We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The Waldorf, but an affordable option for visiting NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in North Bergen
West Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not The Waldorf, but an affordable option for visiting NYC”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I did some research and settled on the Super 8 in North Bergen, N.J. for our visit to NYC. First and foremost, use a GPS to get there, it can be a bit tricky. There is an independent shuttle service that will pick you up infront of the hotel and drop you in Manhatten for $3.00 each way. The breakfast does not include fruit, so bring your own. There is a very nice supermarket, Pizza Hut, IHOP located about 15 minutes walking time, forget driving around. The rooms are a bit small, but very clean and modern, not the nicest neighborhood, but again, it's not the Waldorf. I would stay there again if visiting NYC.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maine-Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    452
    303
    88
    103
See reviews for
410
323
54
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to families (especially if there are small children). The motel is located right off of a major highway. The neighborhood is not clean and most not be safe. Why? The staff front desk staff is behind a bullet proof glass. This makes some sense since because they are positioned on a major highway. There is a new building. I highly recommend requesting the new building. The rooms are clean and free of noise.
Positive: Near NY … Bus ride for $3 (one way), just flag down the bus and it will stop in front of the hotel. Note: The bus must be caught in the Port Authority of NY and you must ask the driver to drop you off at Toys R Us.
Helpful: It is really helpful to know a little Spanish.

Room Tip: The newer building! Note: You will have to walk up steps to get into the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Recey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the shuttle into the city - we never had to wait more than 10 min for it to arrive at the hotel and it was always waiting for us at the port authority when we took it back (likely because we always took the last bus back at midnight). $3 trip both ways was affordable for 3 days in and out of the city and the trip only ever took about 15min - couldn't believe it when we were dropped off a block from Times Square. Walking the short distance down the hill from the drop off point back to the hotel, we weren't worried about safety at all. The front desk staff were helpful - especially when we forgot something back in the room after check out. Breakfast was satisfying enough to get us through til mid afternoon - breakfast room was a little on the small side so we would just grab our food and head back to the room. The room itself was clean, the fridge and microwave were pluses!! Very happy with this Super 8!!

Room Tip: Make sure to specify smoking or non-smoking - I didn't realize I didn't specify and we got n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holiday4js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson, qc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a great choise for a NYC visit. Easy and affordable shuttle to Time square ($3.00 each) and runs every 20 Minutes from the door, drop off is 1 block from the hotel. Free breakfast and parking and wi-fi a +. & minute drive to Carlos bakery (no one at 8 am). Supermarket and liquore store 1 block away from hotel.

suggest this one to anyone!

Room Tip: room in the second build quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Your best option on a NYC trip, if you're on a budget and/or if you don't want parking/car hassles. Nothing fancy, but clean, comfortable rooms with all the amenities one normally requests. Free wi-fi internet too !

Even if it's close to the highway, you don't hear it at night. Though we heard a baby next door crying. I always bring ear plugs, even in fancy hotels, so that's my advice to you if you don't want to be bothered.

There's an IHOP restaurant at a walking distance of 10 minutes that I recommend. There's a Sonic fast-food right next to the motel too, but I don't know how it is.

Straight forward custommer service, it's true. Though I think I prefer that instead of a faked : "Hi ! Welcome to Super 8 ! What a lovely day ! How are you today ? We're so thrilled to have you here !" etc., etc.

Never waited more than 5 minutes for the 3$ shuttle to 40th/8th and there were alway buses ready to depart from gate 51 at Penn Station. Don't expect a limo service : you'll get a bumpy ride (in sometimes beat up bus) with a driver that'll probably be distant/grumpy. They're there only to get the ride done and they do so. Expect a worker bus, not a tourist bus too. It's mainly used by residents of NJ working in NYC. The 5 minute walk to the motel, on the way back isn't too bad if the weather is OK. They do depend on traffic, so expect a 15-30 minute ride usually. It's your responsability to try to get to and from NYC outside of rush hours.

Room Tip: Building B is more like a hotel, you don't have to get out of the building to reach the breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathieu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Super 8 for 4 nights in June 2011. We selected this hotel since it was pretty cheap compared to other hotels in Manhattan and some reviews said it only took about 20 min to take the bus over to Manhattan.

We were overall happy with the hotel itself. We booked the room in about 3 months beforehand and maybe that's why we got such and excellent room. There was a big screen TV, huge bed and small fridge. The showers were good too.
Our room was on the top floor, kind of in the middle and the door was facing the big rock wall. That's probably why we couldn't hear the traffic from the big road.

The breakfast wasn't really that fancy, but you could get a boiled egg, donuts and make your own waffle.

The only thing I can complain about was how much time it took to get to Manhattan. Usually was about 40 min and once it took 1 hour, but I guess it always depends on the traffic. Also when we went one night to a club it cost like 50 bucks to take an taxi to the hotel, but there was no other way possible since the bus and the trains had stopped working for the night.

Room Tip: Less noise if your room faces the rock wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonadogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

King size bed was great. Can fit for about 2 adults, and 1 kid. Frig and microwave is great, take out order was convenient, shuttle was convenient (except for the drop-off location), breakfast was just okay (except no fruits), the commercial installed toilet flushes the best out of any hotels I had been (remember to close your lid), it's updated and clean and overall, I felt safe within the 1 week stay (Dec. 17-24, 2011).

North Bergen, NJ is not bad since it's kind of close to NYC. Honestly, if you book your hotel way early to get the best rates right in NYC, you're extremely lucky. This way, you don't have to spend that extra $3 shuttle from this hotel because you'll most likely spend more money on the NYC transportation. Transportation is sure is faster than LA, Cali that's for sure.

TIPS:
If you're staying for about 7 days or taking the NY subway/buses a lot, please get the 7 day unlimited ride for $29. Or the Pay-Per-Ride Metro Card. Here's the info. site: http://www.mta.info/metrocard/mcgtreng.htm (we REALLY regret it and adds up the $$$+NJ's shuttle).

Buy your fruits and gallons of drinking water in Shop Rite Supermarket. The free breakfast doesn't come with fruits. I needed some raw fruits, and jams don't count at all.

If you forget your toothpaste, toothbrush (I think also given), didn't carry your razer, and shaving cream (a little sealed sample), they have it for free. Not all hotels have this. Thank you Super 8! Everyone of us can't carry razers in our carry-ons into the airplanes (since we brought our mini roller carry-ons).

For carry-ons, you MUST get the exact size or less and not over stuff it. Flew to the small Newark, NJ airport. Some airline companies (i.e. American) will check your size!!! This one guy after me had to pay for his because his was slightly bigger than the limit.

So you're in a rush to get your tourist-y on. Wake up in the early morning if you want to make your waffles. After 9 a.m., there might be a line.

You want to mail packages to the hotel? Sure! Make sure you make a note the dates you're staying/arriving on the package, guest name, hotel name, etc. The staffs were SUPER helpful. I had my pepper spray and other packages mailed here. IMPORTANT: Companies aren't allow to mail pepper sprays in NY.

Elevators? Nope. I didn't see any that would/should be close and convenient. People with wheelchairs, don't bother at all. The bathrooms aren't big enough for wheelchairs. This building is pretty old.

This hotel is pretty much bang for your bucks overall.

Room Tip: Staying in this hotel, ask them if you could stay in building B (if you're depending on the publ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LLSoCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.1 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#4 of 8 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#3 of 8 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
2.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.1 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area

Property: Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area
Address: 2800 Columbia Ave, 495 East & Lincoln Tunnel Rd, North Bergen, NJ 07047-2217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
Super Eight North Bergen
North Bergen Super 8
North Bergen Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing