We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 hours of sleep” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reston, United States
1 review
“5 hours of sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our flight was cancelled out of Newark. We were told that there was a distressed passenger rate at this hotel. After calling 7 hotels - all with no rooms available, we came to Double Tree. There was NO distressedd passenger rate. Luckily the man working the check in was able to give us a slight discount.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rajani Didi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate the details you outlined, especially that of the staff member who assisted you with a discounted rate due to your circumstance. It is our primary goal to exceed our guests expections each and every time. We value your business and look forward to being of service to you in the near future when traveling and trust you will select The DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    398
    306
    173
    125
See reviews for
320
269
125
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

very clean,accessible & staff nice.room & bed good enough for 3 people.nice location & nice view of the room.you can see the swimming pool & the place under through the room window.staff very friendly

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 300maryannv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel! I appreciate all of the details you outlined, especially acknowledging the frienliness of our staff members. It is our primary goal to exceed our guests expections each and every time. We value your business and look forward to being of service to you in the near future when traveling and trust you will select The DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great place to stay if you want to save some green and stay in Newark but take a train in to NYC. Take hotel shuttle (which runs 24/7) to station P4 at Newark Aiport. P4 station Airtram will take you to Newark Airport Rail Station. Then take that train straight to Penn Station. It was a cinch! <3 it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Madi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel! I appreciate all of the details you outlined, especially those regarding our transportation services. It is our primary goal to exceed our guests expections each and every time. We value your business and look forward to being of service to you in the near future when traveling and trust you will select The DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nice and I was impressed when we walked in. I was with a group of students from TEXAS and we were exhausted from our long day. The room was nice however needs updated. Bathroom was horrible along with bad faucets in the shower. The shower head was not fully working because water came out the faucet at the same time. Trim was missing off the bathroom cabinets, regular maintenance needs desperately to be inspected. The electrical outlet in the lamp was so loose that it would not hold the charger. Beds were decent. Breakfast was ok. Staff were pleasant and accommodating.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank grayfish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Your room has been taken off market until our engineering team completes the inperfections you listed. Thank you for acknowledging the service your received from our staff members. It is our goal to surpass each and every one of our guests expections. We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomfret Center, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Poor service, poor quality.....broken toilet seat in the bathroom, dishes left outside the room's door at 5PM when I checked into the room. Internet service that you need to pay for and keeps going down and a room on the Hilton Honor's floor that opens to the atrium so the nose comes up. Pay for the parking and internet and am a member of Hilton Honors. A cookie is suppose to make you feel like you are getting quality for your money ?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Frederick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you encountered and will work with our team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had an early flight out of Newark so stayed here for just one night and parked our car. The hotel was clean, although appeared to need a bit of an updating. We enjoyed the bar for a drink after our 3 hour drive there. The bed was super comfortable and the included wifi was nice. A refrigerator would have been nice also but I just stuck my breakfast yogurt on ice and it was fine the next morning. We didn't have to wait too long for the shuttle to and from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philliesfan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We appreciate your TripAdvisor review of our hotel, and our staff thanks you very much for your awesome comments! We are always happy to know that guests appreciate the convenience of our location, and the helpfulness of hotel staff. We want to welcome our guests with a warm smile, gooey delicious cookie, and a clean room, and hope you will allow us to do that for you and your family on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel is old and needs alot of work. Restaurant is way overpriced for the quality of food and I had to pay 12.00 for internet connection. Motel 6 gives you internet for free. I will take my business elsewhere from no on. There are better hotels in the area that are equally priced and better quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks very much for taking your time to share your comment with us. Please accept our sincere apology as we failed to 100% meet your expectation. Once we received your comment, we looked into the problem and nailed down for a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Airport and Port Newark
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing