We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for one night after a vacation in Paris and before returning to our hometown the following day. The hotel lobby was spacious and the front desk staff were friendly and personable. We arrived on a Saturday therefore we weren't able to take advantage of the Concierge Lounge but were offered coupons for breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The hotel room was of adequate size however the bathroom was small. The hotel hallways and rooms appeared a bit dated. I was surprised that there wasn't a safe in the room. Apparently at one time there was a mini bar but only the cabinet remained. Water pressure in the bathroom was good and there was plenty of hot water. A free hotel shuttle bus was available 24 hours to and from the Newark Airport and we took advantage of this service. Once at the airport we took the Newark Express bus into Manhattan for a cost of $16 per person, $8 dollars for seniors. The hotel shuttle drivers were very friendly and helpful and the bus shuttle ride to the airport is about 5 minutes. Our plane didn't leave until 8:30 t night the following day so the hotel stored our luggage until time to go to the airport. A nice and convenient place to stay on airport property if you need easy access to Newark Airport. Good price as well - $135 for a government rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costumerppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    702
    241
    70
    32
See reviews for
305
387
131
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

forced to find a hotel due to air flight layover in Newark, late at night took closest option-- the Marriott, price for room was $299, total bill including taxes was $400. What a rip off.. only good thing was the shuttle to the airport.

Staff wasn't so much rude, although there was the case of the inroom dining order taker, as just tired and indifferent. I almos felt as sorry for them, as I did for me having to pay so dearly just to bed down while waiting for planes to figure out flight schedules.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvtotravel1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do pride ourselves on our convenient location to Newark Airport for our guest’s arrival and departing flights. Your feedback is very important to us and we will be sure to share this with our Team. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had to stay overnight at Newark Airport due to flight cancellations. I made a reservation through the Marriott Elite number. When I got here, the front desk person told me that they could offer me the same room for a lower price. How's that for honest? I love it.

When I arrived, we were in the middle of torrential downpours due to Hurricane Arthur, and the power in the building was running on generators apparently. All the systems were down, the elevators were not working, and it was crowded and hot in the lobby. The staff here jumped right in and took care of each and every guest like they were guests in their own home. They offered free sodas and snacks to people in the lobby while they were waiting for the systems to come back up. There was some water in the lobby from the horrible storm, and the management team, guys in suits, were out mopping to make sure the guests were safe. Everyone chipped in, and it turned a potentially terrible situation into a pleasant one. Tempers didn't flare, and people were generally satisfied to wait until systems were up. KUDOS TO THE STAFF AND MANAGEMENT for keeping a bad situation under control and relatively peaceful and pleasant!!!!

My room was comfortable and very clean. The concierge lounge on the 10th floor is excellent. I am Platinum with Marriott and have been to many of these lounges around the country. This is one of the best, even in the midst of really bad conditions.

I will definitely stay here again if I need a place for the night near EWR airport.

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the EWR runway, you can watch planes take off and land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jafo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My mom and I had a 16 hour lay over from an international flight to Newark. We needed a place to get some rest and I had nfcef stayed at a Marriott before. This place was like an oasis. The staff was genuinely friendly, the room prices weren't too outrageous, and the rooms were spacious, comfortable, and CLEAN. Wherever I travel, I'm going to keep my eye out for a Marriott because I was thoroughly impressed with this place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmonicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights with my family at this hotel and more than enjoyed every bit of our time there.

The airport is just across the hotel and is walking distance if you don't have much to carry. The free shuttle service also runs almost 24 hrs. Had a little issue about using my points for a night but the friendly staff sorted it out so efficiently.

Would use this hotel again any day anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Martens-Latem
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed at the Newark Mariott Airport Hotel and have to qualify this place as OK but was a bit disappointed not to enjoy the Mariott experience I am used to in more sunny places. Moreover the room was small and so was the bed. I wouldn't recommend it to couples who move around in their sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Manager at Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review your recent stay. Your feedback is very important and I will share this with our team. We look forward to hosting you brilliantly in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Went with my son to an interview at this hotel. Spent most of the day in the lobby reading and watching people. This place is a mixing pot of the world. Constanly coming and going. The rooms are quite nice and very clean. The cafe in the lobby serves breakfast and lunch for sure, and I would assume dinner. Prices are very high at least from my perspective. Omlett with home fries and toast was $17, grilled cheese with small cup of tomato soup was $15. Juice was $5 a glass. Coffee was $3.50 at the coffee bar. We stayed the night and parking was an additional charge. I guess when you are so close to NY City you pay the price. It's a nice place but EXPENSIVE.........Life is short enjoy everyday......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nute26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
3.1 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Property: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114-3513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing