We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Midweek Getaway for Our Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Wooden Duck B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wooden Duck B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I wanted to say thank you so much for being our hosts for our 4th year wedding anniversary (9 years together!) on 8/8/2012. We are so thankful to have stayed at such a wonderful, relaxing, peaceful and quite romantic B&B. We had such a lovely time-- we plan on returning in the fall for the colors. :) The Harlequin room was incredible- just so beautiful and decked out with so many amenities. I think our favorite though by far was the fireplace. A big special thank you for catering to my gluten allergy-- you went above and beyond with that and I thank you so so much. And finally, a special shout-out to Jim and Trina for their wonderful southern hospitality. The Wooden Duck B&B really truly felt like a home away from home.

-- Chris²
-- Chris & Christina Cavender, Livingston, NJ --

Room Tip: If you have the means, I would recommend booking either of these deluxe rooms. The owner Karl told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavenderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 419 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Every positive comment made in all of the other 5 star reviews are true. "Amazing," "Beautiful," "Serene," and all the other superlatives are completely accurate. Karl and Beth couldn't be lovelier, and they have much to be proud of in this outstanding B&B.

Room Tip: The website is excellent and will help you with all you need to know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritajoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was the first B&B my wife and I stayed in. The thought of being in a big house without the whole hotel security thing going on was a scare for my wife but, thanks to jim and Trina for giving a feeling of security. The place very big and amazingly clean, our room (golden eye) was romantic and classy, It was a great experience and we loved everything about it, especially for Jim and Trina making us feel at home.
Thank you so much...

Room Tip: Golden eye was great with a private balcony and the works..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Everything about our stay was perfect. We felt very welcomed from the minute we walked in the door. The room was clean and nice. The breakfast was amazing! Will definitely go back sometime soon! Thank you Jim and Trina for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorilloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

From the moment I entered the property I immediately relaxed! The Wooded Duck is not only a clean, beautiful Bed and Breakfast, it is an overall serene experience. The pool was wonderful to relax next to during the day, and our balcony and hot tup added extra enjoyment while in the room. The Inn Keepers were warm, friendly and helpful. I already booked my next stay there.

Room Tip: I loved staying in the room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnMarie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was a really great place! I felt like I was in a secluded private place, but only 40 minutes from NYC! Everyone is so friendly and we enjoyed hanging out at the pool and exploring locally.
Very beautiful and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Would never want to leave....beautiful location, awesome rooms and a fabulous breakfast.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful. Harlequin is very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
55 reviews
13.6 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
22.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
679 reviews
8.4 mi away
Whistling Swan Inn
Whistling Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Stanhope
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Duck B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Duck B&B

Address: 140 Goodale Rd, Newton, NJ 07860-2788
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range: $169 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooden Duck B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rolling hills of rural Sussex County, New Jersey, The Wooden Duck Bed & Breakfast is an oasis of country pleasures. From the moment guests turn onto the quiet lane and winding drive leading to the inn, they are transported into a world of natural beauty and gracious hospitality. A hearty country breakfast is served in the dining room each morning, accompanied by juice, milk, and hot coffee or tea. The menu varies daily and begins with home-baked tea bread, coffee cake, or muffins, depending on the day. Fruit and breakfast meat, as well as French toast, pancakes, or a delectable egg casserole, complete the offering. Complimentary coffee, tea, soda, snacks, trail mix, and homemade chocolate chip cookies are also available anytime in the guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wooden Duck B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing