We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice surprise !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We vist relatives often in the Sussex County, NJ area. Believe me when I say there are not many choices. Most are older motels or fancy ski resorts. The Holiday Inn is perfect for us. Easy access to eveything in the area.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. Our room had a refrigerator, microwave and coffemaker. The beds were some of the best we have slept in.
Breakfast was tasty and just what we needed. There are some restaurants ( including a diner ) within a few miles.
Staff was cordial and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 156 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2007

I am having a wedding saturday at a nearby hall in Lafayette and I wanted a nice place for my guests to rest in and sleep in after the reception. I booked 4 rooms at this hotel way back in JANUARY. Online it allowed me to book 4 jacuzzi suites (and charged me for them!) but when I called the hotel directly in MARCH they told me that they actually only have 2 jacuzzi suites and that someone other than myself had the second one! Can you believe that? They said that the other "jacuzzi suites" were just jetted tubs in the bathroom and not realy jacuzzi suites (even though in january I called to make sure, they said they had quite a few jacuzzi suites available). I had a really difficult time communicating with the woman who answered the phone. She was extremely combative and the only option she would offer me was to cancel all the rooms, so I let her. I wanted to make sure that we had enough rooms and that we had them all together so we wouldnt bother the other guests, but this hotel chain doesnt seem to care if you bother other guests. I called Holiday Inn Express guest services at the 800 number and they did little to help the situation (however they did reverse the cancellations). So I called the Wyndham Garden in Mt Olive and for half the price they gave me everything I wanted, with a smile to boot. Needless to say I cancelled all rooms at the Holiday Inn Express. Granted, the wyndham doesnt have jacuzzi suites but their indoor pool is open until 10pm and they have a great bar and restaurant in house that the holiday inn doesnt have so this is a much better choice. This is my second problem with the customer service at the Holiday Inn Express in the past few years, not just Newton, so it must be a training issue with the chain. I WILL SLEEP IN MY CAR BEFORE I EVER SLEEP IN A HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
8  Thank muzebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

Overview: For Thanksgiving each year, we usually have about 17 relatives over to our house. It has gotten to the point where we cannot accommodate everyone in our home or in the nearby bed and breakfast (the little kids have grown to be big kids!). That being the case, I was pleased to learn that a new hotel was built nearby, just eight miles from us. I was a little disappointed when I found out it was a Holiday Inn Express. Before I booked three rooms there, I went to take a look at it. I was quite surprised. My wife and I asked to look a couple of rooms and management was more than happy to show them to us. This hotel was great! Being brand new, everything is top notch. We booked the rooms and awaited the verdict from my relatives. Their verdict: three thumbs up!

Plusses: Location, location, location. Just fifteen minutes from our home. The hotel is just a few months old and the rooms are spacious and the beds high and comfy (my niece and nephews had to be helped onto the bed). Bathrooms were “luxurious.” The breakfast buffet was a big hit with everyone. There are fast food restaurants a really short drive away and an Appleby’s across the parking lot. The staff was very accommodating when I requested (five days before Thanksgiving) to have all three rooms next to each other.

Minuses: Location isn’t the most scenic. Even though the hotel sits high on a hill, it overlooks a couple of strip malls, supermarkets and a Home Depot.

Conclusion: All in all, we highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express if you need to stay Sussex County, New Jersey. There aren’t many other options, but even if there were, we’d still suggest this hotel. And, the price was right.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ENBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

We didn't expect much from this hotel, located next to a Home Depot. However we were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful room, extra high comfy mattress, soft linens and 2 types of pillows on the bed. The bathroom had a spa-like quality (granite and pure white waffle-type shower curtains) and hardly looked like anyone ever used it. I'm not sure when the hotel was built but everthing looked brand new. In fact this room was nicer than the Beverly Hills Hilton room we once had!
The continental breakfast was the usual food but it was constantly restocked by the friendly staff. Cookies at checkin was also a very nice touch. We would definitely recommend this hotel. It was one of the nicest we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cressydoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cab2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
55 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
13 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
687 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
12.2 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta

Address: 8 N Park Dr, Newton, NJ 07860-1449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton
Price Range: $135 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to theHoliday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Newton Sparta. We are located in the heart of Sussex County, NJ and the closet Hotel to Sussex County State Fairgrounds. With location 12 miles north of Rt. 80 And just off Rt. 206, We are ideal for both the business and leisure traveler. We are minutes away from businesses such as Selective Insurance, Thor Labs, Rubber Fab and Newton Memorial Hospital. Guests will enjoy area attractions such as Space Farms, Mountain Creek Ski Resort & Water Park, State Parks, Delaware Water Gap and Lafayette Village.Our guestrooms are 100% smoke free and offer free high-speed Internet, free local long distance phone calling, microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker as well as flat screen TV, movies on demand and free HBO. The hotel features a complimentary business center and fitness room.Start your morning with our hot complimentary Express Start breakfast offering a variety of hot and cold items including our famous world s best cinnamon roll and pancake machine. Stroll down Historical Main Street in Newton and browse unique gift shops and antiques. Enjoy area restaurants ranging from simple fare to gourmet cuisine or just simply walk across our parking lot to our Neighborhood Grill, Applebee's.Whatever brings you to Sussex County, be sure to Stay Smart and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Newton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newton Sparta
Holiday Inn Newton
Newton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing