We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I took my family to visit new York City last year for a family vacation. The Hotel was just outside New York and was extremely convenient for us to go back and forth to New York.
I have to admit that I saw several reviews that were disturbing as to the hospitality of the Holiday inn family. Some of the reviews had pictures of the walls falling apart and the staff not taking care of the hoteI. However, I usually travel on a weekly basis and always stay at the Holiday Inns in other places. So, when I saw the disturbing reviews I decided to experience this Holiday Inn in North Bergen, New Jersey and see if those pictures and the words were true in the review.
As usual, the hotel was very clean, the people at the hotel were extremely polite and the managers were very courtious.
The hotel is located about 20 minutes from the New Jersey Airport in Newark. We took the bus to the central station and then took another bus two blocks from the hotel and only had to pay about 3 dollars per person instead of 80.00 taxi cab.
To go to New York, we paid 4 dollars one way. All we had to do was go to the street and wait for a bus. The buses arrived every 5 minutes 24 hours a day.
To make this story short, please go to this hotel. The staff is absolutely ready to please you and to serve you. The hotel is clean and they serve free breakfast every day. From San Diego California. Ismael

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ismael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 573 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we visited New York. We were a family of four, so we needed to find something affordable, and unfortunately it would have been extremely costly for us to stay in Manhattan.

The hotel is clean, and is a very standard looking Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were good, clean and modern. The surrounds are not great looking as it seems like an industrial area around there, but we only slept at the hotel and every day we went in to New York city.

The hotel has an outsourced shuttle company that you can use, it leaves every hour to Times Square, however the earliest shuttle back is at 7pm from Times Square. In September 2013 the cost of the shuttle was $4/person each way, and $7/person if you bought a return ticket.

The hotel staff were very unfriendly and very unhelpful. I would think twice about returning to this hotel, but that is only because of the unfriendly and rude staff members. Everything else about the hotel was OK.

Beware of the taxi cab drivers from the airport, ensure you understand the cost up front as we were conned on more occasion into paying more than we needed to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear LizaAnn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to read your positive feedback about our modern, clean and comfortable room accommodation. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to our staff services. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments has been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take corrective actions to improve our guest experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here AGAIN first week December because we had a decent stay same location January 2013 (see my review), but doubt we would ever again! Checked in and desk people acted as though they couldn't care less if we were there ... Even felt like some language barrier! The hotel had limited guests so WE ASKED about an upgrade given higher level Priority Club status and were told they couldn't! Normally we would never have to ask!!

We get to room and found it was adequately cleaned and got only an apology from desk staff! We should've checked out at that point but trying to be "team player" overlooked! Stayed here 2 nights with plan to go into NYC for 2 nights and leave car at hotel like we did previously!

When we asked front desk about this we were told car couldn't be left, would be towed! We explained we'd done it before (and it was OBVIOUS the hotel wasn't over run with guests making parking an issue) and individual called the "manager" who also refused to let us leave car citing needing parking for guests! never showed up ... Just relayed message via clerk who had limited customer service skills (we're not stupid .. You can't always give customer what they want but it's how you deliver the message)!

We left because we knew if we left car they'd tow it (hateful people)! Ended up parking at water taxi location and it worked out great!!

Customer service and cleanliness has hit bottom at this location! Hate I have a positive review 11 months prior but SOMETHING HAS CHANGED since then and not for the better!


W

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Peggy K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the policies of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We drove from Montreal and had hoped to stay here a few nights while visiting NYC. We only stayed 1 night because the room was very average, small, right next to the elevators where it was often noisy. We asked to be changed to a different room, far from elevators, but were told nothing was available although the hotel looked half empty. Evening staff was not very helpful. Breakfast was very plain, bagels, toast, cereal, some fruit, etc. Ample parking. Area where it is located is pretty ugly and looks rather seedy and it is far enough from Manhattan so that it is not practical to return to the hotel during the day. We decided to spend a bit more (about $100 more a day!) and stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mnoelMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear mnoelMontreal,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I'm staying in this hotel now and cant wait to give a bad review.
I had a training in holiday inn secaucus and I was suggested by front desk to stay in north bergen holiday in hotel as the booking was full in secaucus. I agreed because I was told these two hotels are just in walk able distance.
The reality is different they are 2.1 miles apart. I had discussed the whole thing and they offered a free shuttle yesterday night. And today they denied to provide a shuttle service.


Please promise only what you can do and be precise in providing information.

I had to pay 24 dollars each day extra for commuting between these hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debianmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear debianmaster,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Excellent location for this brand hotel. Free shuttle to NYC. Breakfast starts late after 7 am...could be 6 am. Ample parking. Egyptian restaurant just next door. Need to make weird u-turn when coming from north on US-1.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FurmanIlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here for New York Comic-Con and would most likely stay again. The room was a large size, even though it needed some updating. There were water marks on the walls/ceilings but it wasn't really an issue. The room itself was clean which in my opinion is more important. We were only in the room to sleep really! I would suggest using the ferry to get into NYC if staying here. It's a short drive and you'll save a ton of money! The elevators are on the small side though. Our last day there one of two wasn't working but it did appear that someone was trying to remedy the issue.

The breakfast that was offered was pretty great though! We only checked it out one day but they had a wide range of items to pick from.

Everyone we encountered were very nice! Even taking the time to ask us about the Con!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deargoodbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Deargoodbye,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I hope you had a great time at Comic-Con and am glad you liked our great location. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
0 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Bergen
646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#3 of 9 in North Bergen
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel

Address: 2600 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range: $106 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express offers a first-class hotel experience in the heart of the New York Metro area. This North Bergen hotel is minutes from New York University, Continental Airlines Arena, the Empire State Building, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center and Columbia University. The Newark Liberty International Airport is 10 miles away. The hotel is easily accessible from Route 1, Route 9, Route 3 and the New Jersey Turnpike. Newark Penn Station is also close to the hotel. Manhattan and New York City are minutes away via the Lincoln Tunnel, Holland Tunnel and George Washington Bridge. Greenwich Village, Madison Square Garden Arena, Times Square and Broadway are also nearby. This North Bergen hotel features a daily free, hot, Continental breakfast buffet. Additional amenities include free local calls, free weekday newspaper and free coffee. Guests will also enjoy the 24-hour exercise room and outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access in the room and access to copy and fax services. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 20 people for most events and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel Hotel North Bergen
Palace Hotel New Jersey
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln Tunnel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing