We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK place to stay near New York City”
Review of Quality Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Our family stayed here while visiting NYC to do some sightseeing. I felt like I knew what to expect based on previous reviews, although I was still a bit surprised about the location of the hotel. It's located in an industrial park area on a very busy road. FYI: If you are driving, be very careful when pulling out of the hotel. The cars and tractor trailers are traveling down Tonnelle at a high rate of speed. Regardless of the location, we felt safe, and there was absolutely no audible road nose in our room, or inside the hotel. The hotel is nicely decorated, with comfortable beds, and large rooms with a good sized mini refrigerator. It is conveniently located near NYC. I liked the fact that there are security cameras located inside the hotel and outside in the parking lot. The live feed from the cameras is visible on a flat screen monitor at the front desk. We had no problems using the wi-fi in our room, and there are two computers available for guests to use in the lobby.

There were a few things we would change if we could.
-The musty, moldy odor coming from our air conditioning unit during our entire stay, despite notifying the front desk and being assured that someone would address it the following day. Speaking of the front desk, I found it odd that some of the employees seemed to know very little about the area, or NYC in general. I was actually told by one of the employees that she knew very little about the area. You work at a hotel just outside of NYC, full of tourists, and you know very little about NYC?
-The extremely uncomfortable breakfast area. It felt like it was 85 degrees, even though it is located in the lobby area, and it was very crowded with poorly arranged seating. The backs of the chairs were bulky and took up more room than necessary in an already very crowded area. There was little restocking of breakfast items and no one actively monitoring the breakfast area. I had to ask for items on more than one occasion (juice, waffle batter, bagels, milk). Beware that the "scrambled eggs" are not real scrambled eggs but rather reconstituted eggs. No one in our family would eat them, and we not "picky" eaters. I also saw several people reusing their dirty plates, which meant that they were touching their dirty plates with the serving utensils for the eggs and sausage/bacon.

We did not use the hotel shuttle to NYC, which is $6.00 each way for anyone over the age of 9, or $12.00 per person, round trip. Which would have been $48.00 for each trip to NYC for our family of 4. Instead, we took the bus as recommended by other reviewers ($5.00 round trip per person). The bus drops you off at the Port Authority Bus Terminal, which is very close to Times Square. The walk uphill from the hotel to Kennedy Ave. to catch the bus is quite a work out! Coming back is downhill, of course, and we felt safe walking the 4-5 blocks back to the hotel around 10pm. I had a hard time getting the bus information from the front desk, so I'm not sure if the hotel receives a portion of the shuttle fee (I felt like we were being "pushed" to take the shuttle that departed 30 minutes after we checked in), but keep asking if you want the bus information. I was given a sheet that detailed which bus to take, where to catch the bus to return, etc., which was quite helpful. Basically, you turn left out of the hotel, and go to 10th Street, which is just past the gas station. Walk up 10th Street (approx. 4-5 blocks) to Kennedy Ave., cross the street, and wait for a bus there. For the return trip, write down the name of the restaurant on the corner across from the bus stop to use as a landmark because you have to tell the driver when you want to get off. It was very difficult to see the cross streets from the bus at night, and we almost missed getting off the bus at 10th Street and Kennedy Ave.

There are very few restaurants near the hotel. A Dunkin Donuts, and a Taco Bell are located just down the road. We ordered pizza one night from a place called Amore that delivered to our hotel room. Their pizza was really good and reasonably priced, although the pricing on the menu in the hotel room is outdated. We also drove to a White Castle on Kennedy Ave. that is about 5 miles from the hotel. There is an Italian restaurant located next to the hotel that we didn't try.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pilatesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 390 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

I traveled to NJ for a family event, had an idea of hotel location but I wasn't sure, turn out to be a nice and quiet Hotel, the beds were very comfortable, lots of space, very convenient to Newark Airport, Jersey City and NYC, I felt safe leaving my car in the parking lot, the staff was very accomodating, they made my day when I found out they had scrambled eggs for breakfast, yougurt and fruit, thank you so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLT97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Although this hotel is not located in Manhattan, I'm very happy that I stayed there because of the high level of comfort for a moderate price. The room was very spaceous with microwave oven, fridge and water cooker. Internet connection was included in the price. The breakfast was much better than the standard American hotel tradition. The surroundings were safe even in the night. The stuff was nice and helpful, we easily received a baby cot.
We tried to reach the hotel by public transport from the Penn Station, New York City, because we had too much luggage for a cab. Basically, one can walk to the Port Authority Bus Terminal where the bus no. 125 takes one to the corner of 10th Street and J.F. Kennedy Blvd. Planning of the trip is easy at http://www.njtransit.com/ . From that bus stop, the hotel is in a 10-15 min walk distance downhill. Plan at least 5 min more if you come uphill! The whole journey takes 45 min. (including walking).
The other option is going by the PATH until Hoboken Terminal, and transfer onto the bus no. 85 (until the corner of 10th St. and Summit Ave), but this journey takes a little bit longer. A ride costs $3.20 (in contrast to the hotel shuttle which is $6), and the NJ buses go day and night, whereas the hotel shuttle has a quite limited schedule for a family with small children. A taxi cab ride costs $20 until Hoboken Terminal and 45$ until Newark Airport. However, the airport and Newark Penn Station are both reachable by bus and rail (see www.njtransit.com for details).
However, walking uphill to the bus might be uneasy for elderly people with cardiac insufficiency or for those who prefer comfort instead of some sport.
Altogether, this hotel is optimal for tourists visiting New York City, because for some inconvenience regarding the traffic, one gets spaceous comfort in a nice hotel for a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sardym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Our first trip to new york. This hotel is between newark and down town new york. We flew in from london and arrived at the hotel late evening,... Expensive taxi ride, but thats all that cost anything. The place is clean, service great. Staff helped us with evrything, room massive. bit dated, but so so cheap. breakfast was unlimited, cooked,cold,fruit,savory. Wonderful. Shuttle to town and back, $6 each way. Would surely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed here based on previous reviews and we were very pleased. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Although it was on a busy street there was no road noise. Breakfast was good and kept well stocked. Personnel were friendly and helpful. The shuttle to the city was great- hop on at the hotel and get dropped off at 42 and 7th. Convenient, reasonable and very accomodating. We will definately stay here again and will recommend to friends.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MItravels62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

On the positive side, the location is convenient and the free breakfast is nice. However, the place is not well soundproofed; you can hear your neighbors voices as well as the sound of water running in the adjacent unit. The air conditioner emitted an unpleasant musty odor and the windows are sealed shut, so no chance of getting any fresh air.There is a general air of shabbiness about the place.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
Thank JC746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

The hotel is quite decent even though located in a dismal industrial area on a heavily travelled highway. No doubt good rates for Manhattan visitors. Breakfast was quite varied even though not of high quality. Staff were very good in replenishing items on weekend with large crowd of loud students. Only complaint was that coffee was always lukewarm and ran out quickly. The efficiency unit only provided a stovetop for the extra $18 with no table nor chairs nor utensils of any kind. We had to beg at the front desk to get them to bring a table and a few utensils. On top of that, the couch is located on the same wall as the TV in these units meaning you need to watch it from your bed. The housekeeping and breakfast were very pleasant even though on duty 7 days a week it seems like in their old country. Finally the Wireless Internet was quite good even though it was extremely annoying to have to relog every time you used it during the day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZFrequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#6 of 9 in North Bergen
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites North Bergen
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Address: 1200 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-1519 (Formerly Comfort Suites North Bergen)
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range: $94 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing