We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadowlands View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meadowlands View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in North Bergen
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice place all in all, just the location sucks. Place is far from New York and at first it looks like the only way to get to Manhattan is the shuttle service provided by the Indian people holding the small kiosk in the lobby. Shuttle is totall rip off. There is local buses going near by highway and the stops are 5min walk the up hill. Person can get to New York 1/2 price compared to the shuttle service and luggages don`t cost extra.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SakuTheFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnNB-NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Meadowlands View Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello.

Sorry to hear that you found our location inconvenient. We are one of the nearest locations to the main entry point into Manhattan. And some people do find the shuttle an inconvenience because of the scheudle or prices, but in that instance, we do recommend the public busses which, as you said are ONLY 5 minutes away. We are very glad that you found that this was more convenient for you.

We want to make sure that all our guests are having the easiest of times getting around, which is why we've had the shuttle service for so long, but with reviews like yours, it helps us understand things that need improving, and please know that we are working to make all aspects of the hotel better, the shuttle included. (Though it's a little hard as they are a separate business, but it's still something that we can improve).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    172
    169
    73
    73
See reviews for
250
129
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three days when I travelled in NYC. I enjoyed my stay there. The room is comfortable and clean and this hotel is close to the heart of NYC. The staff is very nice and helpful. I will stay there again if I have chace.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 323Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnNB-NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Meadowlands View Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do pride ourselves on our proximity to NYC and Times Square, glad that was something you noted! Thanks for your kind words, and we hope to see you next time.

Best,
Fernando Contreras
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hart, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My daughter, and two grandchildren just finished a 5 day trip to New York, this was a super hotel. Room was clean and we never ever felt fearful. We left our car in lot without any kind of problem. We used the shuttle bus to get to and from city and found it to be great. We always scheduled are return trip for 9pm but were tired out and ready to go by 8pm and they always allowed us on the bus. Front desk people were good and speedy at checking us in but that is all they did! The gift shop personal were awesome, and very helpful. We would like give a very special thank you to Manual...what a help you were, and we so appreciate how you went out of your way to make us feel welcome. He answered every question we presented to him and we are country folks so we had plenty. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We ate at the restaurant on the twelve floor, that did leave something to be desire food wise but the staff were awesome. The cafe personal were very frendly and nice. Great value for your money and very close to Time Square...thanks again for making our trip so nice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriB2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnNB-NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Meadowlands View Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here! We aim to go above and beyond in all aspects of our hotel, reviews like yours always helpo us to continue to get better and better. It's great to know that all of our employees were helpful to making your trip as enjoyable, relaxing and safe as possible. We will definitely reach out to Manuel and the Gift Shop, Shuttle Service, Cafe and Restaurant employees and let them know of your kind words.

Hope to see you again during your next trip to New York City!

Regards,
Fernando Contreras
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I would not describe the hotel as run-down, but rather well-used. The king-size room we got was not bad. It had a microwave and small fridge. Bed was clean and comfortable. The handle fell off the shower when we turned it on, but we could make it work. There were no glaring cleanliness issues.

The noise of kids (I'm talking 5-6 year old kids!) running up and down the hall and slamming doors at 2 a.m. was irritating, but I called the front and it stopped - till the next night.

The shuttle to New York City. You'll see a lot of reviewers saying you can get there for $3. Well, the shuttle from Days Inn to NYC is actually $7 ($12 round trip). There is a $3 shuttle, but you have to walk up to the Super 8 to catch it. These shuttles are privately contracted by the hotels and shopping centers, and you should consider the safety risk as they appear to be unregulated. If you're willing to take the risk, it's a cheap and fast way to get back and forth to Times Square.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pine_bush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savusavu, Fiji
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Being in New Jersey on business and then wanting to extend the trip to experience and explore New York without breaking the budget this hotel provided us with a perfect location and all the services we needed for both business and pleasure.

Half an hour's walk from Secaucus Convention Centre in Meadowlands and 5 minutes walk to where a minibus would pick you up a take you into the Port Authority (MTA) in New York through the Lincoln Tunnel, around usd $2.50 p/p....AWESOME!!

It was a lucky pick of hotel. It had comfortable rooms with all facilities including a great range of drink and food delivery services outside of the hotel at very good prices. Breakfasts at the hotel are HUGE. Very polite staff and everything we needed.

Good value for money and location supreme. Who cares if it had great views of the turnpike? We couldn't hear it and had the choice of looking at it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeejeeJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnNB-NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Meadowlands View Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi! We're so glad that we were able to provide a comfortable and affordable option for your business and pleasure stay here at our hotel. I'm glad that the things we value most, like proximity to sites and transportation were something that you found aided in your stay.

The Breakfasts ARE huge! I'm glad you found that enjoyable! I couldn't finish my Day's Delight just the other day! And for lunch, Blimpie's came in 5 minutes after ordering, they're about a mile away! You're right, the prices for the delivery services are really good! I'm also happy that I'm enjoying these things as much as our guests are.

I will say though, that on a good summer's day, the view of the sunset hitting the turnpike is magical! Ha!

Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you here on your next trip!

Best,
Fernando Contreras
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The internet service in the room was not working, the cleaning lady cleaned the room and did not leave any towels, and the front desk employees were not helpful (except for one person).
This hotel has the potential to be better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nabeel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnNB-NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Meadowlands View Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks for your review! We're sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. We would like you to know that we are using all feedback to better serve our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future as I am sure you'll find that we are getting better and better each day, thanks to reviews like yours!

Best,
Fernando Contreras
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is located next to I495 heading to the Lincoln Tunnel. Easy to get on and off this road if you are visiting New York and don't want to spend a fortune for a "city" hotel.
There is "free" parking which you won't find at a city hotel. Hotel has a restaurant and cafe which I didn't use.
Public transportation is available if you don't want to drive into the city and find a place to park.
Rooms were nice ,clean and best of all quiet!
One thing that is a "pet peeve" of mine is, when a hotel has a restaurant, they don't equip the room with a frig or microwave. This hotel has both. A+
Staff was friendly and helpful. Room rates are ok.
If your visiting New York City, get up early and come back late and you'll miss the heavy traffic.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skiwithapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites North Bergen
Comfort Suites North Bergen
#2 of 8 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlands View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands View Hotel

Property: Meadowlands View Hotel
Address: 2750 Tonnelle Ave, I-495 & US 1 & 9, North Bergen, NJ 07047-2228 (Formerly Days Inn North Bergen - New York City)
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadowlands View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Meadowlands View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing