We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New York City on a budget? This IS the place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“New York City on a budget? This IS the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had to attend the New York comic con last minute & the city was sold out. This Doubletree had a VERY good points special, so we gave it a shot & it worked out superb. Being a mid-century modern guy, I dug the 70's decor - big spaces and even bigger rooms with thick (quite) walls. The shuttle bus runs to the airport for the train to the city every 40 minutes. You will be in Grand Central station from the lobby of the hotel in 1 hr.

Breakfast is your traditional "Hampton Inn" style, however the wait staff is SUPER friendly. Only downfall is for us early risers - no coffee in the lobby, you have to wait for the breakfast buffet to open at 7am,

Room Tip: Higher floors are the way to go, away from the opened area with a pool view (can get loud)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertBreedlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our property on your recent trip to NYC. I am so happy reading your review. Here at the DoubleTree Newark we strive to deliver exceptional service and it is good to know that our hard work created a memorable stay for you and your friends. We will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    409
    310
    178
    130
See reviews for
326
276
132
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here in early December for one night prior to an early morning flight. The staff were pleasant, helpful and professional. The room was clean. We had an enjoyable meal at the hotel restaurant. Shuttle to and from the airport was prompt. Would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOhnny99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and other travelers. I am delighted to hear that you had such wonderful time and you were able to able to enjoy your room. I will be sure to share your kind thoughts with the rest of the team especially our chef. He would be thrilled to know that he had such an impact on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
426 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for exactly what we used it for ... a clean comfortable hotel room that is convenient to taking an early morning flight the next day.

As we had an early morning flight, we booked this hotel for the night before so that we wouldn't have a stressful beginning to our trip. I called ahead to make sure they held our room for late arrival (always a good idea even if you give a hotel a credit card with your booking). We got there around 11 p.m., along with several airline staff. The check-in desk was pleasant and helpful, comping us our WiFi even though our hHonors level wasn't at that tier. The property itself is older but well-maintained and clean. It's a bit of a hike through a cavernous lobby to get to your room.

The room was also well-maintained and clean, with a comfy bed and plenty of room. Checkout was uneventful. We parked our car at the hotel lot for our overnight stay (you pay at the front desk and they give you a receipt to give the gate house) and then conveniently rolled down the street to one of the private parking lots on that road which we always use when flying out of Newark, left our car there and took the parking lot's shuttle to the airport. From hotel checkout to the parking lot to checking our bags probably took us a total of 20 minutes. My plan to reduce departure stress worked beautifully!

While I cannot say that I'd stay here for any other reason, that is not a deficit to this hotel - it is an airport hotel clearly located for convenience to Newark Airport and also very close to a couple of privately owned airport parking lots. The next time we have an early a.m. flight out of EWR, I'd book this place again for the night before.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We appreciate your TripAdvisor review of our hotel, and our staff thanks you very much for your awesome comments! We are always happy to know that guests appreciate the convenience of our location.
We also offer park and fly package which including one night stay and up to 14 days parking. All you need to do is call DoubleTree and book this package. Our airport shuttle departs every 20 minutes on top of the hour, 24 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

The staff was very polite, caring, friendly, and obliging to us during our stay. They were eager to make our stay nice. They waived our parking fee due to our party in their hotel, but I do understand it's pricey. Their food was excellent! Our room was switch by our request since our original room was next to a huge party taking place. Our room was no-frills and basic with no amenities. The pillows we comfortable. The air conditioning didn't blow cold air and that was a negative for us. Also, the stairway exit doors slam hard whenever a person closes one. Otherwise, the staff was terrific and the location was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel! I appreciate all of the details you outlined, especially those of the various staff members who assisted you. It is our primary goal to exceed our guests expections each and every time. We value your business and look forward to being of service to you in the near future when traveling and trust you will select The DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I'm not giving it 5 stars because of the location, the view from the room and the front desk personnel which wasn't up to the otherwise high standards of the property.
I stayed in a large room on one of the two Hilton Honors floors ( 5 & 6 ).
Internet is complimentary only for Hilton Honors Tier Members.
The room was large and clean. The bathroom was on the small side but otherwise ok.
The restaurant was also satisfactory. The environment pleasant and the food very good and reasonably priced.
The shuttle to the airport ( P4 ) runs, if I remember correctly every 20 minutes, 24 hours a day. The drivers were all nice and helpful with the luggage. The ride to/from the hotel is approx. 10 minutes.
The hall is huge and well cared for. While I was seated on one of the sofa I noticed a worker washing every single leaf of a plant. I do not know how often this is done but everything seemed sparkling.
The front desk personnel wasn't what I expect to find in an hotel of this level. Despite my effort, upon arrival, to point out that I was staying 2 nights but that those 2 nights had been booked separately, they still disabled my room card after the first day and I had to check in again.
The gentleman who re-checked me in was unapologetic and seemed irritated because I pointed out that upon check in I was assured that, despite the two separate bookings I was checked in for the 2 nights and I will not experience any inconvenience with the card.
I'd recommend this hotel to business travelers and for all those travelers who need an overnight stay in an hotel that offers something more, in matter of quality, than your average airport hotel.
Tourists visiting NYC might also consider this hotel if they want to stay in a nice large room at half of the price of what they would pay in Manhattan. From Newark Airport you can reach NYC ( Penn Station ) by train in 30 min. ( Via Amtrak is approx. $ 30 one way and via New Jersey Transit $ 15 ow ).. The hotel has several conference rooms and ballrooms, a small gift shop what seemed a rental car booth, a bar, a bistro type restaurant, a gym and a large pool in the lobby which is quite unique although it gives no privacy because of its location. Outside of the hotel there is nothing that you can do and the location is pretty unattractive.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the hall are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maplehuggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our hotel. I appreciate all of the details you outlined, especially those of the various staff members who assisted you. I apologize on behalf of the The Front Office personnel and assure you your less than perfect experience will be addressed. It is our primary goal to exceed our guests expections each and every time. We value your business and look forward to being of service to you in the near future when traveling and trust you will select The DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The staff at this hotel think of themselves as royalty, it would seem. Our first night, the fire alarm rang. We never got an official all-clear, even though it was a false alarm, the elevators were blocked indefinitely with no explanation, and the staff told us in barely veiled terms to go [--] ourselves when we asked questions about it. It's overpriced and under-serviced. There are other, better options in that area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank canadian_in_bermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nykvarn, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nice, clean hotel close to the airport. Shuttle 3 times an hour to/from EWR. Room was spacious. Food at both dinner and breakfast was very good. The only negative I can say is that you can hear everything in the rooms next door. A couple with children was next to us, but once they settled down, all was quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel! I appreciate all of the details you outlined. Sorry you were snowed in, however, we were happy to have you as our guest. It is our primary goal to exceed our guests expections each and every time. We value your business and look forward to being of service to you in the near future when traveling and trust you will select The DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.7 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing