We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“*****”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Newark, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“*****”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Reasonable price with free parking and breakfast, save lots of money with family. the location is best also the free pick and drop from Penn. stat. to hotel and from airport. The stuff is excellent also small kitchenette area with free coffee. Over all this is a very good hotel for me and my family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Shahid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    530
    257
    105
    77
See reviews for
300
387
153
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sindelfingen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A hotel with history. Some things are a little worn, but everything is clean and well kept. Rooms on the upper levels have a great view (with almost skyscraper-feeling). Walls are quite thin, you can hear loud TVs or door activity in neighboring rooms. Very nice and helpful staff, especially in the breakfast room where the choice is good and food and drink is plentiful. Small lobby store and room service provide you with food and drink, especially since there is little around the hotel.
Penn Station with PATH is a 10-minute walk away. If you want to go to Manhattan, calculate in 45 minutes "door-to-door". Keep in mind that PATH trains do not run frequently after 11pm, it might take a while back to the hotel. Hotel offers a shuttle service to/from Penn Station and Newark Airport.
I can absolutely recommend this place as an inexpensive alternative for New York tourists!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here, although there were some issues mainly with the other guests. First the price was great compared to a hotel in New York City. The reception was friendly and fast, and for the first time ever we were given a ticket for storing our luggage and it was put in lockup and we could not get our luggage back without the ticket, very secure. Breakfast was great with a large selection, hot and cold. The only problem was the small breakfast room and limited seating, we went later the next few days and it was better. The rooms were standard Best Western, except the bed was a little lumpy. Great access to New York City. A ten minute walk to the train station, buy the train passes, and you are in the city in no time. The free shuttle to and from the airport is fantastic, great money and time saver. Our only complaint was the other guests. The noise was insane, but they were dealt with promptly after a call to the front desk. The other guests are not the problem of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank werk4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel was overpriced for its service. I arrived 1 AM in the night and turned on Heating as it was 50 F outside and my parents were from overseas shivering. I realized AC was running from half an hour. Called front desk who told they don't have heating in 50 F. Asked for portable heater - they did not have. Asked for blankets at least. After 2-3 follow ups and half an hour around 3 AM they said they don't have blankets too! I asked to get it from a different room atleast to pass a night. They said it is against our policy. I finally asked that you want us to shiver here for whole night? And the guy said they don't know what to do. Asked for manager Royes, they said you cannot speak with him now (What is the use of him then??) Asked for manager call back in the morning at least - never called back. Informed to front desk the same story next morning. Nobody called back. I woke up with sore throat and cold next morning and messed up whole travel plan. Either I will take full refund or publish these details on public blogs and convey it CEO's desk in written.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nirav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehud, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is located in Newark 10 minutes walk from the Newark Penn station where a train can be taken to NYC in 20 minutes time. For the crazy cheap price you get a spacious room with Flat screen TV + fridge and a good bathroom. you can go to the station by foot, shuttle or by light rail. enjoyed my week long stay very much and definitely be back if i'm in NY again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orenpeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is a little confusing getting into if you are driving. Staff are nice. Room we are in is clean, the bed is very comfortable but the age of the building is showing. Elevator is very load and slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Maria Cristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location, but not as nice looking and clean as other Best Western standards. But would stay again if I needed to. Was close enough to walk to Penn train station, and beat the price of staying in NYC. So that is why we stayed there. Breakfast was ok, but parking attendants werent very polite. At least my car was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazzzio_Nugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Address: 50 Park Pl, Newark, NJ 07102-4308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing