We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, just outside of NYC”
Review of Quality Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Rochester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient, just outside of NYC”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This hotel is located in a rather industrial district. But it is a strategic location, as it is very close to the expressway connecting to the Lincoln Tunnel to Manhattan. Getting to the hotel is a little tricky, as the roadway is divided, and there are surprising hills which are hard to maneuver if you miss the hotel. We arrived at the hotel and were warmly greeted by the manager and given a queen suite. The room was large, with a separate sofabed area, along with refrigerator and microwave. Surprisingly, the area was large enough to have had a small table, which we've seen in other Comfort Suites, but was lacking here. The room had a slightly musty odor, but it went away after we got the air conditioning going. The room and bathroom were very clean, with no signs of any critters. We were glad to find free parking at the hotel, and planned to walk or take a bus to the 4th of July fireworks. However, between the distance and incredible hills, we thought better and got a taxi, which the manager contacted for us quickly. We noticed that many tourists get shuttles from here to New York. While the street itself is not too tourist-friendly, there is a Wendy's within walking distance and a Taco Bell a short drive away. We found the bed to be comfortable and the hotel quiet. The wireless worked fine. We were quite satisfied with our experience and would recommend to others. My only recommendations would be to 1) freshen up the rooms so they don't smell musty 2) add a small table to the living room area so that people who use the fridge and microwave can sit there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fivemile13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    158
    64
    32
    31
See reviews for
160
74
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
st.bruno, quebec, canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

My family and I recently returned from a five day stay at this hotel. The area of New Jersey that it is located in is quite awful, but very close to the Lincoln tunnel and therefore, NYC. The rooms are clean and large. The breakfast is varied, plentiful, items replaced quickly. Breakfast runs from 6am to 10am, no need to get up with the birds in order to eat. If a breakfast item runs out, they replace it, immediately. Not so in other hotels with complimentary continental breakfast. The desk staff are super. Many helpful hints on visiting such a large city. But the best part has to be the shuttle bus. $7 one way per person or $12 return. Drop off and pick up point in Time Square, frequently day and night. What could be better. A cab will run you $45 - $50 plus the toll for the tunnel. If the shuttle is late, remember - the traffic is an experience in itself. All in all - recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snowbird57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge, IA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The only real problem we had was that the shower didn't really function well in either of our rooms. Literally it was either very hot or very cold. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good. The location is convenient but it's in a kind of run down industrial area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltime110701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I came to this hotel with a 35 ft bus based on the hotel's website stating Bus Parking. Bus parking is ok if you have your Passengers staying in the hotel. If not, $40 per night extra for the bus and you must get front desk to cordon off parking spots if you have to be in and out like I had to since my passengers stayed in Manhattan.
Check in was smooth and handled by a very nice lady whose name I can't remember. Room was clean with a few spots of wear and tear. Cleanliness was great overall. Comp breakfast was ok.
The hotel has an outside shuttle service that will take you to Manhattan midtown in the morning and not return until after PM rush hour. I was not able to work with that schedule. Had to cab it to Hoboken for about a $20 each way flat rate to the PATH station to get into WTC stop, Greenwich Village stops then to Penn Station. That service is $1.75 each way and you can get a Metro Card at the PATH station that can be used on PATH and NYC subways. Wish hotel had a shuttle that can run to Hoboken. The Cake Boss' bakery Carlo's is near that PATH Stop and the line is crazy busy. About 2 blocks long, so get there early in the AM.
My only other gripes is that there is only 1 elevator in that hotel. Parents please don't let your kids play with the elevator. TV is Satellite and it can get quirky at times. Sadly there is no pool here. Too small of a property for one. Great Exercise room. Would recommend overall.
There is a restaurant called LaFusta next door to hotel. Great Argentinian restaurant. See separate reveiw.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguinlimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2011

A clean and comfortable hotel. Breakfast included was good. We drove about 6 or 7 minutes to Secaucus Junction to take the train into the city.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2011_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My family stayed at the Comfort Suites North Bergen for a one-week school break, seeking primarily a comfortable "jumping-off point" from which to explore New York City. This was a driving vacation, and we needed to avoid the price of parking in New York City itself ($20 an hour, we discovered). Parking is free at the Comfort Suites, but that was just the beginning of the value. We selected an efficiency suite, and found the room spacious, comfortable and clean. The continental breakfast was provided in a comfortably large dining area, and offered the usual reliable range of breakfast items we've enjoyed at many Comfort Suites. The fitness area had fully functioning cardio and weight machines.

Exploring New York City requires getting across the Hudson River. Using a vehicle for that purpose requires a cash-stuffed briefcase to cover bridge tolls and parking. The hotel shuttle, while inexpensive, only operates at certain times that don't extend late enough to return from an evening Broadway show. We found a much more economical and convenient approach driving to the multi-level parking garage adjoining the Journal Square PATH station. The daily rate there is $8. PATH trains run from that station to midtown New York in about 20 minutes for $1.75 per rider. The trains run late, leaving plenty of time to return from a Broadway show or other night out. Following the route between the hotel and Journal Square does require careful attention to a GPS or printed route directions — it's not a straight line — but it's worth the trouble.

The hotel's neighbourhood is an unadorned industrial area, but that doesn't mean all trips have to be escapes to New York. More pleasant neighbourhoods are short drives away. The Plaza at the Meadows shopping centre in Secaucus is a 4 minute drive. We also made a few 10-minute trips to Carlo's Bakery in Hoboken (home of TLC's Cake Boss), to obtain the crumb cake and other delicacies (only one of these trips to Carlo's was successful — the others we cut short when sighting a two-block line-up to get in — if you go, arrive by 7AM). Newport Centre Mall is only about 3 minutes beyond Carlo's, and 5 minutes beyond that departs one of the tours of Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty.

There were a few annoyances that kept this hotel from hitting the "Excellent" rating: first, one would expect an "efficiency" to be equipped with plates, utensils, pots and pans, but the cupboards were bare. A promise from the front desk to remedy this never materialized (we made do with paper/plastic supplies from the local Walmart, but never could use the stove). Second, the front desk staff, while very friendly, seemed ill-equipped to handle some basics like advice on getting around, or having change on hand for the laundry machines. Third, the wireless was rather unreliable (but free). Finally (a pet peeve): when the breakfast is posted to end at 10AM, staff should not start removing items at 9:45.

These were minimal annoyances we easily overcame and I think the hotel can easily overcome them too. When Checkout time arrived, we got an unusually nice surprise: almost no additional taxes. I've seen taxes on New York hotel rooms add 30% to 50% to the price of the room, so when my bill at the Comfort Suites came out to pretty much the rate I booked, I left with an even bigger smile. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nr.6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband & I travel A LOT and we are not picky about hotels-its just a place to sleep! Saw reviews about this one & thought it would be a good value...
IT WASN'T.
Pros:
1) price (anything less than $200 seems like a bargain around NYC these days!)
2) Free Wifi + computer access in lobby
3) breakfast was a good start to the day..yogurt, cereal, waffles, bagels, eggs, ham (sandwich meat?), etc
CONS:
1) Location. Sketchy, at best. Might be OK if you had a car. Closest public transportation is about .4mi up a steep hill (that my rather active grandparents chose to pay a $10 taxi to drive them to the stop rather than brave the hill!). Maybe 2 restaurants within walking distance..not much else to do.
2) ANTS IN THE ROOM on our 2nd day!!! Called the front desk @ 7:42pm & they said they "had something to spray them with but nobody else working now that could spray ants..someone could come spray when they arrived @ 9:45pm"! WTF!?!?
Yes, we also found ants in our BED too.
3) Noise- Tonnelle is a BUSY road..almost appears to be an interstate of sorts?

Bottom line is spend a little extra $$ and stay elsewhere! The money spent on transportation alone could've afforded us MUCH better MUCH closer to NYC..this was one hotel where I found it difficult to "look on the bright side"..as there weren't many...except housekeeping gave us extra shampoo,which was nice! :-)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JmeMac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Bergen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Bergen
627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
690 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
641 reviews
3.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Property: Quality Suites
Address: 1200 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-1519 (Formerly Comfort Suites North Bergen)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing