We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst bed ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at this place because we had to be in Manhattan early the next morning and it was cheap. The hotel overall is nice and clean. The staff was friendly, too. The room was little small, but clean. You have to get a ticket to park when you arrive and the sign states $15.00, but it is validated if you are spending the night.
But the bed....I have stayed in alot of hotels and this has to have been the worst bed ever. It felt like they placed sheets over a piece of plywood!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NortheastPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementewr, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your input. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations in all areas. It has been our experience that a mattress firmness or softness has been a personal choice. Our entire mattress inventories are equipped with pillow top padding. To try to assure that all our guests are comfortable, we also have memory foam mattress tops and extra thick pillow top padding that are portable and can be installed on the mattress if the guest needs extra softness. I apologize if this information was not readily available to you, we do display this information in our guest service directories. If the front desk is made aware of your dissatisfaction, they always will make the recommendation. Thank you again for your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,482 - 1,488 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

While some other reviewers found fault with this hotel, our experience has been positive. We have used it for several years, while flying out of the country from Newark. Price is quite reasonable for what you get. Yes, it can be difficult to access if you use the Rt 1 address. That is because the roads and highways in the Newark area are Horible! I've now found access VERY easy, by just using the address next door. Put 101 International Way, Newark in as your target address in Google or any other GPS. It will take you right there. Turn in at second driveway. Their dining area, while small, offers great food at very low prices (not like other hotels in the area). The included parking (up to 2 weeks with one night stay) makes it a real bargain.

They have been upgrading the hotel and lobby gradually, and it is now very comfortable. As to the front desk staff, we have always found them helpful, courteous, and english fluent.

The only real negative is their inablity to pick you up at different terminals, on your return. You must go to one central pickup point. BUT, this is not their doing. It is the rule proscribed by the Newark Airport Management! So now, we just take a cab back to the hotel. Quick and easy, no need to hassle your bags to the central pickup spot.

We definitely recommend this hotel, for departures from Newark

Room Tip: Request room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementewr, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to receive accolades from our repeat guests. It is reviews like yours, which encourages us to continue to strive hard to offer a great experience. Your review is not only encouraging but it is informative and helpful for future guests. Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

With so many other places available, this is not the best choice. The "non-smoking room" was not sparkling clean and smelled of smoke. Food was adequate. The address is wrong in Google maps and was difficult to drive to. I could see the hotel and drove around 20 minutes trying to get to it. It is very close to the airport so it is convenient. The wireless internet "connection" was very frustrating. Very weak and it kept dropping the connection no matter where I was in the hotel. All in all, I suggest choosing another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank QAnnBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementewr, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your opinion. We apologize for not delivering a good experience. The Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark is a 3 star hotel offering some of the best amenities and pricing in the area, we are truly the best value at Newark Airport, it is a shame that you were not able to take advantage of this value. and we failed to prove it to you. The hotel’s location with three different GPS input directions are located on our web site, and I will share your opinion regarding the cleanliness to our housekeeping department. The complimentary WIFI is programmed to offer basic WIFI, so depending upon what you were trying to download and how much bandwidth you needed, could have been the reason for the slowness. Once again we apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at the Wyndham prior to flying out of Newark the following morning, and were able to utilize the Park and Fly package. From beginning to end, when we were quickly picked up at the airport, the hotel staff was great. They were always courteous and helpful. The room was very small, but was adequate for the short time we stayed there. The exercise room could use some updating. There were a couple of treadmills, a (rusty) elliptical and another machine (I think it was a bike maching). The TV in the exercise room wasn't working. The only complaint I have is that the beds are VERY hard and my back was pretty sore in the morning. Other than that, it's a great place for a short stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GRAMMY911NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Mediocre hotel rooms. Front desk personnel could barely speak english. I asked the front desk clerk if there was a charge for local phone calls from the room. Her reply - "Yes". So I asked her how much. She looked like that was a foolish question and replied "I don't know." It turned out that there was, in fact, no charge for local calls from the room. Very poor service attitude. The Renaissance Hotel at the Newark Airport costs about the same and is the exact opposite - excellent rooms and excellent service and attitude.
I booked this room based on the good tripadvisor.com reviews but had a much worse experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montradwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementewr, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Dear valued guest, thank you for your opinion. I apologize for any confusion regarding phone charges. It is always disheartening when we don’t meet our guest’s expectations.
I have asked the front desk manager to re-coach her team regarding phone charges. It is somewhat of a challenge for a new front desk agent to understand the phone accounting system. Some of our programs include calls and some do not. To add to some of the confusion, the phone company does charge a long distance call even though it is still a (973) exchange, because it is out of our county. We do provide a complete list of free verse charged calls in all guestrooms. Unfortunately, I cannot quantify that our front desk staff does not speak English. Our front desk employees are bi-lingual and English is the first language. Once again I apologize for inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with the Stay, Park and Fly package. The price was great and included parking for 7 days. The room was in great condition and comfortable, we were located on the pool side of the hotel, so we had no road noise from the highway. I'm sure if you are on the highway side it could be very noisy at night with all the traffic! It seemed that they were remodeling the rooms a few at a time and the corridor smelled of fresh paint. We arrived early to get settled in and have a bite to eat and a few cocktails at the lounge. The bartender at the lounge was o.k... not overly friendly but efficient and professional. The food is somewhat pricey but very good. The shuttle service runs every 20-30 minutes depending on the time of day to the airport and was prompt with a courteous driver. Upon arrival back to the airport, we waited no more then 10 minutes for the shuttle to arrive. We arrived and our vehicle was in the exact condition in which we left it! There is no doubt we will use this hotel again. We liked the option of having a restaurant on site... with not being from the area it is a little intimidating to go off site for something to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelenfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We've stayed at the Wyndham Garden twice when we've flown out of EWR and both times have been well-pleased. The property itself is old but well-maintained, rooms in good shape, comfy bedding. Parking is a great plus. You can park free for 14 days, and our recent trip was 16 days, so the additional two days cost us $12 for each day. Shuttle service to and from the airport is easy. A good value all around!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuisadiBeaufort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Newark Airport

Address: 550 550 Route 1 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: $89 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Wyndham Garden Hotel Newark Airport Hotel for your next trip and enjoy the results of our $10 million renovation. Located directly across from Newark Liberty Int'l Airport, our convenient location is 15 miles from NYC, 5 minutes to Jersey Garden Outlet Mall, NJ Performing Arts Center, Downtown Newark, and 12 miles to Meadowlands/Giants Stadium. We offer 349 well appointed spacious guestrooms, 3 richly decorated suites and 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space. Enjoy our top-of-the-line services and amenities including a newly renovated state of the art fitness center, business center, complimentary 24 hour shuttle service, 24 hour grab and go and more. Treat yourself to accommodations at the Wyndham Garden Newark Airport Hotel where our staff consistently strives to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Garden Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newark
Newark Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing