We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute pleasurable experience”
Review of Wooden Duck B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wooden Duck B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute pleasurable experience”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary there and all we can say is WOW ! This is the place for an awesome getaway. Without question the best by far.The area is loaded with good food and spirits and you'll never go hungry between the great breakfast and local places around

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philzy485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    22
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
52
264
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place is a sure winner. They treat you like family - very personable and friendly. The rooms are very nice, the breakfast is fantastic, nice lobby, family room, game room. Lots of details - fireplace, open kitchen w/snacks, beverages, etc. If you are looking for a sterile hotel - go somewhere else. This place is a breath of fresh air. Tim

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IWRA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I wanted to stay in a B&B for our 15 year wedding anniversary. We searched online and found the Wooden Duck. It is a secluded place tucked deep in the country. Thankfully, we made the right choice! Our room was cozy (The Pintail) and noticeably clean. The inn keepers were very attentive and breakfast was fabulous! It was a memorable stay for us and we definitely plan on revisiting the Wooden Duck in the future.

Room Tip: We chose "The Pintail" as our room because it was off to the side of the main house with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Collingswood
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I just spent 2 wonderful days at the Wooden Duck. We think it is one of the best B&B's we've ever been to, and we've visited quite a few! The Inn Keepers, Beth and Karl are warm and friendly, and knowledgeable about their beautiful location. The rooms are clean and cozy and our room even had "mood lighting" to go along with the Jacuzzi tub! The breakfasts were excellent, and Beth went to great trouble to accommodate my many food allergies. The location is bucolic and the wildlife is spectacular. We will definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. The room was extremely clean, breakfast was absolutely delicious, and the staff was very helpful and nice!! I would definitely recommend it to other people. I really liked the fireplace in our room which made it feel very cozy and romantic.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaBessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Karl and Beth truly make you feel welcome and at home from the moment you step through the door. Our room (the Mallard) was very spacious and had everything needed for a most comfortable stay. The breakfast was fantastic with a wonderful view where we watched hummingbirds having their breakfast. The location is so peaceful but you are a short drive to great dining. Antique shops abound as well great biking and hiking trails. We would definitely return for another stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchantville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

just returned from a relaxing stay at the wooden duck. the great location, beautiful home, and attentive and sweet hosts karl and beth made our stay truly memorable! check in was a breeze and beth gave us a great tour of the common areas, amenities, and our room in the carriage house.

positives:
- so clean! our room (old squaw in the carriage house) and the common areas of the wooden duck are kept remarkably clean and well maintained.
- spacious, though we can’t comment on all of the rooms, we had one of the smaller rooms and it was VERY spacious for the two of us. i can only imagine how spacious the deluxe rooms are!
- lots to do to relax! tons of games, puzzles, magazines, and movies available for you to take back to your room.
- pool area is sooo quiet and peaceful!
- breakfast was unreal – so delicious. all the days we stayed there we had grand plans for dinner and we would end up still not being hungry from the hearty breakfast we had!
- remote! this was more remote than we thought it was going to be, which was GREAT - it was sooo peaceful! but there was also plenty nearby!
- soda, water, coffee, tea, cookies, trail mix available for you at any time.
- location is great, close to many major NJ lakes (hopatcong, swartswood) and yummy restaurants (boathouse at swartswood and sheridans are two we tried and enjoyed)!

negatives:
- we wish there was an outside eating area for us to take advantage of at night.
- almost too quiet – which is sometimes a positive sometimes a negative. it was a full house and we almost never heard a peep from anyone.
- our room did not have a mini fridge – though some of the deluxe rooms do. since our room was located outside of the main house, we felt awkward going into the main house.
- we wish there were more two person tables at breakfast. lots of people go to a bed and breakfast to socialize and meet new people – we usually go for the alone time and enjoying each other – including some privacy at breakfast!

our stay at the wooden duck was amazing – we will definitely be returning and look forward to stuffing our faces at breakfast and then relaxing for the rest of the day!! thanks karl and beth for making us feel right at home in your home.

Room Tip: we had the old squaw which was an ecomony room located in the carriage house on the second floor. ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacasRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
54 reviews
13.6 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
8.1 mi away
Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Duck B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Duck B&B

Property: Wooden Duck B&B
Address: 140 Goodale Rd, Newton, NJ 07860-2788
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooden Duck B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rolling hills of rural Sussex County, New Jersey, The Wooden Duck Bed & Breakfast is an oasis of country pleasures. From the moment guests turn onto the quiet lane and winding drive leading to the inn, they are transported into a world of natural beauty and gracious hospitality. A hearty country breakfast is served in the dining room each morning, accompanied by juice, milk, and hot coffee or tea. The menu varies daily and begins with home-baked tea bread, coffee cake, or muffins, depending on the day. Fruit and breakfast meat, as well as French toast, pancakes, or a delectable egg casserole, complete the offering. Complimentary coffee, tea, soda, snacks, trail mix, and homemade chocolate chip cookies are also available anytime in the guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wooden Duck B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing