We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location before an early flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best location before an early flight”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

This Marriott is located at Newark airport and provides a shuttle service that gets you to your terminal in a few minutes. We stayed the night before an early overseas flight. The hotel is typical of a Marriott with clean, comfortable rooms. I had requested a room with no feather pillows due to allergies; I found this had been forgotten & called the front desk. Replacement pillows were quickly provided. The room service breakfast was good and arrived right on time. Compared to nearby chain hotels outside the airport, the Marriott is a bit more expensive but the convenience and quality was well worth it to us. Overall, a good choice for an airport stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upstateAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    741
    254
    72
    38
See reviews for
329
410
138
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
antwerpen
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Got a great deal on priceline so we were not disappointed overall but we only paid 55$ pr room.
This is a standard Mariott courtyard, large rooms, fresh and comfortable bedding, functional swimming pool, professional-looking lobby.
The lady at the front desk was phenomenal; she was all by herself, answering phones, checking people in, dispensing take-out menus and tooth paste etc... all with a smile without being impatient or unfriendly!
Two big negatives which make it impossible for me to recommend this hotel:
1: the restaurant is TERRIBLE; it is a horrible snack bar with junk food and extremely slow service; you will get your food much quicker if you order from the local take out restaurants (menus provided by front desk). We had a horribly inedible thai salad (under-seasoned yet too spicy to eat) and other unappetizing foods (quesadila with industrial chicken, "onion soup" with greasy layer of cheeze gop floating on top) served more than 40 minutes after ordering in the glaring hotel snack bar (oops I mean restaurant); another family was happily eating chinese stir fry veggies 20 minutes after ordering from local take away.
2: hotel is located adjacent to runways and between 2 major highways; highway noise drowns out airplane noise but all in all it is noisy no matter what.
Perhaps a courtyard view room would be quieter, IF and only if no loud guests in the courtyard area (this is the main problem with all courtyard style hotels).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliwill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Our family of 4 stayed here one night on a trip home from Ireland. It is a nice hotel, very close to the airport. Even though we were within spitting distance (almost) of the airport, we didn't hear any planes from our room. We slept very well in the comfy Marriott beds. The room was your basic hotel room, but it was clean and just right for what we were looking for. The shuttle to/from the airport was prompt and we used it both ways. We never waited more than 5 minutes either time for it. One thing to note: the parking at the hotel is exhorbitant. We had a friend come visit us at the hotel and it cost her an arm and a leg to park there. I suppose that keeps people from parking there and catching a plane, but it was still high.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I have never had friendlier service anywhere in the world. Unbelievable.

The person taking care of the plants in the pool was friendly, the cook came out of the kitchen to chat, the waitress anticipated our needs, the bellmen were really pleased to help with everything, the shuttle driver was great.

Wow.

I don't care what kind of drugs they are all on, I want some.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BedPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas city
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I have traveled the world, but have never experienced the level of customer sevice I received at this hotel.
Every staff member, no matter what time of day it was gave me a smile . And I noticed they gave a smile to every other guest too! Whenever I needed ANYTHING toothbrush soap etc., I barely had a chance to hang up the phone from making the request and a staff member was at my room door with the requested item and one again a big smile. And the food choices were fantastic. I had the best steak and lobster tail dinner in the steak house within the hotel. The chicken wings in the sports bar are to die for as well.
I must mention the Manager Steve and hotel doorman Phil, for informing me on the best ways to get to New York and the best places to eat. And just thanks those two for just listening. never knew I could get a 5 star meal i right there in the hotel. Newarks Airport Marriot is the best. Anyone visiting New York should consider staying here. I LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsywatsy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Recently travelled with the family to New York on a four day trip. Our travel adviser recommended this hotel a few minutes out of Manhattan. We were all really impressed. Very clean, service and staff were just perfect. Although just in front of the Newark Airport, you don't hear a sound when inside.
Only negative (recommendation) would be to have someone at the pool when it becomes busy to ensure supervision, lots of teens running, yelling, with little consideration for anyone else. Certainly something the parents should be doing, but unfortunately, the staff needs to police for everyone else to have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymondduclos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

If you need to stay overnight at EWR, this hotel should be your first choice. It has everything you need in a airport hotel: frequent shuttle pick ups, convenient location, friendly staff that gets you to your room quickly, a decent restaurant, and very quiet rooms (I never hear planes). I fly in the night before a meeting, stay overnight and head into the city the next day. The shuttle will drop you off at one of the AirTrain stops and you can either rent a car or ride the train into NYC. The rates are much much better than anything you can find in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.7 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#3 of 14 in Elizabeth
1,675 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Property: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114-3513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing