We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic access to Newark Airport!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here with husband and two kids overnight whilst waiting for a connecting flight south. The staff on reception so helpful and friendly especially with advice about how to get into city. Clarice from Ronkonkoma on reception was especially nice and the cleaning staff in the hallways were so polite and courteous. I would recommend for anyone who had to access the airport and has kids and doesn't want hassle!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaMcW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

I booked this hotel for a Saturday evening before a cruise out of the Bayonne port. There weren't a lot of options for an upscale hotel so we booked this Marriott at the airport. It turned out to be a very nice stay and the hotel staff could not have been more friendly, courtesy and professional. Our room was very clean and quiet. We were very pleased with this property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Marriott at Newark Liberty Airport is very good for business travel and right on the doorstep of one of the worst airports on the planet. After losing 2 hours of my life in passport control, I walked over to the hotel and a warm welcome. The reception staff were fantastic and I was in my room in no time. I had a standard room which was very comfortable and excellent value - I woke the next morning refreshed and ready for my early morning flight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garethgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Marriott at Newark is in need of some serious work.
The décor, ambiance and overall standard is more than a little 'tired'
They are performing building and maintenance work at the moment but not on the wholesale level the hotel needs, more of a make do and mend.
The fixtures and fittings in the room, whilst clean, were looking pretty dated.
Other niggles:
Having to pay for Wi-Fi in the room
Constant music being played in the bar/restaurant which clashes with the other music being playing in the lobby area. It would be nice to have a calm and quiet area of the hotel to meet or work in but it just isn't there today.
Finally the staff think nothing of arguing in front of guests. Not the sort of behaviour this hotel should endorse.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank too_low_terrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Typical Marriott Hotel quality and amenities. This hotel was particularly clean and quiet given it's location on the airport grounds. By far the closest hotel to the terminals. Did not hear one single jet the entire stay. The rooms are well appointed and maintained. The air conditioning was excellent on a hot day Extremely comfortable bed. Great place for a business or leisure traveler in transit. Evening bar crowd just a bunch of tired travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cirenrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel is a short walk through parking lot or their is a courtesy bus. Rooms are clean and comfortable and a good nights sleep was has even getting up at 3am.
There is a restaurant in the hotel but i found it easier just to go back into terminal which also meant you could use free wifi while you ate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed three nights, and everything was excellent. The rooms were comfortable, well appointed, and housekeeping was terrific.

I thought the bed was quite comfy, the room was quiet, and the heat/ac was intuitive to operate.

There appeared to be some construction in the lobby related to a new reception area. However, reception was at a pair of tall desks with an employee near the door directing checkin. I don't know if this was normal or not, but I liked it a lot. There was no standing in line and the staff was exceptionally trained.

A couple of comments:
WiFi is not free--a hot button for me (I consider it similar to charging for A/C) However, somehow I qualified for no charge on this visit.

Parking is $25/day and there aren't really any good alternatives.

A room key is needed to operate the elevator. Annoying at first, but you get used to it.

The hotel is surrounded by the airport. Thus, it is easy to check in upon airport arrival, and easy to depart.

The restaurant isn't very large, but the food was very good.

In summary, it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: I didn't notice any particular reason to choose a specific room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tecolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#2 of 13 in Elizabeth
1,777 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
Price Range: $133 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. Our airport hotel in Newark, New Jersey offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing