We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, easy access location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Sacramento, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, easy access location”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel was gracious enough to allow us to check in at 8:00am because we arrived so early from our red eye flight. They also invited us to the continental breakfast while we waited for the room to be ready. All of this was a surprise because we had planned on just checking our bags and then heading into New York. We had used their shuttle from the airport, which was also very convenient. The transit center is about a 5-10 minute walk and great for getting into New York. The hotel room was modest, but covered all of our needs. The price was right and much better than if we had stayed in New York. The breakfast each morning was a little bit more than a basic continental and the attendants there are very friendly. Overall a very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meghaneire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    538
    261
    108
    79
See reviews for
309
388
155
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

we were a group of 5 girls.. that had paid for 2 separate hotel rooms..

the hotel shuttle showed up hidden behind other buses and when the 5 of us finally noticed it and we all ran towards it.. the driver closed the back and escorted the couple to the side of the van by the time we got there and stood aside waiting.. he did not acknowledge us so we had to open the back ourselves and placed our own luggage into the van.. the driver had already closed the side door.. so the customers inside were trying to open the door for us to let us in.. no apologies from the driver whatsoever.. all he could say was: oh i didn't see you.. so you didn't see five girls trying to work together flinging 6 huge luggage pieces plus carry ons into the back and hopping into the van as quickly as possible to keep from being left behind???

when asked for directions to the Prudential Center, the lady gave us the run around type walking directions.. the next day when given directions by another person regarding the train station, that was spot on.. after coming back to the room.. i am assuming since i had one night left they decided to only give me one clean towel even though i had my friend staying with me.. had to wait about an hour for room service to stop by and give us more towels, so the towels were delivered around midnight.. the bed, sheets and blue comforter were comforting enough to provide adequate sleep..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mimi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Mistakenly boarded the shuttle bus for this Best Western when I was booked into another close by. I queried the driver at the time if this was the only Best Western in town, he mumbled yes....I then further asked if this is the one close to the airport, he said yes and said the name (Robert Treat)

When we arrived at the hotel it was soon apparent that we were at the wrong Best Western, the driver then was very rude and condescending, saying that he had told me the name. I would think that with 2 Best Western hotels so close to the airport the drivers would be conscious of the fact tourists coming off long haul flights might make this mistake.

The receptionist and the driver then refused to take us to the right Best Western, but dumped us back at the airport, where we waited another 30 minutes for the other shuttle.

I guess this is the famous New Jersey hospitality....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDNinHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at the hotel about 10 am after a fairly exhausting cruise. We knew we were early and didn't expect our room to be ready since the hotel was FULL after Superstorm Sandy. The lady at the front desk was wonderful, and checked right away to see if they had a room available. She was very apologetic when they didn't but arranged to have our luggage put in a back room and gave us the key to the breakfast room so we could go sit and have some coffee etc while waiting for our room. We were able to use the business center to check in online for our flight the next day. Our room was ready within an hour and they delivered our bags to our room.

We ate in the restaurant that they have in the hotel (sat at the bar, which has a different menu) and it was very good as well.

In the morning we used their free shuttle to the Newark Airport. This would be my only complaint; the shuttle driver was very quiet (rude?), not even answering our questions or responding to anything we said to him. He did get us to the airport in a timely manner though and loaded and unloaded our bags, so i guess he did his job.

All in all, a great place and we will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, Ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay before and after a cruise from Port Liberty. We were hoping to find a hotel that offered a shuttle service to and from the airport as well as to and from the cruise terminal but we could not find one. The Robert Treat did have a shuttle to and from the airport(EWR).

We spent no time outside but there was a very nice view of a park from our window. The room was nice and the staff was friendly. The lady in charge of the buffet breakfast was great!

The cab to the cruise was about 60$ and the trip was very "interesting" in a white-knuckle sort of way. We took a van back and saved about $15 but were packed in with 11 other people and a ton of luggage.

IWe will use this hotel for future cruises out of Bayonne.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is Good overall, it's about 10 mins walking from Newark Penn Station...the hotel offers a shuffle to Newark Penn Station & Airport every 30 mins.
Newark area is dramatically unsafe ! local friends wouldn't dare to come to pick me up after 6 pm ! by 9 pm, you can easily find homeless ghetto people all over the streets ! Although i was lucky enough not to get into trouble, it's still weird & dangerous. The PATH train from Newark Penn Station is 25 mins from World Trade Center.
Back to the hotel, Rooms are clean & quite except those near the elevators, you would have some difficulties to overcome the noise & sleep. Wifi worked fine...for me at least. The breakfast ''Room'' is very small compared to the number of the guests. Staff are lovely except those working in the reception, rude & offensive !
Overall the hotel is okay, but you would spend much more dollars & stay in a Manhattan or whatever...I would do so if i planned to come again !

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the elevators ! If your coming from outside US, MAKE SURE to bring an AC adap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed_GoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice hotel - a convenient stopover not far from the airport - it is a $20 taxi ride, but the hotel will send a shuttle van to pick you up from parking area 4(?) where the airport shuttle drops you off. In the building there is a hotel hotline service. The buffet breakfast was quite extensive and available until noon, so you can have breakfast, look around downtown Newark and come back for a late morning snack, or early lunch for free before checking out. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belltownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
3.3 mi away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Address: 50 Park Pl, Newark, NJ 07102-4308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Robert Treat Hotel
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western
Robert Treat Newark
Robert Treat Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing