We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for a layover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chichester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very convenient for a layover”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is very convenient to the terminals, and we walked there quicker than the transit bus would have taken us, despite ankle high snow. The beds were extremely comfortable for our four hour sleep, the bathroom had good toiletries and all the amenities we needed. Real coffee was provided, but only enough for one cup each. We did not have the time to use other facilities as we had to leave very early. I would give it a five star rating were it not for the very noisy heating/air con unit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chifevva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    726
    248
    73
    35
See reviews for
320
405
135
597
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Only stayed here for 1 night due to a lay over from Edinburgh to Las Vegas.

Hotel is big bright and airy. Check in was fast and friendly. Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that and only had 1 drink. Staff where very friendly and helped us when asked about going into the city. Told us how to get there and prices for trains and taxi's. We used the hotel shuttle to and from the airport and to the train staion.

Room was large and very clean. Was worried about the noise as its very close to the airport, however we never heard a thing. Slept very well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissP_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Marriott was very short as we had only booked due to an overnight flight layover. The location was convenient as we had an early morning flight and it also was convenient to access the AirTran to connect to NJ transit into Manhattan for the evening. It would be nice if free wifi was offered in the rooms however it is free in the lobby. I would stay here again under he same circumstances.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Azeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel often on business, and I have returned after about a six month absence. The renovations have been completed, and sadly my impression of the changes is that the Marriott has completely missed the mark. I had an extensive conversation with the GM of the hotel re the poor renovation execution, and he mentioned the hotel chain is targeting GEN XY. I took his comment to mean that things of value to older customers will not be a part of Marriott philosophy in the future, and I was disturbed enough by his comments to run the gist by my son and his wife who are definately of the GEN X persuasion. My son and daughter in law are 35 and 27 respectively and their feeling was that Marriott is all wet. For instance, there was NO place in the dining room to evade a giant screen TV or commotion, and the menu did not at all cater to persons with food allergies. There was no longer a safe in each room. Both my young persons said that a hotel that did not provide a quiet meal space was not something that they cared to patronize. What they wanted hotel wide was free internet, a safe in the room, and club facilities being open with extended hour and on weekends. I feel my youngsters are on the mark with their comments, and if Marriott wants to dumb down their facilities to this extent, they are NOT playing to the up-and-coming business traveler, but to persons looking for cheap. Marriott, if such is your intent, build a Motel 6. Do not wreck what had been a fine property with changes that are inimical to upscale customers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

An unexpected stopover coming home from Costa Rica. We were snowed in at Newark. The hotel was very welcoming. The room spacious and warm. Two very comfortable beds, lovely soft pillows and tea/coffee facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue_dunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Great location close to airport
Shuttle was readily available morning and night.
Front desk prompt and friendly
Room was nice but the bathroom is for one person.
Impossible to put two bodies there , toiletries for Marriott were men oriented in smell
My pet peeve no magnifying mirror
There is now a lot of business women!
Concierge lounge was nice too
As a pass thru hotel , it is a. great choice

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odilelosaltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
487 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We went to NJ for the weekend from west coast just to see the Rolling Stones. We wanted something close to the airport and it doesn't get any closer. From the hotel we took a short cab ride to the show and then left the next morning. This was a great experience all around. The hotel and staff were all very Marriott which is why I stay with Marriott whenever I can. It was clean, quiet, spacious, friendly, reasonably priced. We would definitely stay here again if in that area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Property: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114-3513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing