We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice sized portions”
Review of Tapas De Espana

Tapas De Espana
Ranked #12 of 93 Restaurants in North Bergen
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice sized portions”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I thought the food was pretty decent. Very nice sized portions. Would be a great place to go with a lot of people and share like we did. Only don't order as much as you think since portions are so big. I ordered Tres Leches for dessert and that was a disappointment. Having been to real Tapas places in Spain this does not compare. But an okay Americanized version. Its a very busy place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BellaFella82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    6
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Place is Ok food is Ok , bar is just nuts, not bad to go get a Tapa and a drink thats about it .Not a place for a nice relaxing meal to much noise at the bar and the places main focus is there bar crowed also no parking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The food is not great”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have visited Tapas de Espana three times and I have been disappointed time after time. If you like, good service, fresh ingredients, good tasty food, and a relaxed environment avoid this restaurant. The background music is in complete opposite to what it seems the restaurant tries to accomplish. The decoration of reds, dim lights and candles does not go along with the horrible, loud and disturbing music they play on the background. The service is bad, once I had three different waiters attending my table and all of them had bad memory and kept asking same questions, including bringing out cold food. The tapas are not good, I have yet to try a good tapa restaurant in north bergen, I always end up in Newark or Manhattan for good Spanish food.Save your time and money don't go...the sangria is horrible, but I guess if you go for a glass of wine and to mingle you can bear.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great tapas and varied menu, avoid going between 8-10 pm”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

After searching for various options to eat, my friend and I decided to go to this place for the first time. Ambiance seemed great when we got in, although too crowded. The hostess told us that the waiting time was about 45 mins, so we decided to walk around on the street to kill time. Luckily for us that they were looking for us when we got back. I would say it was worth waiting, as the food was pretty good. They also have live Spanish music late at night, so make sure you become a "Spaniard" and have a late dinner to avoid the crowd as much as possible, yet enjoy the music!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A friendly local restaurant”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Tapas de Espana is a wonderful Spanish restaurant that I've enjoyed twice. The clams in Creole sauce should not be missed. We also enjoyed tender beef tips in a delicately spiced sauce and the fresh "potato chips" are light - not greasy - and a fun way to begin dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas De Espana also viewed

 

Been to Tapas De Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing