Sincerely,

Rita Courville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hotel has limited parking and mostly on the far backside. When that gets filled up you have to resort to parking in the shopping plaza next door.

Lobby –
1. The lobby has a fireplace but the staff never turns it on. It would be nice to use it especially on cold and miserable days. If you have one, why not use it and make it nice for the guests?
2. Other than breakfast the coffee is not available in the lobby, as it is in most hotels.

Walls/Doors/Floors
1. The walls are not very sound proof – you can hear quite a bit in neighboring rooms and outside traffic, trucks running all night.
2. Doors slam easily and are very loud. You can hear everyone slamming doors anytime of the day or night, including the staff during work hours, they should be told to have more consideration for the guests that are here working during the day.
3. Maids need to be told not to slam doors and drop/throw things on the floor, banging and disturbing the guests.

Washing Machines
1. This one is interesting – although the hotel does have their commercial washing machines, for some reason they like to use the guest laundry room machines and to top it off, they just leave their things in the machine and don’t bother taking their things out?? I’d rather pay to wash/dry, maybe then they’d be available to use, when the guests need them.


I noticed that they transport food to other floors from the kitchen (not sure where they go but it must be disturbing to hotel guests especially in the early morning hours, which is what I noticed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita C, General Manager at Staybridge Suites North Brunswick, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your detailed feedback is being taken very seriously as we strive to exceed our customer's expectations. I have reviewed your concerns with the staff and are addressing the issues you noted in your review. Thank you for your comments and I hope that we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Sincerely,

Rita Courville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed overnight for a business meeting in Somerset NJ. The hotel has only been open for a few months I believe. It looked brand new. I loved the suite! Too bad I was only there for one night. The suite seems perfect for someone who needs to stay longer. There was an event where managers socialized and cooked with the guests. Pretty friendly staff. Very very very clean!
I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRC0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita C, General Manager at Staybridge Suites North Brunswick, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review of our property and I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. Our product and location is perfect for long term stays as we are within walking distance to many restaurant and service amenities, including a multi-plex cinema. I hope you will visit us again should you return to the North Brunswick area.

Sincerely,

Rita Courville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Good location, there are a few restaurants in waking distance. The staff was very helpful anytime I needed anything. Clean, safe place to stay. Free breakfast each day, free dinner Tuesday - Thursday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfish24_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita C, General Manager at Staybridge Suites North Brunswick, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your outstanding rating of the Staybridge Suites North Brunswick. We take great pride in our property and I am glad that our team met your expectations. Please come back and visit us next time you are in the North Brunswick area.

Sincerely,

Rita Courville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Brunswick
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn North Brunswick/New Brunswick
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 5 in North Brunswick
73 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Heldrich Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
Hyatt Regency New Brunswick
#2 of 4 in New Brunswick
839 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tower Center New Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites North Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites North Brunswick

Property: Staybridge Suites North Brunswick
Address: 2195 US Highway 1, North Brunswick, NJ 08902-4401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites North Brunswick 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites North Brunswick NJ will extend the best service and value in the area. It is the perfect blend of urban hotel and relaxing comfort conveniently located just 20 minutes south of the Newark - Liberty International airport (EWR) on US Route – 1 in the heart of North Brunswick Town. Our premier location near historic Rutgers & Princeton Universities and walking distance to the mall, movie theater & restaurants make it an excellent choice for business travelers and vacationing visitors. Neighboring facilities include Johnson & Johnson, Bristol Myers Squibb, Novo Nordisk and several other corporate headquarter locations.Each of our 84 guest rooms is a spacious apartment-style studio, one bedroom or two bedroom suite complete with a full kitchen with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator making it perfect for guests staying more than a few nights.Our guests will be sure to enjoy our outdoor BBQ pavilion, indoor pool & spa, fitness center, expansive great room with fireplace, large screen TV and casual seating.We also include many complimentary amenities such as free high-speed wireless Internet access, hot buffet breakfast and our legendary evening Sundowner Reception. Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites each equipped with a full kitchen, work desk with multiple outlets and free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, 32” televisions, DVD player & cable tv. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Staybridge Suites North Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing