We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. The online website did justice to your B and B”
Review of Wooden Duck B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wooden Duck B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Passaic, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent. The online website did justice to your B and B”
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Absolutely gorgeous. Perfect spot to get away from the busy city and noise. Pitch black at night; makes for a cozy night in. Wonderful fresh air. Short drive away from the convenient down town area

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navarrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    22
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
52
264
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans La
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Beautiful property---great hosts--wonderful rooms---such comfy beds---and super breakfasts!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmaNewOrleansLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The Wooden Duck has always been an incomparably comfortable place to stay; but since Beth & Karl Krummel took over the proprietorship about five years ago, it is even more inviting. The rooms and suites are cozy and well-appointed but without the ambient frou-frou so characteristic of many B & Bs. Beth and Karl are the perfect hosts, always willing to engage in spirited conversation or to recommend restaurants or sight-seeing possibilities in the area. And Beth's incredibly delicious and generous country breakfasts are always a highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtfulDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Our room was spacious & comfortable. The entire house was beautifully decorated and nothing was 'off limits" to the guests. The wooded location was pastoral. We enjoyed the frequent visits from the deer. After a long day of bike riding the beautiful pool was a wonderful bonus. Our hosts were so accomodating that we felt bad when it came time to leave. The breakfasts were of "5-star" quality and I am disappointed that we failed to take advantage of the "botomless cookie jar" during our stay.
Bike trails that were the purpose of our vacation were VERY close to the Wooden Duck.
Our hosts also did a wonderful job of recommending places for a good meal at local eateries.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragonDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We had a spacious room that was clean, comfortable, cozy. Owner Beth and Karl were wonderful hosts and cooked scrumptious breakfasts. Small pool was an added plus; good for a dip since it was so hot. Location in northern NJ is good if you have an event going on in the area or you like to do outdoorsy things in the neighboring parks. Near antique shops and local minor league baseball stadium.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suechinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was our first time at a B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We highly recommend The Wooden Duck. It far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbanks29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2010

When traveling on business, I always stay at The Wooden Duck Bed and Breakfast. The accommodations are clean, safe, and in a wonderful location surrounded by nature. A wonderful breakfast is served each morning. Beth and Karl are friendly and always helpful in dinner suggestions. I've discovered great restaurants with their guidance. It's definitely better than staying at a chain hotel!

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travelertristate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
54 reviews
13.6 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
8.1 mi away
Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Duck B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Duck B&B

Property: Wooden Duck B&B
Address: 140 Goodale Rd, Newton, NJ 07860-2788
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooden Duck B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rolling hills of rural Sussex County, New Jersey, The Wooden Duck Bed & Breakfast is an oasis of country pleasures. From the moment guests turn onto the quiet lane and winding drive leading to the inn, they are transported into a world of natural beauty and gracious hospitality. A hearty country breakfast is served in the dining room each morning, accompanied by juice, milk, and hot coffee or tea. The menu varies daily and begins with home-baked tea bread, coffee cake, or muffins, depending on the day. Fruit and breakfast meat, as well as French toast, pancakes, or a delectable egg casserole, complete the offering. Complimentary coffee, tea, soda, snacks, trail mix, and homemade chocolate chip cookies are also available anytime in the guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wooden Duck B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing