We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cary, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time here. It is very close to the terminal but you still need to allot time for the bus ride as it was not a 2 minute ride. The hotel was nice, the bar had the Yankees game on which was not showing in the room. They had a good menu and some good micros. People were nice. Very solid stay, and might I add, not that much airplane noise for being so close. The noise I did have was a rude man doing a conference call at 11 pm, yelling into his speakerphone which was close to my head. The Marriott can not do anything about a rude idiot calling overseas at 11 pm.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Djrrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    668
    230
    66
    29
See reviews for
285
361
126
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

First time staying at this location, glad I did. Hotel was very clean, nice modern accents. Room were very comfortable also. Airport noise was very minimal. When I arrive, the staff was very friendly. Also they were cooking scallops in the lobby - yeah, I was sold at that point. Ate on property for Dinner - had a turkey tenderloin on a veggie salad, yum! Gym was really nice as well. Lots of equipment and room for weights. Lots of business & family travelers, but plenty of room at restaurants, business center, etc. Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrell_cat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Visited this hotel for a one-night stay that also included several on-property business meetings. When I first entered lobby, staff was greeting me as I walked in. Check in was efficient. I got to my room and discovered someone else was already in that room. When I came back to front desk to tell them of this issue, they went out of their way to make sure I was taken care of. I was upgraded to a nicer room, and also received a complimentary dinner. The only negative of this stay was the server in the restaurant during breakfast. I was having a breakfast business meeting and after ordering coffee, we wanted to chat a bit before we ordered breakfast. When we asked for some additional time before ordering the server commented back, "I'll have to charge you to sit here. You can't just sit here and not order." We assured her that we very much intended to order breakfast, but wanted to talk a bit before ordering. I felt this was rude and out of line, especially when the restaurant was 75% empty at the time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you're thinking of staying here it's because you're using Newark. And this is the closest of all the hotels to the terminal. There's nothing special about it - it's an airport hotel after all - but it knows what it is and delivers the goods. It's tired, needs renovating but they all do around here. It's not cheap (about $30 more than some of the others nearby) but it's closer to the airport and it works. No surprises, nothing special, just an efficient Marriott.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zebanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Since my last visit a few years ago, this Marriott is undergoing a much needed renovation (at least the lobby has been renovated, nor sure whether they are updating the rooms, which are a bit dated). The quality and the service are exactly what I've come to expect from Marriott. Only surprise was how close the hotel is to the airport, but there is no safe way to walk to the terminal from the hotel. The hotel shuttle does not run on a set schedule but every 15 - 20 minutes. This means you have to arrive in the hotel lobby at least 20 minutes before you are ready to leave for the airport to ensure you catch the shuttle, and expect the morning shuttle to be VERY crowded. I had to stand the entire way. Seems silly when I could walk to the terminal faster, but I am not willing to risk life or limb to do so. I would suggest Marriott run more shuttles during morning rush hour, since that is the primary reason (I would think) travelers use this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the airport or NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GardeningFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
742 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a rather belated review, but we found the hotel extremely convenient when transitting through EWR en route from London (on a frequent flyer points flight) to Quebec City. After a world-beating 15 minutes from doors opening to walking out of the terminal, we were misled by Ground Transportation, who told us that we had to go to P4 to get the shuttle to the hotel. In fact the Marriott is the only hotel whose shuttle can go to each terminal, but we lost little time because of this. We had an excellent room, which was very quiet. The view across the runway to Manhattan kept me engrossed over breakfast. I recommend this hotel for its convenient access to the airport, but it is an extremely good hotel anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was in Newark for an overnight business trip and needed a convenient place to stay. Overall the hotel was pretty nice. The lobby was pretty. The rooms are a bit tired. I was on the 5th floor - maybe other floors are better?? The rate was expensive - $221 +tax + parking cost me about $290. For that price I would've liked a bit better.
Here is the run down:
I arrived around 7:00pm and was greeted very warmly at the front door. The person who checked me in - I think her name was Waafa, was so sweet. I also got the customary welcome gift of 2 water bottles and some pretzels and granola bar. Nice touch since I HATE to buy a $5 bottle of water at hotels! The elevators require a room key to use them. Kind of annoying but good for security I guess.

I got to my room and it was a bit musty. Seemed as though it hadn't been used in a bit. In general the room and the bathroom were very clean. Except when I pulled back the covers on the bed. I almost had a heart attack. Under the white bottom sheet you could see tiny black things everywhere. I immediately thought they were some kind of bugs. I tentatively pulled back the sheet to reveal brown down feathers! Phew, they weren't bugs, but I was still a bit freaked out and felt kind of creepy crawly when I got into bed. On top of that, the mattress was lumpy. It seemed that everyone who ever stayed in the room slept on the same side of the bed. At least the pillows were great.

The bathroom had pretty good lighting for putting on my makeup etc. The shower was nice and hot and good pressure.

There were lots of plugs on the base of the lamps, etc so it was easy to charge my devices. BUT WIFI was a charge.... this is 2013 - are you kidding me Marriot?? C'mon. So I used my phone to check email instead.

The next morning I used the gym. It was very nice. Had plenty of treadmills and elipticals. I think there were even changing rooms in there. They have an indoor/outdoor pool that looked nice too.

Checkout was easy - they slipped my receipt under the door and I checked out on the tv.

Had dinner at the restaurant that night and it was fine. Nothing amazing but good enough after a long day. Turkey burger with sweet potato fries was $15 and I splurged on a glass of Cab for another $15. Not too bad.

I would stay here again if I could guarantee a better bed and none of this down feather business! I don't like to even imagine bugs in my hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
3.1 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Property: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing