We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Food In Small Town America”
Review of Andre's Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Andre's Restaurant
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Adams St
Transit: Bus stop on Spring St.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Food In Small Town America”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We went to see a show in Newton and since Andre's was a few doors down we decided to try it. Thankfully we did! Before our appetizer, the chef sent out a cauliflower puree that was to die for. The seafood bisque was spectacular as was the sea scallops. My husband had the New York strip and he couldn't stop talking about how that was one of the best steaks he had ever had. He also loved the house salad that came with the meal because it had the freshest blue cheese dressing. The service was top shelf, the wine I had was excellent, and the restaurant full of character. Andre's is a must if you are in Newton. If we are ever in the neighborhood again, we will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nph24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    14
    2
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in the Hobbit!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very surprised, really very good food, excellent service, nice wine list. Definitely will make sure we get back to Andre's. Not many restaurants in the area anyway, so finding this spot was great. There is a decent sized parking lot behind the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fasttrack61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Some of the best food you will ever eat. I would eat here every day, if I could. Use on street parking or nearby municipal lots.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marvin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardyston Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Dinner with the family - pleasant staff, interesting menu and truly fantastic food. Went on a whim and found ourselves very impressed by the overall experience.

You will quickly forget you are in Newton, NJ - in a good way, though when presented with the check I wondered if somehow I was sitting in Manhattan. ;)

Will definitely return, though likely as a party of two next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“World class food in Newton NJ”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Andre's is our favorite restaurant in the area and one of our all time favorites as well. The food is delicious, presented well and the ingredients are fresh, varied and creative. The classes are a great way to enhance your cooking skills, even if a seasoned cook, in a fun environment while enjoying the food as well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DukeduFromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andre's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing