We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just be aware & careful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson North Bergen
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel did not take away the stress of traveling to Manhattan as we wanted it to. First, the hotel isn't in the best area. NOT to say I felt unsafe, but I am not so sure about the area, could definitely be cleaned up. We arrived around 9pm. The woman at the front desk was nice and helpful. At this point we found out the shuttle ONLY leaves the hotel at 3 different times in the morning (starting at 6 I believe) and leaves Manhattan to come back to the hotel 3 different times (starting at 8pm) By reading the reviews before, I was under the impression that I could get a shuttle back midday. Asked the driver and there was no negotiating. There were no instructions as to what to do if you can't get the shuttle. I read in the reviews about a bus going by, but had no information on where that dropped off, or where to get on. That would have been helpful. Also would have been helpful to know that taxis do not have to take you to New Jersey, and if they do, they will most likely charge you a bundle. This information should have been more readily available. The room was average, seemed clean. Definitely a smaller room, but for a one night stay it was manageable. The beds were not comfortable. We did take the shuttle to the city in the morning and ended up getting a taxi back, which got lost.

Room Tip: There are 3 buildings..we were in the building closest to the road (presumably the cheapest). But, c...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilm426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson North Bergen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 447 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rutchie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jose I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you choose this hotel you are obviously trying to stay in the area on a budget. My mother and I had reservations for August 24th - 27th 2013. We decided to leave home early and go stay an extra night there. We called on the way there to see if there were any rooms available but could not understand the person who answered the phone. Finally we got a yes out of the person so we knew we were ok to go there a day early. Once we got to the office, not sure if it was the same girl at the desk who answered the phone, but was trying to explain we already made reservations but we came a day early, so we wanted to pay for an extra night. It took about 20 minutes of hand gestures and repeating myself to get it all worked out. When we rent to our room (right behind the office) we noticed it was 1 king size bed instead of 2 queen beds. That room smelled and just looked dirty and not up to date. Once I went back to the office showed on the reservation where it was supposed to be 2 queen beds we were finally given the keys to a room at the top of the hill. This room was a lot nicer (not great but you get what you pay for). It was twice the size of the King bedroom and had a half divider wall between the 2 beds. Since I go on a lot of trips with my mom, I loved the divider wall, which all hotels had them. We checked the beds over really good for cleanliness and they looked good. My mom did find a "private" hair in the shower that totally freaked her out. The office smelled of some type of foreign food (someone else said curry, but I never smelt curry and don't want to assume because of race). The smell made it hard for me to eat breakfast in the breakfast area. I did LOVE the van to and from NYC. I could not imagine trying to drive in NYC or even find a way to get over there and back. I totally believe you get what you pay for and this place was ok for the price. I do believe if you are going to have customer service in America you should be able to speak English very very clearly.

Room Tip: Do not get a room that is attached to the office. We got put in one of those first and it looked rea...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armous32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.7 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Bergen
633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#3 of 9 in North Bergen
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
2.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson North Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson North Bergen

Address: 1300 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-1521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range: $92 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson North Bergen 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson North Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing