We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty airport location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pretty airport location”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here last week while in NJ on business. The location is real convenient to the airport and the shuttles run timely back and forth. The room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning. It was really good for an airport hotel and we would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSIEGELUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the great review! I appreciate all of the details. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for noticing the helpfulness of the staff. We really strive to exceed our guest’s expectations! I am also glad that you liked the location and we are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    445
    325
    188
    151
See reviews for
363
300
139
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newark, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Tried to book military/government rate at counter and was told that there was no availability, then went into foyer and used there online reservation system and was able to book same room with military rate, was also told by front desk manager that my retired military id card does not make me goverment. I wanted to rip into him, it was like saying that me serving in Iraq wasnt good enough for him to allow ,me do have the same government rate that I have been allowed with my id card since I have been medically retired.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremiah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review! I appreciate all of the details. We are very happy that you liked out hotel. Also, we are sorry that there was a misunderstanding about our hotel policies. Please email me at freddyhou@columbiasussex.com and I will be more than happy to make the reservation for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were very pleased with the DoubleTree. Parking lot gate attendant was very welcoming, check-in was a delight (especially with the complimentary cookie), and the room was very comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located right next to an airport long-term parking lot (Wally Park).

Probably the only downside to this hotel is they do offer long-term parking if you are flying out, but they charge nearly double what you can park elsewhere for. I would really like to see at least a discounted rate for hotel guests at least....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. It is always good to know that location of our hotel was to your like as well as our room and gate staff. We want to create a memorable stay for our guests and it is good to know that we reached this goal during your stay with us. We will be looking forward to your future stays.
Just for your information, we do have a paring and fly package which is including one night stay and 14 days parking. Please call 18668561785 to book this package.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

First, newark airport is really screwed up. Very little concern for traveler. Off site rental car located in seedy dirty location, extremely difficult to find and possibly at time during the weekdays impossible to access. Front desk tried to help with location of car return, incorrect help really messed us up, only made plane due to inbound delay of equipment. Bathroom specifically shower in disrepair. HVAC dirty and questionable. Staff is great very sweet, all of the staff, but the hotel is screaming past due for a refurbishment. Property seems under invested.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
I would like to personally thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark airport and giving us the opportunity to serve you.
I can understand how frustrating the situation must have been for you and I would like to pass my sincere apology for the inconvenience you had to go through, I can assure you this is definitely not how we operate here at the DoubleTree by Hilton.
The Airtrain service at Newark Airport was suspended by local port authority recently. However, We will do our best to help our guest during this inconvenience time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel was clean and the staff was very courteous. The only problem we encountered was that one of the elevators was not working correctly. Luckily no one was on it when the problems occurred. They were out of the complimentary cookies when we checked on them, but they promised to have some ready a little later.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and other travelers. I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy your room. I will be sure to share your kind thoughts with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery County, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This Doubletree was a little outdated. The room and bathroom were clean however the furiture and bathroom fixtutures were worn looking. The bedding was comfortable and what you expect as advertised "Sweet Dreams". The lobby was very nice and all of the staff were wonderful. We were always greeted and welcomed when we entered. After a long day in NYC upon entering I had asked the front desk if they had any bottled water, and although they were out, they had room service deliver an ice bucket with chilled bottled water. Nice touch! When returned on the last night of our four night stay our room had not be cleaned. I called the Care Line and the room was then serviced. I was tired and had to stay in the lobby area while they cleaned. That was a bummer. The restaurant serves decent (good) food for being in the Hotel. There are no other restaurants nearby except one in the Ramada Inn located next to the Doubletree. We had dinner there one night, and were very pleased with the food. I had a sandwich that was piled high with turkey, ham, bacon, cheese, lettuce and tomatos. Many Airline Pilots and flight attendants stay at this hotel. Would I stay here again? Yes- but I would be sure to stay in a room without leaky faucets. Maybe other floors had been updated...however we had requested the top floor. Our room was not on the Hilton Honors floors so maybe those floors were updated. I did mention to the front desk about the faucets and they offered to send someone up however I declined -as it was already late in the evening the night before we checked out. I should have complained earlier in our stay, however I had expected housekeeping would have noted the leaks and had the faucet repaired. I placed hand towlels around the countertop to absorb the water. When leaving we used the free hotel airport shuttle and were very happy with the service. The ariport tram was out of order (thank goodness), so we were dropped off right at the South West airlines entrance.

Room Tip: Although right near the airport there is not the typical noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. I am delighted to hear that you like our staff and shuttle service . I will be sure to share your kind comments with our team. Also, please accept our sincere apology as we failed to 100% meet your expectation. Once we received your comment, we looked into the problem and nailed down for a solution. Please rest assured that this problem will not happen again. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon for another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Marriott at this location was delightful! Courteous staff were more then helpful and always polite. The room is large and clean and the location worked well for me. I would definitely recommend this well appointed hotel as a great place to stay. GPS & MapQuest are a little off with directions. Address is Whippany but hotel is in Hanover. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.7 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated rooms at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. Our hotel is ideally situated next to Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), minutes from downtown Newark, and just 10 miles from NYC. We offer a complimentary shuttle to EWR every 15 minutes for your convenience. Our hotel is the ideal place to stay pre or post-cruise from Cape Liberty Cruise Port – just 7 miles from the hotel. Plan your trip to the port with ease by stopping by the travel desk in our lobby. Delight in a warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookie when you arrive in our bright and spacious atrium. Enjoy free WiFi in all our public spaces, or upgrade to WiFi in your room for a fee. Our hotel offers an exclusive Executive Lounge. Choose an executive level room on the 12th floor for access to our exclusive Executive Lounge, which offers continental breakfast (Mon - Fri) and evening hors d’oeuvres (Mon - Thurs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing