We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Inexpensive Alternative Hotel when visting NY”
Review of Quality Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Stawell, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic Inexpensive Alternative Hotel when visting NY”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We are a family of 7 (5 kids aged from 14 - 7) and stayed here for 5 nights in November 2012. Agonised all year over where to stay and spent hours and hours trolling through hotels searching for the best possible deal for our larger family. Best deal I could find anywhere was $2600 at Eastgate (but then they also wanted an extra $40 per night for each child over 12 - not sure if they would have enforced it but this is what website said so potentially $3000). In comparison this hotel cost me $776 for the entire time and included free breakfast and wifi which the other did not. Of course you have to factor in transportation to Manhattan - there is a daily shuttle costing $9 adult return and I think $7 child return however the lovely lovely men on the shuttle rounded the daily fare to $58 - so 4 days of shuttle cost an extra $240. As we flew into JFK we needed private transportation to the hotel as taxis do not have to take passengers to NJ and if they do it is not a set fare so cost an additional $260 (but I think we were overcharged) so all up it was around $1260 compared to $3000. Huge savings and certainly outweighed the fact that we were not staying in the heart and soul of Manhattan.
I was extremely nervous prior to arriving at many commentors on TA forums highly recommend staying in Manhattan, and not staying at North Bergen. However I could not have been happier. The hotel met my expectations in every regard - the rooms were reasonably large, clean and comfortable, we had no issue with noise. The staff were very friendly, helpful and oblighing - happy to help with information and booking car to take us to rental car depot. Breakfast was a generous spread of bacon, eggs, waffles, bagels, toast, danish, yoghurt.
The hotel is located in an area where there is a little else ?maybe industrial - however there is a Wendys restaurant within a few hundred metres which is where we walked for dinner the night of our arrival. We didnt really go out at night in the area so cannot comment on the safety of this - we used the shuttle exclusively which picked us up and dropped us off at the front of the hotel.
The shuttle service departed from the hotel at I think 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12.30 and delivered us to the corner of 41st street and 7th avenue which is virtually Times Square - perfect drop off point as you can basically walk to most tourist attractions from there. At night the shuttle returned at 8, 9 and 10pm. This would be the only negative of the stay but we found it not to be a problem at all as we always managed to be able to fill our day until at least 8pm, and on the nights that we attended shows we were able to catch the later shuttles. The trip to and from Manhattan only ever took us 20-25 minutes. There were two occasions when the shuttle was running late (which they advise on the brochure at the hotel can happen due to traffic) by about half hour however this didnt affect our plans, although if you needed to be in Manhattan by a particular time I would choose to catch an earlier shuttle than what you needed just to be safe.
In summary this was the perfect hotel for us, $3000 is a ridiculous and prohibitive amount for US for 5 nights and we enjoyed being able to spend that money visiting attractions or dining out throughout our holiday. Travelling in and out was not an issue for us, although if you are a traveller who needs to return to their hotel room during the day for a rest it would not suit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foxmum66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    158
    64
    32
    31
See reviews for
160
74
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just a short bus ride away to Manhattan Port Authority Bus Station this affordably priced suite hotel was ideal for our 2 Adults + 3 Children. The equivalent hotel in Manhattan was just too expensive to contemplate, paid just 120 Dollars per night for 2 Queens + Sofa Bed. Hell of a hill to walk up each morning to get to the bus stop for daily trip in the City, but well worth it. Rooms were clean and staff were welcoming and always helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiDiddlyIdidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

First of all it's cheap and yes, just a short way to get into the city, but still not a good location. Located in an industrial area, hard to get in and out of, just not convienient at all. We had a crib reserved for our 4 month old infant and when we got there, they said they didn't have any left. Apparently they have two or three. When we got to our room we noticed a cigarette burned couch, mold all over in the bathroom, dust all over the cups, and horribly stained sheets! I went down to voice all of the concerns and I was handed new sheets to change myself and was told I was out of luck for the night as far as the crib. The next night we came back to the hotel, there was still no crib but there was a GIANT scary-as% bug on my bed! Disaster overall for sure. I have a call into the manager to see what they plan on doing for us so we will see if he calls back. We would never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3Monkeys4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Bergen hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had an extended stay over the Thanksgiving holiday 2012. We stayed here because it was so (affordable) close to New York. We were located almost right across from the Lincoln Tunnel. Quick drive over to Manhattan ($12 to go into NY) and then there is a nice safe parking garage (slightly pricey, self park) right when you get over there. Park for the day and walk or use the subway. If you have a small group, take the shuttle they DO have one - pay attention to pick up and drop off times copies of the shuttle schedule available at the desk. As far as the hotel goes, it was great! We had 5 adults and 5 preteens/teens. The morning breakfasts included eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles and usual continental breakfast items - great way to start the day and to save $ on eating out. The common areas were fresh, clean and welcoming. None of the usual tacky remodeling trying to disguise an old rundown hotel. Rooms were clean and well appointed too including microwave, fridge, sleeper sofa, free WiFi in room and usual amenities. I am a "clean freak" so I thoroughly checked the entire room including the mattress, very clean! All staff were so pleasant and tolerant. The kids in our group busied themselves in the evening making a movie, using the elevator, stairwell and hallway. The staff was fine with that. We felt totally safe allowing the kids to do so. Many video cameras for safety and security inside of the hotel and outside as well. Well lit outside, which is good because the area around the hotel seems like it could be a little sketchy. This is my personal experience and I can't guarantee you will be as pleased as I was, but I can say it is a great choice if you're leaning toward staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DealTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

After one night of no light and no heat during Hurricane Sandy my husband and I went in search of a hotel that was open and had a room. We are from Jersey City so we didn't have far to go
when we pulled in to the Comfort Suites on Tonnelle Ave in North Bergen. Their power had just been restored 10 minutes before we got there and the computers were down. But I will tell you that the manager was the nicest and most accomodating especially under the circumstances. I will definitely recommend any friends or family stay there when they can't stay with us.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On a recent trip to New York City we decided to expand our budget by staying in North Bergen, New Jersey. We chose this Comfort Inn to give the chain another chance after a DISASTROUS experience at another Comfort Inn Suites in Chesapeake, Virginia. Not the best choice.
One reason we selected this location was based on it's boasting high customer ratings on TripAdvisor, and the added enhancement of a hotel shuttle that was available to get into Manhattan.
The location seemed a bit "sketchy". North Bergen seems more run down. The hotel shared a parking lot with a Howard Johnson. The parking lot was small, but well lit. Check in was slow. The lobby seemed nice. We went to our room, It was on the smaller side despite the separate "living room: area. The furniture was very worn, and thread bare in spots. The beds were clean, but the bed coverings were extremely stiff and made sleeping less comfortable.
The bathroom was dirty. Mildew was on the floor tiles, and the edge of the wall tiles were the floor met the wall. The bathtub had a number of chips in the enamel and serious rust stains.
As for the Shuttle: sounds great in theory. We ate our breakfast (the breakfast is a nice yet standard array of cold pastries, cereals, precooked hard boiled eggs and boiled ham and make-your-own waffles - however the area to prepare your waffles encumbers anyone else trying to get ANY food)
then checked in with the front desk 30 minutes before the first shuttle was set to depart. We asked the gentleman how to get tickets, etc. He assured us an announcement would be made. We sat. And sat. And sat. Finally, at ten minutes AFTER 9 (the shuttle was set to leave at 9) we walked outside on our own and saw the shuttle at the OPPOSITE end of the parking lot, fully loaded with guests from the Howard Johnsons, and preparing to leave. We managed to get on - it was 5 dollars per person, one way. (ten dolars round trip - bus is actually CHEAPER!) It was full, so we were forced to STAND, while we went to another hotel to get w LARGER shuttle. Once we had all transferred to the larger shuttle at the Days Inn up the road we were off. It was now a full hour LATER. The shuttle dropped us off at Times Square. It doe not pick up again until 8 pm. So, plan on a LONG stay in the city if you take it in!
All in all for the price, I would stay further our, in Secaucus. The hotels there are much nicer, and cost less and there is more at your disposal. Plus, most are right on the bus line, where you can get a RT bus fare for only $7.90, and kids are free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thepuckgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We came with our 4 kids and needed something clean, comfy, close to city and affordable. We read the reviews on tripadvisor, which were far better than reviews of other hotels in the same price range in the area. But we have been let down so many times before so we weren't holding our breath. But from the moment we pulled up it was one pleasant surprise after another.

From the outside it looked very clean and wellkept, and then looking into the lobby looked very promising. Then we went in and it continued to look very nice and welcoming and pleasant. Our room, same thing. So clean, spacious, made me feel very happy to be there after a 13 hr drive. The bedspreads were so nice. Usually I take them off and just use the.sheets and blankets because the material is a nasty polyester-type stuff. But I kept these on. The sheets and pillows were so clean and soft. The carpet seemed very clean. The bathroom and tub were clean. A little rust but nothing to complain about.

WiFi worked great.

Breakfast next morning was the next pleasant surprise. Everything laid out nice, lots of choices. Sausage and boiled eggs the first day, perfectly cooked bacon and scrambled eggs the second. Yogurt, juice, coffee, waffles, cereal etc!

There was a little trouble with the shuttle, but it got worked out quickly. The drivers did not speak english well and didn't communicate too well.

But any hangups were nothing compared to all the plusses.

I highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Bergen
626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
687 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
641 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Property: Quality Suites
Address: 1200 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-1519 (Formerly Comfort Suites North Bergen)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing