We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“travelling with students...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“travelling with students...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

we stay in this hotel every year with our students. It is a pretty nice hotel, but needs some tweeking.
the adjoining door between our room and the next was not locked when we checked in. The mirror was dirty. Little things. BUT it is a very comfortable bed and nice breakfast.

Room Tip: lots of student trips use this hotel, ask where they are being housed. Get a different floor or sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aamirabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including items of opportunity. I understand that the noise was an issue during your stay; while we do have additional security and overnight managers available during high traffic periods we certainly do encourage for guests comfort and safety that they contact the front office so we can calm the issue. I apologize that you're comfort was interrupted by other guests and I have shared your review with our security team to ensure that this is not an opportunity in the future. I do hope the next time you return to Newark you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    396
    305
    173
    124
See reviews for
320
267
125
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here after late flight from London Heathrow. Telephoned and front desk was very helpful in directing me to the hotel shuttle which required a bus to a separate location to pick up the hotel shuttle . Nice room, very clean but showing a little age in the bathrooms. Good facilities and good breakfast buffet. Convenient for flying in or out of Newark. I felt that there was also good security at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments and your high recommendation. As you mentioned we are not a luxury property but we do aim to provide our guests with exceptional service and clean and comfortable accommodations so I am very pleased that we were able to accomplish this during your stay. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back and call you our guest once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

There's a huge issue with anything at Newark Airport now that the Airtrain isn't operational. It took us over an hour to get from the shuttle bus (which stops at every terminal) to the hotel shuttle to the hotel. The hotel is in dire need of renovation. Everything is old...The furnishings are dated. The bathrooms aren't up to today's standards. The best part? The toiletries are Crabtree and Evelyn. Shuttle runs every 20 minutes to returning to EWR isn't a problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyraO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and other travelers. We are so sorry about the inconvenience due to Port Authority suspended the AirTrain service. Also, we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the condition of our guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

After a long flight I arrived at night, didn't find the iron (it's supposed to be in each room there), called the front desk and soon somebody brought the iron to me. 15 min later the iron turned out to be not working at all so I called the operator, requested the iron again.
Operator: We don't have any more irons.
Me: The one which you brought to me doesn't work, I really need the iron, please help.
Operator (in cold voice): I got it but we don't have them.
Me: Don't you have them irons in each room here?
Operator: Why don't you relax? (Operator hung up).
Me (on the phone with the front desk): I really need the iron. Someone brought to me the broken one. Besides your operator was rude to me and hung up on me.
Front desk: You know what? You should respect us and then we will respect you!!!
Me: What??? Could you let me know what kind of disrespect you have received from me???
Front desk: Ok. Anyway, do you need us to get you another iron?
Me: Well, I think I feel unhappy here and not just because it's a missing iron here.
Front desk: If you don't like it here you can leave, no problem.
Me: Oh yeah?! Ok, I'm leaving then...
Front desk: Hmm... Don't you want to talk to the manager?
Me: Yep. Put the manager on.
Manager (sounds like the operator who hung up minute ago): How can I help you?
Me: I don't like it here. People are rude to me here. I want to leave.
Manager (in cold voice): You can leave.
Packing my things, leaving, at the door bumping into the bellboy with the iron for me... Tipping him and leaving that beutiful place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikolay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The friendly staff can't quite make up for the deteriorating physical condition of this hotel. The shuttle buses are disgusting, and the hotel itself is showing lots of signs of age. Beds are comfortable, and bathroom supplies OK, but the hotel is beginning to feel old, run-down and not as clean as it could be.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the physical condition of this hotel and shuttle bus. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The kids love the place because the pool, I missed the spa and the pool area is a little bit cold. The staff are so nice and polite. I recommend for other the stars for me is 3 1/2, in good way... ok good ok good

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nelio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and other travelers. I am delighted to hear that you had such wonderful time and you were able to enjoy the pool. I will be sure to share your kind thoughts with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Nice Hotel near EWR airport with free shuttle to and from the airport. The wifi is not free
but since I booked the Hotel at Hotwire I got a good deal. Only 100 USD pr. Night with Tax.
The shuttle runs every 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the great review! I appreciate all of the details. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our shuttle service. We really strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. We hope we will see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Airport and Port Newark
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing