We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel, great service, great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Best western Robert Treat hotel New Jersey for one night prior to our flight from Newark intl airport.
This is a great hotel with a magnificent legacy. The concierge at the front desk was very nice and helpful, the room was clean and spacious, and the shuttle service to the hotel saved us a lot of money, as we used it also to get to the Jersey Garden's shopping outlet, and to the airport.
9 minutes walk to Jersey's Penn station, and 20 minutes more by train to the World Trade Center in Mannhatten NY.
Overall, a very nice hotel, A great value for its price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoni_Blitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    499
    239
    98
    72
See reviews for
273
362
144
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel itself was actually very nice, and the rooms were spacious and clean. I really liked the fact that we had a safe in the room that you could program your own code, which made me feel comfortable about leaving my ID and passport in the room.

The continental breakfast was better than I expected, and I was surprised to find they offered hard boiled eggs and oatmeal, which offered a little bit more substance then the bagels. However if be sure to get to the breakfast early, it can get pretty busy and there is never anywhere to sit, but the staff does an OK job with keeping everything stocked.

The staff were friendly, they didn't offer exceptional service or anything, but at least they were polite.

Parking at the hotel was included which was nice since we drove there, but parking at the hotel is a NIGHTMARE, there is not a lot of parking available and the spaces are really tight and hard to get into (we got lucky and could see our car from our window)

the best part of the hotel was the shuttle, we took the shuttle every morning to the train station to take the train into the city (its like 2$ a ride) but I know it goes to the the airport as well. During the day that have more than one shuttle and we never had to wait when we left in the morning, when we returned in the evening all we had to do was call the hotel and they would send the shuttle over, we never had to wait more than 15 minutes. Beware however that the streets outside of the train station are a mess and you usually have to run into the middle of the road to catch the shuttle, it never pulls up directly to the building.

The worst part about the hotel however was the area! Newark is a very sketch area, and while the train station is only about a 10 minute walk from the hotel I wouldn't suggest it, especially at night. There isn't much in the way of shops in the area and the people in the neighborhood are a little on the rough side. because of there area there were times that I would see some unpleasant looking people hanging around withing the lobby but security was usually always around.

I would probably stay at this hotel again due to the price and the proximity to the train station

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Non Smoking rooms smelled like smoke the entire time. Notified manager of this issue and was informed that he would send to security to check to see if any one was smoking on that perticular floor. Every day room smelled of smoke. Overall staff was good customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

service was nice. They changed my room from the 14th floor to the 7th because of an extremely loud air handler on the roof. Rooms where very old looking. Breakfast area was packed, not worth waiting for. Parking was horrible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

stayed one night over christmas,hotel was clean,staff freindly and helpful,shuttle service exellent(shuttle driver noticed us walking back to hotel and stopped to pick us up,what a nice bloke!)breakfast good and plenty of it.all round our short stay was great,thanks to all at robert treat hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marvin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Address: 50 Park Pl, Newark, NJ 07102-4308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing