We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded but not Jaded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Faded but not Jaded”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed 5 nights here while attending a program at Seton Hall Law School and was pleasantly surprised. When I told other attendees that I was paying $104 a night, with free shuttle to/from Newark Penn Station and the airport and free breakfast (and a very good one), the attendees who were staying elsewhere in Newark (most at the Hilton) were quite jealous--they were paying around $250, with no breakfast.

The lobby is nice. There is a good upscale restaurant "Maize" on the premises. The room was a bit older and a bit small, but clean, and had a comfortable bed and a little fridge. The bathroom was spotless. The Military Park across the street was a good view and hearing the church bells playing songs at 12 and 6 was nostaligic. It is only a $5 train ride into NYC Penn Station. It's next to the Performing Arts Center.

Everyone at the hotel was extremely nice. One of the breakfast staff had a great voice--it was such fun hearing her sing in the mornings.
One of the other reviews had mentioned thin walls/noise, but I found that turning on the A/C fan cured that.

Room Tip: Front rooms face the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTUFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    544
    263
    113
    82
See reviews for
313
393
156
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel was very convenient to Newark Penn Station. The hotel has a 24 hour shuttle service, but we walked to the train station; only a 10 minute walk. Very satisfied with this hotel; would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I had heard some bad things about the city of Newark, but you would never guess from staying at this beautiful location. There was a park right across the street with a lovely Episcopal Church. The airport transportation was quick and reliable. The hotel is beautiful - lovely room. I would definitely stay here again if travelling through Newark.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed at this historic hotel while visiting the East Coast . The staff were very cordial and helpful. The rooms were supremely clean and tidy, the bathroom spotless, Room service was quick and efficient. The free shuttle to and from the airport and the train was fabulous. The free breakfast every day was really quite good , with both hot and cold choices. Those are the positives.
The negatives...... the walls are not soundproof. I heard the guy in the room next to me coughing all night. I arrived 5/28/14, when I left Tucson, it was 100 degrees and on arrival in Newark, it was 40 degrees. I tried to turn on the heat and got only cold air. A call to the front desk informed me that, as it was now summer, the heat had been converted to airconditioning and NO heat was available. They did send up a couple of blankets, but, the room was still chilled. Now, about that bed. I have traveled alot, and, this was the MOST uncomfortable bed I have ever had to sleep on, (besides the sleeping bag I used when camping). I woke up sore every morning for 5 days..... sigh..... While room service was quick, the food, catered by the restaurant in the lobby, was poor to mediocre at best. Canned tomato sauce on the chicken parmesan, and the penne,,,,,,just,,,,,yuck. The Tamarind wings were good though.
Would I stay here again? I really don't think so. That bed was just awful.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandykam53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband traveled with me for a one-night's stay on business to the Best Western, formally known as Robert Treat Hotel. I chose it for its proximity to my business meeting. We experienced several issues during our short stay. Although we received a AAA discount, as well as a $19 credit after complaining; however, we still overpaid ($117)- regardless of its location. We did not check in until 2 a.m., and after traveling hours, had to wait for someone to come to the desk from upstairs. It took almost an hour to park in the narrow lane called a parking lot, in which cars were illegally parked in Fire Zones- which made parking additionally difficult. We were then disgusted by the accommodations, as the room was in dire need of updating and extensive cleaning. I found Skittles in various areas of the room, showing debris was pushed under the couch and bed. When I attempted to shower, the pressure was extremely low which was exacerbated by the calcium crusted shower head which only permitted a painful stream of water to shoot out. The heat did not work. The toilet clogged. DISGUSTING! I wish I knew there was a hotel down the street, or had chosen to drive from EWR. We received indifference and excuses in response to our complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
5 Thank V W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Hotel TV lineup does not include FNC (Fox News Channel). Restaurants in area not memorable. Staff is not super friendly. Parking is too crowded. Saw lots of vehicles with scrapes and bumps due to inability to drive out between cars.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are small. It's hilarious really. They are super duper small. Tiny, tiny rooms. I am smiling as I write this, because I know what you are thinking (Or at least I think I do). You are wondering if small equals bad. Nope. I loved it. Let me tell you why. The flat-screen TV was anchored to the wall. The remote was one of those that you can wipe off (yea! for me the OCD Queen). The bed was soft and huge (so, yes, it took up 3/4 of the room). There was actually a tiny little seating area in the room. I should have taken a picture. It was unbelievable. The bathroom was also tiny. But it was completely white, so I was happy. The sink was functional (read: little). There was a desk. Robert Treat Hotel is perfect if you are looking for a way to be a tourist in New York and not have to pay New York hotel prices. The cost was about $110 a night when I stayed there in March of 2014. Pretty cheap. Convenient as well: The hotel will take you to Penn Station as well as pick you up. Free shuttle, anyone? Breakfast is included. Now, you can pack a couple of bagels in your day bag, wait downstairs for the shuttle, get a free ride to Penn Station and spend the couple dollars it costs to ride the PATH train, get off anywhere in NYC and HAVE.A.BALL. All on a budget. Look, Im not gonna lie. It's NOT the Ritz. But who cares? It's got all the bang you need for your tourist buck. Oh, and it's clean.
On the down side, the walls are crazy thin. But, hopefully, you'll be so tired from walking around NYC all day, you truly will not care. I think. One more thing. Like most hotels, they also have a free shuttle from the Newark Airport. Cool, right?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ZJnsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Address: 50 Park Pl, Newark, NJ 07102-4308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing