We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient for NYC!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient for NYC!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Got a room here for $78 per night on priceline, so for value you cannot go wrong.

Check-in staff were pleasant & efficient. The room we got was as expected. Don't expect the best BEST WESTERN but by no means it certainly is not the worse. For sure downtown Newark has seen better days, but we felt safe walking to and from Penn station both during the day, and at night returning from seeing a show in NYC.

If you are on a budget and don't really want to pay the prices to stay in NYC, this hotel is a great alternative. The airport shuttle was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    499
    239
    98
    72
See reviews for
273
362
144
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Besigheim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We arrived there a few days ago in the evening and the first question at the frontdesk was: "name?"

There was no "Welcome to our hotel! Had you a good trip" -nothing! No smile!

I am a Best Western Diamond Member and I asked several times for an upgrade. Nothing! Not either a king-size-bed!

And also during the stay - we met absolutely no friendly stuff! The blond young lady, who should take care of the breakfastbuffet last week, was busy all the time. She was very exciting to play all the time with her iPhone ad eating and drinking. And sometimes she was singing some Gospel-songs. Taking care of customers and the breakfast buffet does mean something else for me.

Already this january I mentioned at the frontdesk, thT the computer with free internet in the business center is not working. Last week, It was nor working again or still not working! Therefore I think all the stuff is busy with their own iPhones or singing.

Checkout two days ago: All is set, Mister" That was it. No thank you for staying with us. Or: Hope you had a good time. Nothing!!! Not either a good bye!!!!!

That's really professional! And I really can not understand that Best Western is keeping this hotel in their group.

Ok -the hotel does offer good prices. And the location with the Path to Manhattan is good too. But the next time I will pay more for another hotel to get jest a smiling during my stay.

WE WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfabritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Conveniently located decent business hotel at NJ. They have complimentary drops to and from Newark Airport and Newark Penn Station. Can go to Times Square very easily by train. The rooms are good with nice sleeping comfort. However the location is not friendly and many of my friends advised not to stroll after 7 PM.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sathyadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was with a friend doing volunteer construction we were exhausted and needed a clean, quiet place to stay. The hotel is very nice looking, centrally located but we were too tired to go anywhere, ordered room service it was wonderful! The room was decent but there were cigarette burns on one of the comforters in a non-smoking room and a broken lamp which made it seem a bit shabby. I slept like a baby but my roomate was kept up by inconsiderate neighbors. All in all it was worth the money spent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Felicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had a connecting flight in Newark, NJ that was canceled and my days of sleeping in an airport awaiting the morning flight are far behind me. Called around to various hotels for availability + price and decided on the the Best Western Robert Treat Hotel. The complimentary shuttle ride was about 10 minutes and the driver was refreshing. Check in was quick. Room was above average. I made the right choice. Early morning wake-up & shuttle had me back to the airport in 10 minutes. I made the right choice & if I ever need to spend an overnight in Newark, I'd look here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPfromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, Nice service, good services, the rooms are a bit small but that is the only issue. I enjoyed the breakfast and the gym is a nice size. The area is very nice. The shuttle service went above and beyond.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenFranklin_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Address: 50 Park Pl, Newark, NJ 07102-4308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing