We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to accept even with NY rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not even like one of the nicer newer or remodeled Super 8s the high rates of NYC area accentuate thinking, "I'm paying this for this?" Hard bed, flat pillow, near 2 noisy and busy roads.

At least it is along the route for the bus into Manhattan.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fillmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Alec N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently traveled to New York City. I am a working dentist with a lot of overhead and very, very, very little income due to the govt laws and very cheap insurance payments. Your Super 8 was just the ticket for me and my family.
Tjyhanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharry_13, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hello Sir,
Our staff at North Bergen Super 8 would like to thank you for the opportunity to have you stay with us. We were delighted for the good words of your stay, and we were also pleased that the price worked for you and your family.
We do hope your trip was wonderful.

Best regards,
North Bergen ,
Super 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I drove by this hotel so many times in my childhood headed to the Lincoln tunnel when it was a "day rate" dive. I stayed there July 4th so I didn't have to deal with after fireworks gridlock.
The hotel was very clean and well managed. My only complaint was that the mattress in room 117 was l little hard. Otherwise a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseyjeffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharry_13, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hello,
North Bergen staff were delighted to have you stay with us. Now that you know sometimes It's worth taking chances, and because of that we were lucky to have you here.
I'm sorry you felt the bed was a bit hard, but It's a requirement from Wyndham that we have to follow. I do hope this will not prevent you from staying with us If you are in the area.

Best regards,
North Bergen,
Super 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The accommodation itself was reasonable and quite clean. Breakfast is simple but it does the job, don't go all mad when you can't sit, take it to your room instead. The only minor is that our room was a smoking room. I am used to shabby rooms and hostels when i travel, so for the money spend, this was a very nice accommodation only a little bus drive from Manhattan.
The accommodation is next to a busy road. We stayed in room 106, which is halfway down the accommodation and we had little to none discomfort from the cars driving by. The A/C made more noise, gladly we didn't needed it
The staff is OK, i haven't talked a lot with them so i'm in no position to really rate them.
The location: next to a busy road in union city, New Jersey. Approx 15-20 min with the shuttle-bus which left in front of the doors from the (m)/(h)otel and stopped almost next to times sq. It leaves at the Port Authority Bus-terminal at GATE 51, which is located somewhere downstairs (we had some trouble figuring out where this was). The stop at the hotel is just after you see the Toys-R-Us, go down the road passing the drive-through and you'll see it at your left side.

Room Tip: Placed next to a busy road so rooms further away are obviously quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Stobbemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.1 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Bergen
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#3 of 9 in North Bergen
388 reviews
1 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
735 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Meadowlands
Rodeway Inn Meadowlands
#14 of 15 in Secaucus
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area

Address: 2800 Columbia Ave, 495 East & Lincoln Tunnel Rd, North Bergen, NJ 07047-2217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range: $82 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
Super Eight North Bergen
North Bergen Super 8
North Bergen Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing