We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeah, comfort is what you get”
Review of Quality Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Getting to NYC by the shuttle can be a bit annoying, but that's just a tiny inconvenience. And it still IS comfortable, the shuttles come and leave quite often and it's not that expensive either.The really lovely things are: Huge beds with soft sheets, spacious clean bathrooms, big flat screen tv, free wifi and a tasty breakfast. The buffet is somewhat modest for such a huge hotel. It offers no opportunity for an obscene gorging, but that's probably for the best. Great staff, friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoorEssadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Quality Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 382 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We found this on Choice Hotels.com. it looked fine in the photos. Arrived, checked in, got to the room, looked it over, and could not remain due to:
smell: combination of strong soap and chlorine bleach
air: no air conditioner, no fan, no ability to create breeze or alter temperature; could not open window, though smell of 6-lane endless traffic outside and Jersey oil refinery would have discouraged opening the window if one could
sticky dirty damaged surfaces: damp carpet, sticky drinking glass rings on flat surfaces, stains on couch and luggage bench, chipped rusty bath tub, hair on toilet seat, Q-tip stuck in room door security view finder.
Went downstairs, cancelled second night. Told desk clerk could not stay first night, requested refund. Told was too late; impossible. No money returned.
We lost the $160 for this awful place, and found a good hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. It is dirty and the location is depressing and grimy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Loved this hotel- immaculate and large room, comfy beds, friendly and extremely helpful staff, delicious breakfast. We rode the shuttle from the hotel take takes you right into NYC for $12 round trip per person. We were at Times Sq in 15 minutes! Great access to the city. Breakfast was hot entrees (bacon and eggs, make your own waffles) plus cereal, danishes, fruit, toast, juice, coffee-plenty of choices for everyone. The suites with 2 Queen beds and sofa were roomy and had fridge and coffee maker. Would definitely go there again. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Been at this hotel 2-3 years ago while seeing NYC; this time we decided to try it again. Previously it was a pretty OK place, but this time the foyer has been renovated and it was very pleasant indeed. The staff are always helpful, and the complimentary breakfast has different hot entrees daily. Price is also very reasonable and the rooms are quite spacious with microwave and mini fridge. It is a 3 minute drive to the North Bergen Park n Ride where we board the bus for the 10 minute ride that gets us right into Port Authority. Totally stress-free!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callieNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is poor maintained: phone handset is not working, Shower water flow is very low and you can barely take a bath.

The shuttle to NYC is overcharging the customers, compared to NJ transit bus stop (15 min. walk from the hotel).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Rooms are very spacious and above average, clean, and well maintained. Good complimentary WIFI and internet. Excellent self-serve multi-course continental-type breakfast with several kinds of coffee, eggs, sausage, bagels, toast, juices, dry cereals, milk, and loads of pastries. Easy to feed a family here! Hotel staff is very accommodating. Hotel fronts busy US 1 across the street from a switching yard; so, can be noisy until late at night. Limited access roadway makes getting to the motel tricky. Be sure to get here before rush hour, as traffic is a nightmare. Reasonably priced shuttle service into the big city is very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Booked the hotel for three nights but checked out the next morning. We paid $162 +tax (total $185) for one night. The bathroom door lock was broken, the phone handset was unplugged; did not work even after plugging it in, the lamp bulb was out, one leg of a table was broken. The breakfast area was small and crowded.

This hotel is on a road that is under construction and for miles there is no way to make a turn to get to the hotel.

I wanted to check out soon after discovering that the hotel was charging the price that was not worth the amenities it were providing, but they refused on the grounds that it had been more than one hour since I occupied the room.

I called Choice Hotels and reported the issues, only to hear that they would not help and I needed to resolve the matter with the hotel, despite the fact that the original booking was done through choice hotels website.

Comfort Suites had always been my first choice, but after this experience, I will avoid staying at Comfort Suites.

Room Tip: rooms are decent size and they can easily accommodate 4-5 people.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mughalmali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Bergen
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
705 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Address: 1200 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-1519 (Formerly Comfort Suites North Bergen)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range: $131 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing