We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice choice if you've got a layover in Newark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gardiner, Maine
Level Contributor
221 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice choice if you've got a layover in Newark”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What started as a planned layover in Boston ended up being a couple of nights in Newark due to the storm. This was a last-minute choice and it turned out to be a good one. The service is excellent from check in to check out - housekeeping, room service and the restaurant (Chatfield's). It would have been good to have a 2nd restaurant option as it was usually a bit crowded (and a change of pace would have been nice). Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgain8180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    722
    244
    71
    34
See reviews for
315
401
133
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I always try and stay here before catching the early flight back to the UK next morning.Rooms are quite small but in good condition with comfortable beds. The bar is excellent, a great place to chill out for an evening the steak is as good as anywhere in the USA. Last time we stayed I made a mistake and missed the concierge lounge breakfast. Despite it being my fault the staff arranged for us to eat breakfast downstairs for free. Its everything you could want from an airport hotel and often available at good prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Flew in the night before a business meeting and figured the Marriott at Newark airport would deliver the standard Marriott experience. And while the property was basically OK, there were so many little things wrong, it affected my opinion of the property pretty strongly.

First of all, the air conditioning in the room didn't really function. Oh, it blew air and made noise, but the temperature in the room remained steady at "sweltering". The internet access was non-existent, in that, it was there, but I couldn't connect to any thing. The foam pillows I asked them to bring were extremely flat and covered with thick plastic sleeves, like they had been repurposed from some creepy hospital. The curtains were broken, letting in light that seemed to stab me in the eye every time I rolled over. (I fixed it with a chair pillow.) In the morning, I discovered two shampoos, but no conditioner.

Does this make me sound like one of those super-picky reviewers for whom everything must be perfect? Probably. I'm not normally that way. I guess I just expected the standard superlative Marriott experience and was disappointed to find all these gotchas. Other reviewers seems to like it, so maybe I hit the place on a bad night. Who knows. But next time I'm in Newark, I'll probably take the shuttle down to the Renaissance around the corner instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Convenience hotel located at the airport. Quiet, nice amenities, rooms where clean, and in good condition. Very Clean all around. Excellent service from the moment i walked in to my departure. Very friendly personal all around. Price was reasonable for the area. I will recommended this hotel in have to stay close to Newark Airport

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here few times. Last time with husband for few days in February. Very nice hotel, very clean, helpfull stuff. Comfy beds. Close to airport but very quiet. Close to NYC but reasonable price.

I would stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chika121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a top-end hotel should be - efficient, quiet, comfortable, clean. Nice veterans' discount. The in-house restaurant is excellent as well. Parking is a bit dear. Frequent shuttle to the airport. Would be happy to go there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrexN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The only reason I didn't give this a five-star stay is that I was only here for a couple of hours and didn't really get to fully experience it. We got here ridiculously late on a Friday night / Saturday morning before an EARLY flight for Christmas week, and the proximity to the airport was the reason we didn't just drive from home. I checked in half-delirious from fatigue and the counter staff, usually not razor-sharp at places at that hour, were alert, friendly, and more than willing to lend extra brain power to make sure I got settled in. We got on the shuttle, jetted out for a week, and then came back to discover that I didn't put in the for the proper parking program. Instead of jacking me for the extra $100+ on parking, the woman patiently explained the program that works for the trip that I took, and then gave me not only that rate, but an extra discount on top of it as a 'happy new year' gift. It's a gesture like that that will retain my loyalty for life!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yankeepride20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
3.1 mi away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Property: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114-3513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing