We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home...but better.”
Review of Wooden Duck B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wooden Duck B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home...but better.”
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We had a spacious room that was clean, comfortable, cozy. Owner Beth and Karl were wonderful hosts and cooked scrumptious breakfasts. Small pool was an added plus; good for a dip since it was so hot. Location in northern NJ is good if you have an event going on in the area or you like to do outdoorsy things in the neighboring parks. Near antique shops and local minor league baseball stadium.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suechinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    22
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
54
265
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was our first time at a B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We highly recommend The Wooden Duck. It far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbanks29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2010

When traveling on business, I always stay at The Wooden Duck Bed and Breakfast. The accommodations are clean, safe, and in a wonderful location surrounded by nature. A wonderful breakfast is served each morning. Beth and Karl are friendly and always helpful in dinner suggestions. I've discovered great restaurants with their guidance. It's definitely better than staying at a chain hotel!

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travelertristate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The owners were very friendly and informative about the features of the inn the and area restaurants. We wish we had more time to stay in this quiet, picturesque part of New Jersey. The room was spacious, beds very comfortable, with direct tv, movies, bumper pool, swimming pool, and games available to use. As we found on our trip, not all B&Bs are as they appear in their photos, this one was immaculately clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was terrific with home baked muffins and french toast casserole, sausage, and the best fresh fruit salad of our vacation. We highly recommend it! Close to the Poconos and N.Y.C.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mlsharen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Karl and Beth made us feel at home. The breakfasts are fabulous. The Wooden Duck is a special place where there is a balance between being social and having solitude. The rooms are elegant and cozy at the same time. We highly recommend this B and B to anyone who needs to get away from the busy side of life. The Kittatiny State Park is nearby where we hiked and relaxed. The Newton area has some nice shops and excellent restaurants. We ate at Andres and loved it .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The tragic death of my nephew brought myself and my children to the Wooden Duck Inn. My two adult daughters, son-in-law, and teenage son needed to travel to northern New Jersey for attend the services for my nephew/ their cousin. We were, of course, not in a festive vacation mode for our stay; however as soon as we pulled into the driveway of the Wooden Duck Inn I knew I had made a good choice.
The Inn is set in on a beautifully scenic plot of land off a wooded, rural road. The rooms were spacious, yet cozy. The decor throughout the Inn was absolutely georgeous. I so love a rustic, country type decor and the Wooden Duck fit the bill (no pun intended) to a tee.
From the moment we checked in; Beth (the owner) was warm and inviting. She knew the reason for our stay from the conversation we had when I made the reservations and she was very kind and sensitive to our situation.
By the time we returned to the Inn after the wake we were exhausted yet stressed. The soft lighting and mellow music soon relaxed us (the homemade chocolate chip cookies didn't hurt either). The beds were awesome and comfy best night's sleep I've had away from home.
Everything down to the last detail was meticulous.
The next morning, breaksfast was out of this world. Beth dazzled us with her culinary skills. The dining room had a glorious view over the pool and landscape. I'd return just to eat!
Although our stay was necessitated by a sad and tragic event. The atmosphere and charm and mostly Beth's kindness made our situation less stressful.
We will definitely return under happier circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I (we) have stayed at the Wooden Duck several times over the past few years and it has always been a very pleasant and relaxing experience. The rooms are very comfortable, the services and food excellent and the hosts, Beth and Karl, are first rate in every way. It is a beautiful, well-kept Inn, in a lovely, quiet location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudyhornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
54 reviews
13.6 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
4.2 mi away
Tamaracks Country Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Duck B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Duck B&B

Property: Wooden Duck B&B
Address: 140 Goodale Rd, Newton, NJ 07860-2788
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooden Duck B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rolling hills of rural Sussex County, New Jersey, The Wooden Duck Bed & Breakfast is an oasis of country pleasures. From the moment guests turn onto the quiet lane and winding drive leading to the inn, they are transported into a world of natural beauty and gracious hospitality. A hearty country breakfast is served in the dining room each morning, accompanied by juice, milk, and hot coffee or tea. The menu varies daily and begins with home-baked tea bread, coffee cake, or muffins, depending on the day. Fruit and breakfast meat, as well as French toast, pancakes, or a delectable egg casserole, complete the offering. Complimentary coffee, tea, soda, snacks, trail mix, and homemade chocolate chip cookies are also available anytime in the guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Wooden Duck B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing