We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great service from the moment I walked into the hotel. Smiles all round and very helpful. Rooms are spacious and very clean with very comfortable beds. Had breakfast and found it to be ample, not the most imaginative but fresh and hot. Easy access to airport and just a short 15min train journey to New York City. At $25 round trip it is not bad at all. Best if you want quieter rooms to ask for the rooms above the glass enclosure, as the folk in the pool can be a bit noisy. But overall it was a great stay and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms above the glass enclosure. Much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triplover51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

All of us here at the DoubleTree By Hilton Newark Airport would like to thank you for writing on our tripadvisor page after your recent stay at our Hotel. The comments from our guests are very important to us so that we can find out if we are achieving our goals in providing service to you or so that we can find out how to improve our service. If you have any comments that you would like us know about, please feel free to contact us directly. We realize that you do have a choice of hotels and would like to thank you for choosing our DoubleTree to be your home away from home and hope you will continue to do so

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Old pitted faucets, peeling wallpapers at corners, stains, chips and rips in walls and on carpet. the rooms are badly in need of refreshing. you can also hear the people in the next room... perfectly. The gym and pool also need updating. If these things dont bother you, it is convenient if you are flying out of newark, and the beds are comfy and seem clean......The staff is very nice as is the restaurant. They just need to refresh it and it would be a gem.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank beth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I booked this hotel even after looking at the reviews to see first hand if they were true, and they were. While this is nice location and the staff is exceptional the rooms are way way outdated and are in a desperate need of an update, I know that they are working on it and I will come back to see the final product. I would recommend getting a room overlooking the pool as I heard these have been somewhat updated more than the 12 th floor. I will say that the bar area and especially Tim behind the bar made it worth the stay, food was excellent.

Room Tip: Overlook the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runningman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. However, I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel near Newark, this is it. Not quite up to standards of other DoubleTree or Hilton properties. The room furnishings were a bit dated and the hotel lobby looked like something from a 1980's James Bond movie. None the less, it is a full service and very large hotel and even had an indoor pool. Noisy A/C and non-functioning phones in the room tells me this hotel does not keep up with maintenance.

Room Tip: Say you are allergic to carpeting and maybe you will get an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iHeart2Workout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I liked this hotel it was neat and clean. But they are charging for parking. Staff were good. I will visit this hotel again if I will visit NY. It is very near to path station where we used to park our cars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irfan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

As others have mentioned, this hotel was previously owned by another hotel chain (Sheraton), and that shows in some areas of the hotel. This is not a bad hotel - it's just that I don't feel that it quite measures up to other Doubletrees that I have stayed in. Maybe once the renovations are completed it will.

I'll start with the positives. The location is very convenient to the airport (obviously) as well as to New York City. I was greeted promptly and the woman at the check-in counter was extremely polite, acknowledged me as a Hilton Gold member, and was very courteous, efficient and friendly. The lobby area is decent and very large.

The room itself is really what led me to give an "average" rating. My room definitely showed it's age. Furniture was on the shabby side, bed was not all that comfortable (not terrible though), and the bathroom was downright ugly. Wallpaper was peeling in spots, tile and grout were dirty from age. Also - hot water ran out on me just as I was finishing up a 10 minute shower - this was at about 8:30 am. Not sure what that was all about.

I ordered room service for dinner - it arrived pretty promptly and was decent, although the sandwich was definitely small.

So far I have stayed at the Doubletree, the Hilton, and the Hampton Inn at Newark airport. I would say this rates somewhere in between the Hilton and the Hampton, but significantly better than the Hampton.

Overall - relatively comfortable and OK for a short business stay but far from luxurious.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank themosh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgewaterHGI, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we continue to work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the DoubleTree before a flight to San Juan a couple of weeks ago. The rate we got on line about 3 months before was extremely good. And the room was large, clean and we had a small balcony overlooking the lobby/pool. I'm not sure when the prior negative reviews were written since I found none of the room criticisms valid in 01/2013. Desk staff were helpful & courteous (gave us directions to Hoboken for a night out before the flight). Shuttle to the airport on time & courteous. The only negative was that the pool was being repaired but since we were off to PR, it wasn't all that important.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a blacony overlooking the pool/lobby if the rate isn't higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.7 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
2.4 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#3 of 14 in Elizabeth
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: $119 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated rooms at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. Our hotel is ideally situated next to Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), minutes from downtown Newark, and just 10 miles from NYC. We offer a complimentary shuttle to EWR every 15 minutes for your convenience. Our hotel is the ideal place to stay pre or post-cruise from Cape Liberty Cruise Port – just 7 miles from the hotel. Plan your trip to the port with ease by stopping by the travel desk in our lobby. Delight in a warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookie when you arrive in our bright and spacious atrium. Enjoy free WiFi in all our public spaces, or upgrade to WiFi in your room for a fee. Our hotel offers an exclusive Executive Lounge. Choose an executive level room on the 12th floor for access to our exclusive Executive Lounge, which offers continental breakfast (Mon - Fri) and evening hors d’oeuvres (Mon - Thurs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing