We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and friendly”
Review of Quality Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and friendly”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel as we wanted to do some sightseeing of New York but did not want to pay the higher prices for accommodation. This was a great choice. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfast was plentiful and well organised, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were a number of food outlets nearby who delivered meals to our hotel door. A shuttle bus delivered us to and from our hotel to our tour company, so we were able to leave our vehicle safely in the hotel car park for the day.
We had originally only booked in for only one night and asked to stay for another. They were fully booked but asked us to check at breakfast the next day. The day receptionist offered us a newly renovated room, but was very apologetic as the room, on the fifth floor, had not had drapes installed yet. They insisted we view the room before accepting it. We were grateful for it and didn't mind about the drapes, however, by the time we returned from our tour of New York, they had installed blinds over the window!
We highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    155
    64
    32
    30
See reviews for
158
73
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel in a good location for easy access into NYC. Use park and ride North Bergen Station which is about 3 minutes away. Return fare is $9.00 for driver (including parking), $6.00 for adults and $2.75 for children/seniors. Buses come every 12 minutes. Excellent service.

Hotel is in a busy industrial area, so not much around. Complimentary breakfast is ok. Hotel was very busy with school kids when we visited which made breakfast a challenge.

Free wifi worked ok but could have been better. One negative was TV which did not get more than about 15 channels, some without sound. This shouldn't happen.

Would stay again to use as a base for NYC.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Canadatravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here for the second time in October 2013 after reading that the shuttle service into New York was being run by a different company after our bad experience in 2012. The shuttle service if anything was worse. They sell more tickets than they have capacity on the shuttle bus. Getting back to the hotel at night was a nightmare journey with overcrowded buses, we were crammed on like sardines. I'm sure it broke all safety rules regarding capacity on the bus.
The hotel was lovely, rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and the lady kept the area clean and replenished. I would however not stay at this hotel again due to the shuttle service. Please Comfort Inn sort this problem out. There must be better providers than the company you use.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to the shuttle service which is operated by a 3rd party. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I read mixed reviews of this hotel, but booked it anyway. I have a dread fear of driving into the city of New York. I planned to go to the Metropolitan Museum of art on 5th Avenue and 86th Street, see the show After Midnight at 8th Avenue and 45th Street and Columbia Heights in Brooklyn. From this hotel , I drove to the park and ride and paid $9.00 to enter the lot and included a round trip ticket on the bus to Port Authority. I decided to drive to Brooklyn (it took about 40 minutes) The hotel was helpful and clean. The neighborhood is an industrial area, but has a nice Italian restaurant hooked onto it. There are plenty of restaurants if you drive into Bergen. My only complaint is that if you are an evening bather as I am, there was no hot water at night. The morning breakfast was varied and good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, ME
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

First of all the hotel was a lot nicer than expected. Recently upgraded rooms with new bedding. Beds are pretty comfortable, but if your staying with someone else in the room you will hear every time they move -- the comforter sounds like paper crinkling!

PERFECT location! Only 10 min from time square. Not much to do walking distance around the hotel though.

The hotel staff is less than helpful and pretty much down right rude. We booked a 6 person room and once we got to the hotel, ended up being charged an extra $10/person per night! There were only 5 of us in a 4 person room!!! When asked why we were pretty much yelled at and told this $10 covers breakfast. I thought the breakfast was complimentary?!?! It is def not worth the $10!

Since this was our first time to the NY/NJ area we decided to take the shuttle the hotel offers. I went to the front desk and asked the young lady up front how it worked...do we buy tickets from the shuttle of from the actual hotel? Not realizing she was on her cell phone, I had to wait on her for 5 minutes to be done her personal convo to be helped.

I would avoid the shuttle at all cost. It's not very clean and it's 1st come 1st serve so your not guaranteed a spot. The last shuttle picks you up in Times Square at 11 PM. If too many people are on the bus or you didn't end up buying a round trip ticket, you will get stranded in the middle on NYC like we did. spend the extra $$ on a cab!

I will not be returning to this hotel for our next trip.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maegan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Bergen hotels

Andreas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Myself and My Wife, as well as another couple (friends of ours) stayed here this weekend on our Christmas trip to NYC. We checked in Saturday afternoon, dropped our bags, and went right into NYC. Upon arriving back to the hotel around midnight, we were excited to use the hot tub in our room --- Only to find the water to be completely yellow as we began filling the tub... Both of our rooms (2 floors apart) expierenced the same water issue. After calling the Front Desk, we were told it was too late to do anything about it tonight, and that there was no one who was able to come up to check. (Wished we would have thought to take a picture of the yellow water, but after that, started taking pictures of the other issues).We continued running water, and finally the third time we filled the tub, it had cleared up. Unfortunatley, only 2 of the many jets in the tub were actually working. The next morning upon Check Out, we explained the situation again, and were told since there was no proof, and the water wasn't yellow anymore that no credit would be offered (even though when we tried to have them come up and check, they refused). The only thing they offered was to have the manager call us Monday.

For the most part, the room decor and bed were nice --- but there were numerous other issues we continued to find, that led me to the conclusion that we will NEVER stay here again.

1) Pictured on the website is a Whirlpool Room with a large 2-person heart shaped tub in the room... Unfortunatley, our room, had a small - 1-person kidney bean shaped tub, and our friends room had a 2-person older pink rectangler tub --- Neither the one advertised for the room we chose and paid for. (see pictures)

2) The Room Itself --- The bathroom tub/shower was old and broken, and the toliet was dirty! The carpet had something sticky mashed into it, and there was an electrical outlet in front of the bed mattress that was not covered and hanging out of the wall! (see pictures).

3) They are renovating a room on the 5th floor, and had all of the hallway smoke detectors covered and taped (illegal?). (see picture)

4) The hot breakfast consisted of lunch meat ham slices, and hard boiled eggs, both submerged in hot water... (see picture)

After not receiving a call this morning (Monday) from the manager, I called him directly... After 2 phone calls, and a fight back and forth, I was finally able to get him to offer us a 20% credit on what we paid for the rooms... I don't see how this is acceptable to charge someone for a room that was 1) clearly not clean and safe to be occupied, 2) Wasn't the room advertised, and 3) The whirlpool was feature that we paid over $50 extra for over the regular room, wasn't even usable! I believe at least 50% if not more, of the room charge should be refunded for the many inconvieniences, and will be calling Choice Hotels directly - because we will NEVER stay here again.

Still waiting for the manager's promised confirmation e-mail and proof of the 20% credit --- so we'll see if it ever shows up on credit card???

Room Tip: Whirlpools room are not as advertised - and do NOT have the 2-person heart shaped tub as shown on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

As agreed, when you had called, we did give you a 20% discount for both rooms and the emails were sent for the same.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I will start with the pros:
Very close to Times Square 10 min drive
Free breakfast included, good selection
Comfortable beds
Good size rooms
Room equipped with a fridge
Great economical stay for a family to visit NYC!

cons:
Would have liked hot chocolate as a breakfast option
Shuttle to Manhattan is way too expensive at $14 round trip per person, for a family of 4 cost is $56
Our first night I cranked up the heat on the highest possible setting but yet it was still cool in the room
There is only 1 elevator, we often took the stairs

My tip for transportation to Manhattan:
Go to the Park & Ride North Bergen and take the NJ Transit Bus to Port Authority on 42nd st (2 blocks from Times Square) only cost us $27.50 for a family of 4. It's located 2 minutes away from the hotel and the hours are better than the shuttle as it runs til 1am compared to the last shuttle being 11pm. Once you board the bus it takes you straight there with no stops to pick up anyone else where as the shuttle has 2 additional stops at 2 other hotels.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank FP7020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Bergen
624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
635 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#3 of 15 in Secaucus
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Property: Quality Suites
Address: 1200 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-1519 (Formerly Comfort Suites North Bergen)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing