We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe what you read in the negative reviews of this property! BUYER BEWARE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson North Bergen
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    63
    115
    81
    143
See reviews for
169
82
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I found this hotel to be a real treasure that offers excellent, clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation just minutes from the Lincoln tunnel making access to the splendours of Manhattan fast and easy either by car or shuttle bus. We also found all of the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful with quick attention to any special request. A simple but totally satisfying breakfast is provided and makes for a nice way to start the day. We found that all of our WiFi devices worked flawlessly because of the excellent internet services provided. We have recommended this hotel to several of our friends and they have all been equally satisfied. An excellent value!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Frank C,

My name is Chaitali Gandhi the general manager at the hotel. I am very pleased at your comments about our hotel considering that you were very pleased with the staff, breakfast, the shuttle, the rooms, sleep quality, comfort level, Wi-Fi, location, and the overall value that we provide. We do our best every day to make the best for our guests and guests like you are very much appreciated. Once again thank you for the excellent remarks as we continue to improve our service everyday.Go Happy Go Hojo !

Chaitali Gandhi (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

After booking a really cheap rate on line by accident, I ventured to upgrade the room to a Jacuzzi room. It turned out they only have one. It was big enough for two, but took up a lot of space in the room.

We didn't get a chance to take their shuttle service, as we missed the last one of the afternoon, so we had to drive to Journal Square to take the MTA to NY. That wasn't bad since it worked out.

The building setup is odd...different in an interesting way. The TV was nice, but the bed was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Tiffani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Tiffani F,

My name is Chaitali Gandhi, General Manager of this hotel, and I would like to explain and thank you on the review you have posted as it help us to improve a lot. I understand that the jacuzzi rooms might have been small due to the jacuzzi itself but we are trying our best to provide the best value for our guests. I would like to apologize that you missed the shuttle to NYC and you had to take the public transportation as we are in the process of extending the hours availible to take the shuttle for our guests. You also mentioned that the bed was not comfortable and very bad for your precious sleep, we have ordered new batches of the matress and will be replaced very soon. Please forgive us on the mistakes as we try to improve everyday. Once again thank you for the review. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Chaitali Gandhi (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

to spend Easter holiday my family and me decided to head NYC and booked this hotel for our stay and what a disappointment. We checked in and check out in a matter of 10 minutes. Old and broken furniture and bathroom mirror. Mold in the bathroom. Dirty carpet and bed sheets; and when we took the complaints to manager, we were confronted with a rude and defiant attitude.
we moved to Marriott courtyard. This hotel needs major overhaul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Amy Jane Olarte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Vanessa V,

Hello my name is Chaitali Gandhi, the general manager at this hotel, and would like to deeply apologize for the mistakes in the room. I see that the complaints from you mostly focused on the furniture damage and the unclean room itself as well as the doors that needed to be more secure however we are doing our very best to fix our rooms in every way possible so that all amenities for our guests are ready for use. The security around the property is something that should be of no concern Ms. Vanessa V because our property is under complete 24 hour survellance and should be of no major issue. Again I would like to apologize behalf my staff and we will improve our rooms anyway possible as fast as possible, since we are in the process of redoing them. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Chaitali Gandhi (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is pretty worn out. The old and dirty carpets leave a very poor first impression. Fortunately, to the credit of the staff, the linens and bathrooms are very clean.
The wifi (hotel wide) as well as the free parking are a bonus. The breakfast, although not exciting, is convenient.
I stayed in the lower (motel-like) part of the hotel. This was very convenient, as I had my own car. However, I would not recommend this hotel if you are not driving.
The walls are not terribly sound-proof. You will most likely hear a lot of what's going on next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sir_Top-Hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.7 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Bergen
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#3 of 9 in North Bergen
372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
2.4 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#8 of 14 in Jersey City
1,091 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson North Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson North Bergen

Property: Howard Johnson North Bergen
Address: 1300 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-1521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson North Bergen 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson North Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing