We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in need of some modernisation. Parts of it feel very dated and the bathrooms are rather shabby.

I was really surprised to find that it cost $18 to park there as it's not immediately on the airport and there's nothing around it. Also bugs me to pay for wifi.

Rooms point both inwards and outwards so if you have an internal facing room you feel like you need to keep the curtains closed for privacy, plus you have no idea what the weather!s like. Next time I'll probably go elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peterpeterpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks very much for taking your time to share your comment with us. Please accept our sincere apology as we failed to 100% meet your expectation. Once we received your comment, we looked into the problem and nailed down for a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    408
    309
    175
    129
See reviews for
325
272
131
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful. The cookies are awesome!!! The room also had a beautiful terrace that overlooked the seating area. I wasnt happy about paying for parking in a lot but all in all it was a very pleasant stay. Also, considering it was super bowl weekend it was very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Marlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the great review! I appreciate all of the details. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for noticing the helpfulness of the staff. We really strive to exceed our guest’s expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

we were allocated this hotel by a cruise company following an early termination of our cruise and despite an unexpected influx of guests the hotel coped admirably
A few hitches in service in the restaurant but overall the food was very good
The highlight however was the fabulously comfortable beds, lovely spacious rooms and free internet access from computers in the lobby

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ouzolover21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We were happy the cruise ship company chose our property to house their guests after that unfortunate incident occurred on board. We strive to deliver exceptional service and it is good to know that our hard work created a memorable stay for you and your family. Your restaurant concern will certainly be addressed. We're glad you enjoyed the Sweet Dreams Bed, they are magical! Thank you again, and we look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel has the advantage of being close to Newark Hotel but, even at that, it is not that straightforward in getting there. I found the front of desk staff diffident and most certainly not welcoming. I ended up going to my room, staying there and leaving the next morning. Not what I would have expected from the hotel chain and certainly not one I would recommend or return to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I wish I could clone this hotel. I have stayed here 3 times and every time it is excellent. The staff here is very helpful and the amenities are perfect. I highly recommend this hotel. I will stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel! I appreciate all of the details you outlined, especially those of the various staff members who assisted you. It is our primary goal to exceed our guests expections each and every time. We value your business and look forward to being of service to you in the near future when traveling and trust you will select The DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My management team met for a planned stay of the Doubletree in Newark, NJ the week of January 20, 2014. Due to the inclimate weather several of our team members did not make it in. In spite of that set back the remaining members that did make it to NJ and we had an extremely successful meeting, spanning 2 days. There was adequate room to comfortable meet in the lobby and we left with a feeling of accomplishment and no disappointment in not having accomplished our goals. In addition, the Bistro was outstanding for our breakfast, with a large variety of breakfast options and outstanding coffee. The Pub, next door had a great selection of menu items for dinner and at a fair price. We will most likely return to this facility, when the next meeting in NJ is planned, based on the convenience and experience that we had last week. I would say there were areas in the rooms and halls that would benefit from some TLC...as it was definitely worn, had items left by patrons left behind and did not fit the overall feeling of upscale hotel, that a Hilton Doubletree facility is known for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our property on your recent meeting. I am so happy reading your review. Here we strive to deliver exceptional service and it is good to know that our hard work created a memorable stay for you and your friends/co-workers. I will make sure to extend your compliments to all departments and we will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next meeting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed there two days back. Rooms were very run down. Was told that it was renovated recently which is odd. Wires all over the place. Lights not working. Disappointing for a Hilton. Have complained to the front office.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our property. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.7 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing