We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why don't we always do Bed and Breakfasts for Business Trips?”
Review of Wooden Duck B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wooden Duck B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2010

On an impulse (and after reading the tripadvisor reviews), I had my travel agent book me in the Wooden Duck Inn. I had business (and not very pleasant business with a dreaded task ahead) in Newton NJ and I usually stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. This was a great room, with ample parking, on a comfortable bed, in a beautiful and quiet setting. It had an awesome breakfast served (granola and yoghurt parfait; fresh baked bread, fritatta) and excellent coffee. I could be as social or private as desired, due to the various entrances (always a worry at a B&B). There were great touches like an inviting jigsaw puzzle, books and magazines, and my room had a hot tub and fireplace! Awesome. In addition, the hostess recommended (after listening to my preferences and style) two different restaurants and the closest bookstore - all "off the beaten track".

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank life2short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 419 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2010

My husband and I have visited a number of times and each time it has been a lovely, enjoyable experience.

The rooms are immaculate; the setting relaxing and picturesque. The breakfast in the morning is excellent.

The surrounding area has wonderful restaurants; as well as, hiking/biking/ trails with kayaking, and horseback riding practically within walking distance of the Wooden Duck.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmagnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Our stay at the Wooden Duck was very nice. Breakfasts were delicious. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

My husband and I love to try out new B&Bs. We wanted to get away for one night for our anniversary and with a little one at home we didn't want to travel to far from home. This B&B is a wonderful find. It is nestled inside a state park, with gorgeous surroundings. We were greeted by Karl who was so showed us around the place and made us feel right at home. My husband loved the fresh homemade chocolate chip cookies! Our room was absolutely gorgeous, fireplace, two person tub, private balcony you could not ask for more. Not only was the room gorgeous, it was clean and had all the wonderful things you expect in a hotel, not generally a B&B. Right down the Wooden Duck Inn robes. Karl was very helpful with picking somewhere for us to have dinner and for giving us directions. Breakfast the next morning was the best I have ever had in a B&B. Homemade cranberry bread, sautéed bananas and an egg dish that I could eat everyday. Not to mention the show the birds were putting on for us during breakfast. Karl and Beth do an outstanding job of making you feel totally welcomed and at home. We will be back in the summer to try out that fantastic pool!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren6576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed for 4 incredibly relaxing days. The breakfasts were above excellent and the hosts, Beth and Carl, were wonderful. Watching the birds around the feeder just outside the window was great entertainment. The room is fabulous. We stayed in the Golden eye suite and could not be happier. The fireplace and soaking tub were just what we both needed. We look forward to coming back to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

The place was beautiful out in the woods with snow covered trees. Being from Florida we get excited over snow and I have over 200 beautiful pictures from the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitty004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

I've stayed at about 5 B&Bs in my life and I must say this was the best. From the moment we arrived, we felt immediately at home. We were greeted and made to feel welcome by Beth, the owner. Beth helped us with our dinner reservations, gave us a tour of the place which was immaculate and then gave us the privacy we needed and pretty much enjoyed the rest of our stay. The room was beyond comfortable and lovely. The breakfast was spectacular. The nearby towns are great for antiquing and the restaurant selection is very good. I highly recommend The Wooden Duck to anyone who wants to get away for a relaxing and enjoyable weekend. I will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
55 reviews
13.6 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
22.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
680 reviews
8.4 mi away
Whistling Swan Inn
Whistling Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Stanhope
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Duck B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Duck B&B

Address: 140 Goodale Rd, Newton, NJ 07860-2788
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range: $169 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooden Duck B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rolling hills of rural Sussex County, New Jersey, The Wooden Duck Bed & Breakfast is an oasis of country pleasures. From the moment guests turn onto the quiet lane and winding drive leading to the inn, they are transported into a world of natural beauty and gracious hospitality. A hearty country breakfast is served in the dining room each morning, accompanied by juice, milk, and hot coffee or tea. The menu varies daily and begins with home-baked tea bread, coffee cake, or muffins, depending on the day. Fruit and breakfast meat, as well as French toast, pancakes, or a delectable egg casserole, complete the offering. Complimentary coffee, tea, soda, snacks, trail mix, and homemade chocolate chip cookies are also available anytime in the guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wooden Duck B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing