We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good shuttle service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
181 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good shuttle service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

After my LGA flight got cancelled, an early flight the next day out of Newark was my best option. My travel service booked me at the Doubletree. Check in was fast. The hotel is quite large. The room was big, the bed fine. The bed had a big comforter more appropriate foe a cold January night than a 90 degree day. The a/c was quite noisy. I'm not sure if there was wifi - they made no mention of it at the front desk, there were no signs in the room and no Doubletree wifi popped up on any of my devices. I was too tired to pursue however, but in most hotels wifi connection is made very obvious.

The hotel is slightly dated looking, but I was very pleased with the shuttle service. It left on time and the driver was very nice and helpful. The shuttle service made the stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
All of us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our hotel. I will make sure your generous comments are shared with our shuttle driver. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. Also, we do have WIFI service under the name ATTWIFI. Sorry about the confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    408
    309
    175
    129
See reviews for
325
272
131
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Positives;
- Close to Newark Airport, but also only 20 minutes from the Jersey Gardens outlet mall, and also the NJ Transit. Good free shuttle running every 20 mins.
- Huge comfy bedroom
Negatives;
- small and expensive restaurant
- too far to other restaurants
- pool in the middle of the reception are/lobby - which unless you like bathing with an audience wasn't for me
-room service poor - they lost my breakfast order the first day, and second day dropped it on the floor outside my room - then gave it to me pretending nothing had happened.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience. We are glad that you like our location, room and shuttle service. Also, I sincerely apologize that our room service was not the quality expected. Our F&B manager will contact you and address this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland-UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a flight cancelled and had to arrange a hotel near the airport for our early morning flight, We chose the Doubletree because it was working out the cheapest as many other hotels had sold out.
We had a disability room as they were fully booked and I was very impressed with the hotel, the bed was fab so comfortable. Our room was large and very spacious as was the bathroom, It was spotless. As we arrived late we didn't have a chance to get food but enjoyed the free cookie we got at check-in.
My only criticism was that we did not receive the morning wake up call we had requested but we had set our own alarms lucky enough!
The Shuttle driver was very courteous as well as door staff ,We noticed this hotel seemed very popular with airline staff so I guess this is the place to sleep if you need a rest before travel and with their excellent comfy beds I can see why.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
All of us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our hotel. The comments from you are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. Also, we are apologize that you did not receive your wake up call. We will look into it and address it so it wouldn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel had nice rooms, diverse multi-lingual staff, quiet hotel. Pool was in the lobby which struck me as weird. Who wants a whole balcony of people watching you swim? Hotel has a self parking fee of $18/day, but next door has all day parking for $9 with Valet if you want it. Looked brand new. Right next to airport. We stayed at this hotel as a cheaper option to seeing New York, so we took the PATH train into New York. Hotel has shuttle but does not take you to the PATH train, only to the AIR-TRAM at Airport which is much more expensive ($12.50 each way?). I think it's faster, but we found parking closer to PATH and took it to NY City. (About 20 minute ride). Location doesnt seem to be the best, lots of toll roads around, seemingly a little difficult to get to.

Room Tip: Park next door if you can to save money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
All of us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our DoubleTree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The bar had gnats, Night 1 I ordered Cobb Salad chicken taste like rubber.. Night 3 asked was they any salad that I could get without chicken or substitute chicken because I wasn't pleased, well salad was same price and they charged for buffalo chicken full price Night 1 I had drunken neighbors that started a party at 2:30 am about 3:15 am i called the front desk asked them to send someone I heard no one come up on the hall around I started banging on the wall around 3:40 screaming go to bed and finally I resolved my own issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddy H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We regret we were not able to provide you with the quality of food you expected. We are constantly working to improve our menu offerings and your comments will help us improve in this area. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellence from top to bottom. Staff is professional, polite, eager to assist in all requests. Breakfast was incredible and will make omlets and other goodies upon request. Server even brought out a fresh plate of berries to the table. Top Notch Hilton Property, all that you would expect and more from the Hilton Brand!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
All of us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our DoubleTree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Me and my family stayed here two nights. Was a very clean hotel. No smells. Pool was nice, kids loved it. Not many people use the pool, so we had it all to ourselves most of the time. Room was clean. I wish it had a hot tub. They charge you $20 per day to park, but I guess that is standard in the big city. We had to leave early, and they were very good to get us a refund. Very close to the Statue of Liberty and New York.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordan123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
All of us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our DoubleTree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.7 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing