We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place was ok. Nothing to brag about.!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Reviewed December 2, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Nova S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank A Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hi
This was my 5th time to New York,this time i went for Wresltlemania at the met-life in April.This was by far the best location i have ever been to go visit new york.There was a shuttle that left right at the front door of the hotel and drops you off right in the center of Manhattan for only 3$The rooms were very nice and clean.The hotel is located 5 mins walk from a shopping center and right in the back of the hotel there is a sonic and toysrus.Front desk was very helpful.And i got the room for 72$ per night!
If i go back to New York i will certainly go back to Super8 north bergen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goonieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was a last minute trip that luckily my boss was able to get me a room at. Brand new building and was a great stay. Only issue was no hot water. When i called down was told to let it run for 15 mins - as a Maintenance Manager that didn't sound right. Advised them to check their hot water heater. Got warm at best 30 mins later. Poor bathroom design also.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you visit the NYC and you are low on budget, don't bother to stay in hotels in Chelsea, SoHo, Chinatown etc. This hotel is the best fit for you.

Positives: Free wi-fi. It was easy to access Manhattan from the hotel, there are dollar vans that operate frequently between Union City and New York. It takes around 15 minutes to commute to the Central Park. Also there are outlets in the Union City which are also in 15 minutes distance by bus. Price is rather low compared to Manhattan hotels. Even the most awful hotels in Manhattan are more expensive than this hotel.

Negatives: The breakfast room is really small, at most 8 people can eat at a time and they all eat on bar seats. Also there are only a few items served in breakfast. The only protein foods that you can consume there are (very hard boiled) eggs and milk. In addition, eggs were long waited so that their yolks were black. With lots of pastries, syrups, waffles and other sweets it is impossible to feel energetic during the day. You should start the day with protein foods so that you feel energetic and your whole day would be better. Another unpleasant thing about the hotel is that they don't care about you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed there on our trip to visit NYC. The room was clean and the staff, friendly. The hotel is close to a pretty busy road, to say the least, but the noise was not enough to wake someone up (though rush hour was loud enough to keep someone from going back to sleep). But if you plan on leaving early to visit NYC, traffic is not a problem.
The shuttle, and its really affordable price, was one of the main reason we chose this hotel. Couldn't be easier to find to leave the hotel (just wait for one to stop in front of the hotel, if there isn't one waiting already), but knowing where to get off when you come back is trickier. After using the shuttle for four days, we still weren't sure where we were supposed to get off or how to let the driver know we wanted off. But the drivers were always understanding and helpful and we managed to find our way to the hotel every time. The downside of the shuttle, which we didn't fully realize until our first day in NYC, is that, unless you want to pay an extra 6$ per day per person, you can't really come back to the hotel (to rest, eat, change or whatever) and go back to NYC later. I understand that might not be an issue for most people, but for people travelling with young kids or older or disabled people, it might be worth considering paying that extra 40-60$ for a room in NYC that'll be easier to access throughout the day.
The only other disappointment we had was the breakfast in the lobby. We stopped to grab something to eat on our way to the train station on our last day and we didn't find much. The only thing we found that we could realistically bring with us on the bus was a donut... which isn't much of a breakfast, in my opinion. But there are so many great places to have breakfast in NYC itself that it didn't bother us to grab something there (for a couple extra dollars).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naika900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.1 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Bergen
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#3 of 9 in North Bergen
386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
732 reviews
2.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area

Address: 2800 Columbia Ave, 495 East & Lincoln Tunnel Rd, North Bergen, NJ 07047-2217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range: $88 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
Super Eight North Bergen
North Bergen Super 8
North Bergen Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing