We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

There are quite a few hotels right around the airport and they are fairly similar. I actually chose this one based on tripadvisor reviews. If I have an early flight, I take the train in the night before and stay in a hotel. I was here in late October and had a positive experience. This time when I arrived at P4 and tried to call for pickup, no one answered the phone on numerous occasions. I learned the policy is pick up every 30 minutes. I waited longer as did someone who came in earlier. In fact, the other hotels had 2 shuttle pickups before the wyndam picked up once. They had only one driver working even though they have 2 vans. That's one for all of the pick ups and drop offs regardless of how many people. And that is only every 30 minutes. In the morning the 7 am shuttle was so full the entire aisle was lined with people. The driver's solution was not to take us to our terminals. He drove to P4, the hotels' pickup location and told everyone, but crew, to exit. We then had to take the rail link to our individual terminals. Too bad if you had a lot of luggage and planned on doing curbside. Too bad for the family with the little kids. No other hotels were dropping off at P4 just the wyndam. The actual hotel experience is typical, however the heaters in the room are so noisy it is impossible to get an uninterrupted night's sleep. When the fan motor kicks on, it's like having a Mack truck in your room. On and off all night. Another couple complained of no sleep for the same reason so it was not just our room. (We didn't use the heater during our previous stay.) Oh, and while you and the crowd are waiting in the lobby for the shuttle to the airport, don't expect any complimentary coffee. It is for sale only. So the result is with so many other chains to choose from, I am going to pick one with shuttles that run continuously, like double tree, Fairfield, Hampton, but not Wyndam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyceVP_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementewr, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your opinion. We apologize that your experience with the complimentary shuttle service was not convenient. All airport hotels offering shuttle service are required to pick up and drop off at the P4 Newark Airport Air Train stop. This system has been in place since 1991 and mandated by Port Authority who governs Newark Airport. This procedure was put in place to reduce traffic in and out of the terminals, and for safety. The Newark Airport Air train/ monorail runs every 3 minutes and takes less then 5 minutes to the terminals. I disagree with your report that other hotels run a constant shuttle to/from the terminals or from the P4 station. Our every 30 minute complimentary shuttle runs 24 hours a day 7 days a week, perhaps in the future we can consider running it more frequently. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    551
    409
    256
    205
See reviews for
419
521
209
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The staff at the hotel are very helpful. We got to the hotel late at night and I was surprise the restaurant was open. The service and the food were good. The room was nice and comfortable. It has a free shuttle to the airport and from there you can take the NJ transit train to get to Manhattan. It takes about an hour or so to get to manhattan from the hotel. Overall it was a really nice stay at a good price considering it was the New Year's Eve season in New York City and many hotels are expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaritzaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

First the pros: the place is super close to the airport, has a shuttle 24 hours a day to the airport, the staff is wonderful and helpful and the bed was fairly comfortable.

The cons: We had to wait about 30 minutes for our room to be ready and then when it was, we didn't get the two double beds I had booked, but the king room which I didn't really want. Even though I booked the double bed room they told me if those get taken before you get there you get whatever they have available. The room was clean, but the bathroom had mold in the shower ceiling and when you turned the water on it smelled of sulfur. The internet didn't work at all and the front desk told us they were having problems. They charged to use the business center which I thought should be free and I had to use since I couldn't get the internet until the following morning and that was frustrating. The hallways from the elevator to our room smelled musty and they had garbage cans in the hallways to collect drips from the ceiling. My head got dripped on once or twice while walking to the elevator. There was a restaurant and exercise room but we never used it.
We checked out early from this hotel and I would never book it again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementewr, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for your opinion. I would first like to apologize for not delivering a good experience. In the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, the roof ventilation system was damaged and repairs are underway. Since, the weather hasn’t been cooperating; the roof repair has been extended and will be completed by the second week in January. The hotel staff does a wonderful job including honoring reservations. As explained to you at the time of booking, your reservation was a request for double not a confirmed status as you mentioned. We apologize that we could not honor your request. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is located directly across the street from EWR airport and since the entrance is one-way only it can be difficult to find if not paying attention. Check in was relatively easy and parking was directly in front of hotel. The 2 queen bed room was very clean and extra-large with plenty of space for luggage. Bathroom was nice and the bedding was comfortable. The hotel overall was at a reasonable price considering its proximity to airport.
The airport shuttle runs every :30 minutes and was a very short:05 minute trip to departures. The problem with the shuttle is with attempting to return to the hotel at the end of the visit. The shuttle driver at first did not even tell its passengers where to catch the return trip shuttle and when asked was very non-desrcipt and vague on its location. When we returned we were unable to locate the shuttle after quite some time. We then called the hotel to find its location and were told we needed to take a tram to find it. Needless to say we were not going to return to our terminal with our luggage, get on a tram and attempt to find the other location for the short ride back to the hotel. We took a $25 cab back to the hotel instead of wasting another :30+. Despite its location and nice rooms the return shuttle ride ruined the experience and we will likely stay at another hotel near EWR because of it next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the moment I called Wyndham Garden to make my reservation it was clear that the staff and management of this wonderful hotel had one clear objective in mind, making you, the customer, the most important thing and that all your expectations from staying in such a property were not only met but exceeded. Also there was a very helpful, respectful young maintenance man named Patrick who assisted me when he seen me struggling with my bags. And once again it showed me why i love to stay at this wonderful hotel .I have travelled far and wide and can honestly say the Hayfield experience is one that all establishments across all service industries should take a long hard look when aiming to template the way in which a customer should be treated.Telephone manner, meet and greet, check in, room comfort, cuisine, staff knowledge, attention to detail, the list is endless. Thanks you and your staff
.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.8 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Newark Airport

Property: Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Address: 550 550 Route 1 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport Hotel for your next trip and enjoy the results of our $10 million renovation. Located directly across from Newark Liberty Int'l Airport, our convenient location is 15 miles from NYC, 5 minutes to Jersey Garden Outlet Mall, NJ Performing Arts Center, Downtown Newark, and 12 miles to Meadowlands/Giants Stadium. We offer 349 well appointed spacious guestrooms, 3 richly decorated suites and 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space. Enjoy our top-of-the-line services and amenities including a newly renovated state of the art fitness center, business center, complimentary 24 hour shuttle service, 24 hour grab and go and more. Treat yourself to accommodations at the Wyndham Garden Newark Airport Hotel where our staff consistently strives to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Garden Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newark
Newark Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing