We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About right for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“About right for the price”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

really simple. 3 star hotel, 3 star prices. the pool is unobstructed from the reception/lobby/main entrance which is a bit of a letdown. So nobody really uses the pool. No room service or food/drinks after 11pm. You have to eat at the Ramada next door if you check in late. In our case, I starved through the night as i was late.

The hotel is kinda in the middle of nowhere, so unless you have a gps handy in your vehicle, good luck finding this place!

I guess it is good for people arriving on planes and using the airport shuttle at night, not so much for the vehicular transiting families.

The meet and greet is in your face as soon as you enter the lobby, and you have to really wonder if hotels like the Hilton employ walmart security screening tactics to deter guests at the hotel :-D

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcousticImmersion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    439
    319
    182
    147
See reviews for
354
295
137
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on a family trip to NYC, and I thought it was quite nice. The service was excellent, and the staff was always quite helpful. My only complaint is that getting to New York City takes a little time from Newark, and we spent much of our time in NYC while we were here. The concierge will call you a car to transport you to the Newark Penn Station for $25. The drivers of these cars were always quite nice, and since you were riding in a contracted vehicle rather than a cab, the cars were always clean. They have a free shuttle that runs to and from the Newark Airport 24 hours a day, which is quite nice if you fly in. A free breakfast buffet is included with your stay as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I had to stay here after missing all connections due to inclement weather in Newark. The reservation was provided by United Airlines. The room I was give was big, fresh, clean, nice and modern. Beds were comfortable and restroom was clean. I was given till 2PM to checkout which was nice as my flight was in the evening the next day. This may be a dated hotel but it has been nicely renovated.

Doubletree cookies at check-in is always nice. I got free breakfast as a HHONORS gold. The breakfast buffest selection was good and the restaurant staff very hospitable. Internet was complimentary. The swimming pool is in the middle of the hotel. Half of the 4 elevators were under maintenance. There is a gift shop inside the hotel which also sells generic pharmacy items.

Hotel provides a free shuttle to Newark airport every 20 minutes. We had dinner at the BAR restaurant here and the food was expensive and nothing to write home about. I would definitely stay here again. Pictures to follow.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sokaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, UK
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Nice hotel, I got a good price (£70) on hotels.com, no airport noise. Free airport shuttle. Good shower on the Malcolm shower rating (5 is my home power shower, 4 is wife happy washing hair, 3 is wife washes hair moaning, 2 is wife refuses to wash hair) If you ask for a taxi to NYC, they call a limo fixed price $90 inc tolls. Nice but pricey. Good restaurant/bar. Coffee shop in Ramada next door.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosters, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The architect clearly had fun with this hotel. You have to walk around man made obstacles to get anywhere. there is something resembling staircase art at the back, the swimming pool is open, next to reception and rooms have small balconies opening onto an atrium which means that any noise can be heard by everyone. I cant understand why someone would want to go on a room balcony and look down at the lobby.
Anyway, this hotel functions as an airport hotel close to Newark. It is about 10-15mins drive away next to the Ramada. Stay at Marriott if you want something closer.
service and food actually OK. Rooms standard 3-4 star American with some fittings falling off. Aircon was set at different temperatures in various rooms. We had to open the door of our meeting room to let the warm air in.
Wireless was annoying. They have about 10 wireless router names but i could only get one to work in my room with the free reception code, the one called WIRELESS which was not the one recommended. It didnt work downstairs.
One positive was they let me have a late checkout to 18:00 which was good.

Room Tip: if there is a function going on, it must be loud due to the funny balconies over the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaplocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Spend here 2 nights on my route to Miami. Hotel offer complimentary shuttle bus from P4 station of airport rail link. Interiors of hotel require renovation. Actually, now this hotel is DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport Hotel. So, probably new owner will renovate it soon.
My room 1212 and three other rooms in our party was Ok with a view over Newark airport. Very clean, comfy bed, coffee/tea facilities in room. Paid 18 USD for movie by mistake, so don't touch TV if you not very familiar.
On arrival late night check-in was quick and we get warm chocolate cookies (signature of DoubleTree).
Here is a breakfast in Brasserie 128 at lobby floor for 18 USD (tax included). Typical selection - fresh fruits, omelets, sousage, beacon, toasts, french toasts and assorted pastries, yogourts, orange juice and coffee or tea also available.
Here was huge party during week-end, so these few elevators was full in the morning and evenin. We spend half an hour to wait at 12th floor while participants of this event finally vacate elevators.
At the lobby level you'll also find indoor swimming pool, but as it located directly oposit the reception desk, you'll find some kind of discomoft by using it while other guests of hotel passing in business suites along you through the day. During our stay seen nobody used it, but water was preatty warm.
So, if you connecting via EWR airport in Newark, this hotel is an option to save money for accommodation, comparing with hotels at Manhattan. Your can board NJ Transit to New York Penn Station, which in the hear of New York. Return ticket for 25 USD available from machine at Newark International Airport Station, which is next after P4 by airport rail link.
Receptionist tald that taxi to Manhattan will cost about 90 USD, but I think it will be about 40-50 USD. Let peoples know if you'll try to get Manhattan by taxi from this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kluang, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I don't really like hotel without free wireless. i went to a tour at eastern usa plus canada. This is the only hotel that did not provide free wireless. This is very inconvenient. Overall, the room is good. They provide crabtree & evelyn bath products, which i like it very much. However, the bed is too soft. I had a backache after sleeping on soft linen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.7 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
2.4 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#4 of 14 in Elizabeth
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24-hour shuttle service from and to Newark Liberty International Airport, this full service hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, a choice of food & beverage outlets. Our Fitness Center and indoor heated pool are for hotel guests only. The hotel is conveniently located and a short train ride away to Newark and New York City, as well as Liberty State Park and NJ cruise piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing