We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go 4 miles away to a better Holiday Inn!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in North Bergen
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go 4 miles away to a better Holiday Inn!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here after arriving before our scheduled check-in date of our hotel. We figured it would be decent considering it was a Holiday Inn Express. We checked in late, check in was easy, but as we were coming in to the lobby with our luggage, the manager was instructing the maintenance man to go spray our room with a can of Glade...he quickly quieted when he saw us coming. We all ended up on the elevator together which was awkward. As we got off he realized we were going to the same place and retreated. It didn't really "smell" but had definite water damage to the ceiling (it was a top floor room). The ceiling was stained, the wall paper was just barely hanging on in place after place after place. It was bubbled and falling off several feet from the ceiling. It also appeared to have what could have been mold in the damaged area. If I hadn't been so tired, I would have been down at the desk asking for a new room or refund. I couldn't believe they were just letting it remain that way. The next day we moved about 4 miles down the road to a different Holiday Inn on Plaza Dr - WAY WAY WAY better! Go the extra 4 miles and stay in a much nicer location with MUCH better rooms!
In addition, the breakfast was only free if you could manage to get in. It was packed and not being restocked on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Apparently the top floor has water damage to the ceiling. Don't stay on the top floor!......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImKellyWV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear ImKellyWV1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased you had a good experience at check in. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. Please accept my sincerest apology if the room accommodations you received were not at par with your expectations.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    187
    122
    47
    65
See reviews for
230
95
21
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed there for two nights while visiting New York. The price is much cheaper than New York hotel. The guest room is spacious with 2 queen beds, writing desk, flat screen tv, and big, clean bathroom. The front desk staff are very helpful, answer all our questions. The complementary breakfast are very good, with a lot of hot and cold food choices, but make sure you go there early to get a seat, there a lot of guests eating breakfast before they start their day.You can take the shuttle bus to New York city just on the front door of the hotel, $7.50 for round trip. You can tell the bus driver where to drop you once in New York city. I saw some local people get on and off the bus quite frequently. You can get off at the Penn station if you want to connect to different subway. The location of this hotel makes it a good place to stay when visiting New York City. We also wnet to Time Square to get the half price Broadway show ticket, ask for the TKTS ticket booth. After the show round 10:30pm, we have plenty of time to catch the 11:30pm last shuttle bus back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room face the back, so it won't be noisy. Also there is a 24 hours restaurnat called Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights recently and was impressed. Great for a visit to NYC! I saw some supposedly only slightly higher priced rooms in NYC until you check and see it is 1-twin bed in a closet with a shared bathroom in the hallway (what the heck - hotel or flop house for $140 per night with no parking?).

Also, who wants to drive in crazy NYC, pay huge parking fees and tolls, stay in overpriced rooms, etc. when you can park here for free, and take a shuttle from the hotel front door that gets you next to Times Square in 20 minutes (even during rush hour) for $7 round-trip? The last return shuttles from NYC are 11:00PM and 11:30PM, perfectly fine for returning from an 8:00PM Broadway show like we did on a Friday night. Not good for early morning partiers.

Breakfast is excellent for the included price. Includes things like sausage, eggs, biscuits, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, muffins, pastries, bagels, toast, waffles, cold cereal, fresh fruit, hot cinnamon rolls, etc. - lots from which to choose.

Also, the hotel seemed more upscale to me - fancier bedding, marble bathroom sink, flat panel TVs, nice lobby, etc. Much better than a 2-star Days Inn or similar.

No views, and if you are a very light sleeper the noise from the street out front might possibly bother you - did not bother us at all though.

And for tourists planning sightseeing, here is some advice: it is possible to see all the following on-foot in NYC in one day (we did): 8:00AM shuttle from hotel ($7 per person round-trip), Times Square, New York Public Library, Empire State Building (including tour to the top), (than take an approx. $12 taxi to South Manhattan), 9-11 Memorial (make advance reservations), Freedom Tower, Trinity Church, Wall Street, New York Stock Exchange, 1-hour narrated tourist boat from South St. Seaport ($22 per person to see the Brooklyn Bridge, Skyline Views, Battery Park, Ellis Island, Statue of Liberty, Governor’s Island, etc. from the boat), (then take an approx. $18 taxi ride to Central Park South), Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center/NBC Studios, Carnegie Hall, 8:00PM Broadway show, 11:00PM return shuttle. Do not purchase a hop-on/hop-off tourist bus deal unless you have a lot of time to waste and want to spend much more than taxicabs.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Marc I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I wanted to start off by saying I would recommend this hotel for travellers who are driving, looking for a cheaper alernative to Manhattan island, and are only interesting in visiting NYC during the day. If you want to have the bar experience, than stay on Manhattan island as the shuttle stops running at 11:30pm.

Good things -- The hotel is definitely a more affordable option, it's clean, and the hotel offers free internet access, free parking, a good hearty complimentary breakfast, friendly staff, cheap ($3.50/person/way) shuttle bus to Times Square that runs frequently and only takes about 20 minutes to get there. The rooms are pretty decent, and perfect if you are just looking at is as a place to rest your head at night.

Two things to be cautious about. 1) The shuttle bus is a pain in the butt. In the three days we were there, it never once left on time. Even if they have only one seat available, they will still wait 30 minutes until someone can fill it up. 2) As mentioned before, if you want to enjoy the night life, than you should be aware that the shuttle stops running at 11:30pm. However, if you are on a family trip and plan on doing daytime activities than this wont be a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kcarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Kcarte,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I'm pleased to hear you like your room accommodation, amenities and felt you received a good value for your stay. We are sorry the service you received from our shuttle hotel staff was less than satisfactory. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel room was dirty. My 3 year old daughter walked around barefooted on the carpet about 15 minutes before I told her to put her shoes on and her soles were already black with dirt. The bathroom smelled of damp and had damp patches in the shower. The towels did not smell clean at all and smelt of dust. One of them reeked of a vinegar type of smell. All the cleaners seemed to do was tidy the beds and towels and replace the soap. They didn't even bother to empty out the bin even when it was clearly full! Many of the tv channels didn't work and the wifi was very slow when it did work. The breakfast was okay at best. The best thing was the shuttle to New York offered by a third party company and even that wasn't great as the driver obviously didn't much care for the comfort of the passengers and it was slightly overpriced at 35 dollars for 5 people. Overall, the stay was quite poor especiabecame cause this is a holiday inn hotel and their hotels are usually much much nicer.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at Holiday Inn, It was so good and up to the standards. The location is good to go to New York.Convinent shuttle, bus service to anywhere. The breakfast was included and it was good. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The only thing was it had very few outlets to charge things.

Room Tip: very good to stay with family or just two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simbalala123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
124 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Overall, as others have said, this Holiday Inn isn't quite up to the standard which I've come to expect from remodeled Holiday Inn Hotels.It does feel a little old and in need of a freshening up. Having said that, I found the front desk staff helpful, while our room was spacious with comfortable beds, and a particularly spacious bathroom. The breakfast was filling, and well stocked and pretty much the same wide selection which has become standard in most updated Holiday Inns. Despite how busy the hotel was during our visit, there was plenty of seating - particularly when hotel guests were considerate of others waiting for a table. I had the opportunity to enjoy the hotel pool and despite the hotel and pool backing onto a nearby recycling depot, no noticeable smell was apparent and the pool was well kept with plenty of lounge chairs surrounding the pool.The shuttle to New York was clearly advertised and the schedule easy to follow. At $3.50 each for the 20-25 minute shuttle, this shuttle was money well spent ! Dropping us off a few blocks from Times Square, we found the service very handy, although the drivers were a little rough around the edges, with customer service and friendliness clearly not part of the job requirement. The shuttle's last return run to the hotel is 1100 pm. Parking at this hotel is free, and the lot well lit. Biggest complaints about this hotel was how noisy the hallway was, as if we didn"t even have a door on our room, while it is not in close proximity to many eating options. This hotel is not in a location where guests wander the neighbourhood at night. Stay close to the hotel and you'll be fine. . .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSeekerRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.1 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#3 of 8 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites North Bergen
Comfort Suites North Bergen
#2 of 8 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER NYC Gateway Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel

Property: Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
Address: 2600 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express offers a first-class hotel experience in the heart of the New York Metro area. This North Bergen hotel is minutes from New York University, Continental Airlines Arena, the Empire State Building, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center and Columbia University. The Newark Liberty International Airport is 10 miles away. The hotel is easily accessible from Route 1, Route 9, Route 3 and the New Jersey Turnpike. Newark Penn Station is also close to the hotel. Manhattan and New York City are minutes away via the Lincoln Tunnel, Holland Tunnel and George Washington Bridge. Greenwich Village, Madison Square Garden Arena, Times Square and Broadway are also nearby. This North Bergen hotel features a daily free, hot, Continental breakfast buffet. Additional amenities include free local calls, free weekday newspaper and free coffee. Guests will also enjoy the 24-hour exercise room and outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access in the room and access to copy and fax services. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 20 people for most events and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel Hotel North Bergen
Palace Hotel New Jersey
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln Tunnel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing